ebay IBM 6X86MX C4 SAMPLE PROCESSOR

dook43

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 9, 2005
Messages
2,976
Crazy how much these things are worth from a collectors perspective; I couldn't wait to throw out all my K6 and Cyrix processors once the Athlon and Tualatins came out
 

auntjemima

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 1, 2014
Messages
7,029
Crazy how much these things are worth from a collectors perspective; I couldn't wait to throw out all my K6 and Cyrix processors once the Athlon and Tualatins came out

In fairness, this is a sample chip. I can't imagine a regular production IBM 6x86 would be worth nearly that much.
Bingo. I have one of these, non sample, paid $10.
 

erek

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Dec 19, 2005
Messages
7,680
Yeah. Supports both EDO and DIMM memory as well. Only issue? No serial port! I run a card for it.

CPU Galaxy (YouTuber) suggests it's rare

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC2H-q9ZkIEwdNazdCZJTdsg

1610076071142.png
 

auntjemima

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 1, 2014
Messages
7,029
I have a third SS7 board somewhere. A Tyan, but who knows where it could be. Was in a tower, but I can't find the tower. Weird!

The first picture here says "Tomato Board" on the bottom, whatever that means lol


PXL_20210110_042159738.jpg


PXL_20210110_042315416.jpg
 

Starfalcon

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 7, 2020
Messages
460
I also have one of those socket 7 tomato boards also, never could find much info about the board
 

cpufrost

n00b
Joined
Sep 28, 2020
Messages
17
Amazing how looking back at a 25 year old system...when these were bleeding edge looking at my S100 bus system looked, well, like the socket7 system!
All those ribbon cables.
Now with nvme and no optical drives systems look bare.
At least that board has IDE controllers built in.
I remember too when sound cards had CD rom interfaces on them, pre IDE era. We had Plextor SCSI CD roms that took caddies. 🙃
I did own a Cyrix system, PR 166+. Pentium 166s and especially 200s were just too GD expensive in 1996. So I figured I'd give the Cyrix a whirl. It was a decent upgrade over my AMD 486 DX4 120. Until I ran Quake on it! ;-) I did splurge on the mainboard though. Everyone was pushing Triton VX, I got the HX would could support 512MB RAM AND cache it! I had "only" 64MB and didn't go higher until I got a Pentium Pro 200 which was a whole another ordeal.
 

auntjemima

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 1, 2014
Messages
7,029
I have a third SS7 board somewhere. A Tyan, but who knows where it could be. Was in a tower, but I can't find the tower. Weird!

The first picture here says "Tomato Board" on the bottom, whatever that means lol


View attachment 317626

View attachment 317625
Turns out my Asus board in that case has an L2 expansion slot. Never seen one before. I was kinda wondering why a brown slot was over there, as I knew it couldn't be an AGP spot.
 

Starfalcon

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 7, 2020
Messages
460
I just found out they are made by Zida, and I also found the manual online for it.

Awesome, Ill have to check that info out. The one I have had a cpu but was missing all the jumpers on the board, and I never fired it up due to not wanting to mess up the cpu or the board. At least I will be able to get the jumpers set correctly, and maybe get it firred up after it sat for the almost 20 years Ive had it.
 

auntjemima

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 1, 2014
Messages
7,029
Awesome, Ill have to check that info out. The one I have had a cpu but was missing all the jumpers on the board, and I never fired it up due to not wanting to mess up the cpu or the board. At least I will be able to get the jumpers set correctly, and maybe get it firred up after it sat for the almost 20 years Ive had it.
If I get around to using my computer later, I will post the link here that I used.
 

auntjemima

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 1, 2014
Messages
7,029
Awesome, Ill have to check that info out. The one I have had a cpu but was missing all the jumpers on the board, and I never fired it up due to not wanting to mess up the cpu or the board. At least I will be able to get the jumpers set correctly, and maybe get it firred up after it sat for the almost 20 years Ive had it.
Found it.

https://www.zida-bios.com/zida-bioses-for-socket7.html

The link that says "Download PDF" is actually for the motherboard manual. My 5DHX was there, but not all are.
 

Starfalcon

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 7, 2020
Messages
460
Found it.

https://www.zida-bios.com/zida-bioses-for-socket7.html

The link that says "Download PDF" is actually for the motherboard manual. My 5DHX was there, but not all are.

Damn, I am so happy now, I finally know what this board is now :) I have the T530B-S...damn looking through the manual, it looks like this board also supports K6-3 and up to 1.5g of memory too. Looks like this is going to be an awesome board. I really owe you one for finding this for me.
 

auntjemima

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 1, 2014
Messages
7,029
Damn, I am so happy now, I finally know what this board is now :) I have the T530B-S...damn looking through the manual, it looks like this board also supports K6-3 and up to 1.5g of memory too. Looks like this is going to be an awesome board. I really owe you one for finding this for me.
Damn! My board is the first on their list and only supports pentium/and/cyrix up to 166mhz!

Good find on your board and glad to help!
 
Top