Do you use all the motherboard standoffs in your build?

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by dvsman, Jan 23, 2019.

Do you install all the motherboard standoffs in your builds?

  1. I just use the 4 in each of the corners

  2. I use the 4 corners and a few extra where I think it's needed

  3. I use every damn one for MAXIMUM motherboard rigidity!

Results are only viewable after voting.
  1. Fix Me

    Fix Me Gawd

    Messages:
    637
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2007
    I didn't use the standoffs the first time I was installing a motherboard when I didn't know any better. That did not end well and I learned my lesson.
     
    Spartacus likes this.
  2. Kajun614

    Kajun614 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    127
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
  3. viivo

    viivo [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,041
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Yes, and I make sure to cross-thread the screws through the motherboard so the standoffs turn when you try to loosen the screws. Tinkering with your computer is more fun when it's difficult.
     
  4. Meeho

    Meeho [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,258
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    The what?
     
  5. PhaseNoise

    PhaseNoise [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,451
    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    You want to lift and separate your RAM, it needs support.
     
  6. Rvenger

    Rvenger [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,605
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012
    I sand the holes to make sure the screw gets a good contact. Then I run a wire from one of the stand offs to the 12v rail of the PSU.
     
  7. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    12,358
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    never seen those? some cases have rubber "feet" approximately where the ram slots are, to provide board support when inserting ram. although I haven't seen 'em in many new cases...
     
  8. Meeho

    Meeho [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,258
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Never, this is the first I've heard of it.
     
  9. Spartacus

    Spartacus [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,915
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    I assume you mean you are connecting a ground wire to the stand off..... connecting 12v to a standoff would not go well.
    You should definitely not be sanding anything on the mobo either.

    That's not necessary and could cause a problem if the wire gets loose. The standard design of the Case, PSU, and mobo work fine
    if they are assembled correctly. Adding your own custom wires is not recommended.

    .
     
  10. Rvenger

    Rvenger [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,605
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2012

    Right over your head - Zoom!
     
    pendragon1 likes this.
  11. Spartacus

    Spartacus [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,915
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Ok..... that one wasn't obvious shens to me.
    I've seen people post things that stoopid and worse before.

    We had a guy here drill a hole in a brand new SSD and post pics.
    He actually did that and then also tried to sell it here.

    Sanding mobo holes doesn't sound so bad after that. :p


    .
     
    Rvenger likes this.
  12. w1retap

    w1retap [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,827
    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2006
    Of course I use all of them -- need to eliminate board sag as much as possible from heavy coolers/cards, and it also helps prevent BGA's from cracking during hot/cold cycles.
     
  13. Dan_D

    Dan_D [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    53,423
    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Indeed. I switched motherboards recently. I ended up losing a screw during the build process and ended up searching for the thing for almost a half hour because I had to have them all in.
     
    drescherjm likes this.
Tags: