Edge Router X Replacement

oMek

Gawd
Joined
Jan 3, 2007
Messages
630
I am a noob when it comes to networking. I have been running a ERX with a nanoHD AP. This has served me well with Comcast 1g/35mb.

Due to the 1TB data cap I decided to order 1g/1g fiber with no cap. I really do not want to use the provided router and I "think" the ERX will choke on the 1g/1g speeds?

Would prefer to keep the nanoHD as it covers my apartment well.

I need atleast 5+ rj45 ports, would prefer internal switched but would not be against adding a switch. 48v PoE would be nice but not required.

The biggest thing im looking for is form factor. They will either be on my desk or mounted to the wall behind it.
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2011
Messages
818
If the ER-X is presently doing fine currently at 1 Gb download, I don't see why it wouldn't be fine with the new service. Do you believe you'll be adding enough actual upload traffic to possibly choke it?

I'd adopt a wait-and-see approach, and if the ER-X proves it can't keep up, then consider a new router. If you wanted to stick with the EdgeRouter family it looks like the only unit that would work for you is the ER-12, unless you were willing to forgo the built-in switch.
 

oMek

Gawd
Joined
Jan 3, 2007
Messages
630
The upload speed will be used but not fully atm, kinda just figured if i'm paying for it I should be able to access it all.

I think your right though with the wait and see approach.
 

daglesj

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 7, 2005
Messages
5,235
Maybe put a bigger power supply to it if you havent already? Probably got a couple of bigger ones laying around.
 

Vengance_01

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 23, 2001
Messages
6,143
I would wait and see. If your hell bent on just build your own with pfsense. If you want to get into the unifi eco system dream pro would be a good start if you need switch and want to add cameras
 

daglesj

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 7, 2005
Messages
5,235
How would increasing the power supply help with the ability to handle more traffic?

Not sure but the manual advises getting a larger one straight away (why then they don't supply a larger one anyway) and if the data/traffic goes up then the CPU usage goes up, the power draw goes up... If you are hitting the buffers on the router then maybe a better PSU might help.

For the sake of a 10 minute hunt in the tech junk drawer...

I swapped out the 500mA one for a 1000mA unit iirc I had a 1500mA one but I'm not pushing mine much.
 
Joined
Dec 1, 2011
Messages
818
Not sure but the manual advises getting a larger one straight away (why then they don't supply a larger one anyway) and if the data/traffic goes up then the CPU usage goes up, the power draw goes up... If you are hitting the buffers on the router then maybe a better PSU might help.

For the sake of a 10 minute hunt in the tech junk drawer...

I swapped out the 500mA one for a 1000mA unit iirc I had a 1500mA one but I'm not pushing mine much.

From the manual:
Passive PoE output on port eth4/PoE Out works as a passthrough and depends on the input power source.

If the included Power Adapter (12V, 0.5A) is used, there may not be sufficient passthrough to power another device because the EdgeRouter can consume up to 5 watts on its own.
So it's only relevant if running some kind of PoE device off of the ER-X.

The stock PSU is rated for 6W (12V * 0.5A). The ER-X will pull max 5W. Replacing the PSU with a larger unit will do nothing for the OP.

(Though it is kinda lame how they skimped on the PSU.)
 
Top