ES CPUs?

cyclone3d

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Aug 16, 2004
Messages
13,794
I have a couple Dell Poweredge R710s running 2x ES hex core x5675 each. They work fine.
 

The Cobra

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 19, 2003
Messages
2,747
Depends on the chip really. I have purchased a few off of Ebay some years back and never had an issue.
 

aznattic

n00b
Joined
Sep 23, 2010
Messages
17
Had one in a previous socket 2011 build (cant recall what it was, but it was 10 cores). Besides virtual machines not working and sleep wasn't working either, the chip worked flawlessly and was 100% stable.
 

Xinmosni

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 12, 2012
Messages
1,974
Had one in a previous socket 2011 build (cant recall what it was, but it was 10 cores). Besides virtual machines not working and sleep wasn't working either, the chip worked flawlessly and was 100% stable.

VMs not working is a huge deal to many out there purchasing ES chips to get server functionality at a low price. Hope that's not a common issue with Engineering Samples, since I was thinking of getting a couple for a friend :-/
 

Nenu

[H]ardened
Joined
Apr 28, 2007
Messages
19,528
You cant guarantee you own an ES CPU as samples were prohibited from being sold and Intel have not sold them.
There is less point getting one unless its pretty cheap because there are no benefits, but there may be downsides that the previous owner didnt encounter or hasnt mentioned.
 

Nathan_P

[H]ard DCOTM x3
Joined
Mar 2, 2010
Messages
3,439
Lots of ES chips have various issues - a quick google search will list any problems. VM issues are very common on E5 v1 cpu's.

Having said that I use some for folding 24/7 and they run OK, no difference to a retail chip apart from the price. This thread and the list in post 1 will give you core counts etc for E5 v1/v2 and v3 ES chips - nothing about VM's though

http://hardforum.com/showthread.php?t=1755445
 

ToddW2

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 8, 2004
Messages
4,018
There could be nothing wrong or a lot.

It's dependent upon that exact chip and your motherboard, and your bios.

NO ONE can tell you how "your" ES chip is compared to theirs.

And,. FWIW I've run VMs on V1, V2, V3 ES fine, but some chips also don't work at all and are bricks, others are different clocks (drastically), others miss HT, others miss Turbo, etc...
 

kniaugaudiskis

Limp Gawd
Joined
Aug 13, 2008
Messages
268
I'd say it depends on whether it's early or late engineering sample. The further ago to the official launch date an ES CPU came out, the more likely it might not work right. If you look at the CPU review sites, they are usually provided with late ES CPUs.
 
Last edited:
Top