Do you use all the motherboard standoffs in your build?

Do you install all the motherboard standoffs in your builds?

  • I just use the 4 in each of the corners

  • I use the 4 corners and a few extra where I think it's needed

  • I use every damn one for MAXIMUM motherboard rigidity!


Results are only viewable after voting.

Fix Me

Gawd
Joined
Mar 20, 2007
Messages
699
I didn't use the standoffs the first time I was installing a motherboard when I didn't know any better. That did not end well and I learned my lesson.
 

viivo

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Sep 7, 2005
Messages
1,681
Yes, and I make sure to cross-thread the screws through the motherboard so the standoffs turn when you try to loosen the screws. Tinkering with your computer is more fun when it's difficult.
 

Rvenger

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 12, 2012
Messages
2,087
I sand the holes to make sure the screw gets a good contact. Then I run a wire from one of the stand offs to the 12v rail of the PSU.
 

Meeho

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 16, 2010
Messages
4,984
never seen those? some cases have rubber "feet" approximately where the ram slots are, to provide board support when inserting ram. although I haven't seen 'em in many new cases...
Never, this is the first I've heard of it.
 

Spartacus

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 29, 2005
Messages
2,015
I sand the holes to make sure the screw gets a good contact. Then I run a wire from one of the stand offs to the 12v rail of the PSU.
I assume you mean you are connecting a ground wire to the stand off..... connecting 12v to a standoff would not go well.
You should definitely not be sanding anything on the mobo either.

That's not necessary and could cause a problem if the wire gets loose. The standard design of the Case, PSU, and mobo work fine
if they are assembled correctly. Adding your own custom wires is not recommended.

.
 

Rvenger

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 12, 2012
Messages
2,087
I assume you mean you are connecting a ground wire to the stand off..... connecting 12v to a standoff would not go well.
You should definitely not be sanding anything on the mobo either.

That's not necessary and could cause a problem if the wire gets loose. The standard design of the Case, PSU, and mobo work fine
if they are assembled correctly. Adding your own custom wires is not recommended.

.

Right over your head - Zoom!
 

Spartacus

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 29, 2005
Messages
2,015
Right over your head - Zoom!
Ok..... that one wasn't obvious shens to me.
I've seen people post things that stoopid and worse before.

We had a guy here drill a hole in a brand new SSD and post pics.
He actually did that and then also tried to sell it here.

Sanding mobo holes doesn't sound so bad after that. :p


.
 

w1retap

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jul 17, 2006
Messages
12,289
Of course I use all of them -- need to eliminate board sag as much as possible from heavy coolers/cards, and it also helps prevent BGA's from cracking during hot/cold cycles.
 

Dan_D

Extremely [H]
Joined
Feb 9, 2002
Messages
56,392
Of course I use all of them -- need to eliminate board sag as much as possible from heavy coolers/cards, and it also helps prevent BGA's from cracking during hot/cold cycles.
Indeed. I switched motherboards recently. I ended up losing a screw during the build process and ended up searching for the thing for almost a half hour because I had to have them all in.
 
Top