Frys - Hitachi 2TB 7K2 32MB = $125.00

The one I went to in Sunnyvale had four. One was a return, I bought 2, there was one left around the 1TB drives. Also snagged a Phenom II 955 BE combo. Not sure what I'm going to do with that though :)

If you hit frys for these drives be careful of returned boxes and opened boxes. In the batch of eight I found three boxes with the seal broke but the plastic straps were still attached. I hope this isn't a reshipment of returned or referbs.

Can anyone double check that these are the Areca raid friendly drives? Please!

I've been using them for a few months now. I know odditory and a few others with 20+ drive servers are using them with Areca controllers.

Whats up with frys and this limit 2 per household junk? If I could buy 20 then I might get in on this deal.

Was just at fry's today picking up the i3 530/GA-H55M-S2H combo and was going to pick up 2 of these but decided to hold off...

What's the power consumption on these drives vs. the WD20EADS ?

Nevermind, found my answer; This drive according to Hitachi idle's at 5.6W and the WD20EADS idles at 3.7 watts

Last edited:
This is the best deal I have ever seen on a 2TB, wish I actually needed the space... I keep buying HDD but can't keep up with filling them up!!! Im up to 10GB total but only using 2.7GB :S I paid 230 for 1tb drives not too long ago :(

This is the best deal I have ever seen on a 2TB, wish I actually needed the space... I keep buying HDD but can't keep up with filling them up!!! Im up to 10GB total but only using 2.7GB :S I paid 230 for 1tb drives not too long ago :(

Wow, only 10GB and using only 2.7GB? My cell phone has more storage than that :) I'm sure you meant TB. Actually, mwave had the WD20EARS and EADS at $119 not too long ago w/ free shipping and no tax (for some).

This post should have been placed in hotdeals but as Cyberbeing said, I lack the posts. Sorry if it seems out of place.