Does larger vram allow for less system ram in gaming?

biggles

2[H]4U
When comparing, for example, a gtx 1070 8 gb vs a gtx 780 3 gb, does the increased vram help to cover any inadequacies in system ram?

I read in the Steam forums that Rise of the Tomb Raider performs better with more than 8 gb of system ram. Especially on Geothermal Valley where the game notoriously performs worse vs early parts of the game.

Also, most articles on the subject of ram say 8 gb of system is still enough for normal users. But there are a few exceptions, perhaps this is one of them.

I guess in a way yes... But not necessarily. You will be able to push out more res with more GPU ram however a lack of system ram will more so hurt your frames for sure.

I'm no expert on the internal architecture, but I believe windows does a good deal of shadowing between vram and system ram. So more vram may mean more system ram needed.

The video card driver will allocate some system RAM for storage of textures in cases where the video card does not have enough memory onboard to store all of the data.
This is why on some games a video card with more RAM, such as a GTX 1060 6GB, runs better than the same game running on the same system but with a GTX 1060 3GB. The texture swapping between system RAM and video card RAM slows things down which reduces frame rates and can introduce stuttering or not-as-smooth fps on the card with less RAM.
Since the video card driver is reserving some system RAM for this texture data storage, it reduces total system memory available for the game and the rest of the software running (OS, etc.). If this impact is large enough, it could result in increased swap/page file usage and in extreme cases even "out of memory" errors or crashes, but I don't think this happens much in reality. Drop the graphics down a notch and the VRAM usage will decrease enough to make any issues disappear.