Do you use all the motherboard standoffs in your build?

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by dvsman, Jan 23, 2019.

Do you install all the motherboard standoffs in your builds?

  1. I just use the 4 in each of the corners

  2. I use the 4 corners and a few extra where I think it's needed

  3. I use every damn one for MAXIMUM motherboard rigidity!

Results are only viewable after voting.
  1. zpackrat

    zpackrat Gawd

    Messages:
    685
    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2002
    Lazy bastard :)
     
  2. Spartacus

    Spartacus [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,912
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    This is critical.

    When using metal standoffs, each one must match up to a mobo mounting hole.

    Otherwise any "extra" metal standoff will touch that spot on the bottom of the mobo and there may be anything at that spot, not necessarily a ground.
    It could be 5v, 12v, a data line, clock signal, etc.

    I've seen even experienced techs make the mistake of changing out mobos and not checking that all of the standoffs are correct.

    One such tech did that when he installed a new mobo in a customer's computer that I ordered after looking at the system.
    He gets it together and I get a call from the boss that "I fucked up" and ordered a mobo when that wasn't the problem.
    The system was still dead.

    Got back to the office and found the extra standoff under the mobo that he left. System worked fine with new mobo after it
    was installed correctly.

    Quite enjoyed watching the tech and the boss have to eat a shit sandwich after blaming me for the other guy's fuck-up. :D

    Plastic standoffs are ok for anywhere under the mobo as others have said.

    .
     
  3. The Mad Atheist

    The Mad Atheist Gawd

    Messages:
    909
    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2018
    Pisses me off getting blamed for something you didn't do.
     
    Spartacus and GoldenTiger like this.
  4. FrgMstr

    FrgMstr Just Plain Mean Staff Member

    Messages:
    47,980
    Joined:
    May 18, 1997
    A lost screw behind a motherboard can be a very bad thing.
     
    revenant, alxlwson, dvsman and 3 others like this.
  5. Spartacus

    Spartacus [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,912
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Funniest part was the boss told me the other tech (his superstar) said the "CPU fan was dead and that probably killed the CPU and that
    was the problem the whole time". Told to me in a condescending tone to try to make me feel like a moron.

    Uhh no.

    The CPU fan runs on 12v, and when you short out something because you mounted the mobo incorrectly, the PSU shuts down and you
    don't get your 12v. Other tech apparently didn't notice NOTHING was powering up, not just the CPU fan.

    I had to explain all of that to the boss when he looked inside the running system and was confused the CPU fan was now spinning. :D

    We had to order a different model mobo to replace the original that was in the system, the original mobo was no longer available.
    The boss's superstar tech didn't see that the mounting holes were different than the original mobo. :rolleyes:

    I taped the brass standoff to a note that said, "Paul, thanks so much for your expert diagnosis, I fixed the CPU fan by pulling out
    the extra standoff you left in there.". :p

    ETA: So glad I work for myself now.


    .
     
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2019
    GoldenTiger and The Mad Atheist like this.
  6. Dullard

    Dullard [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,958
    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Never occurred to me to not use them all.
     
  7. Zepher

    Zepher [H]ipster Replacement

    Messages:
    16,651
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2001
    When I put this large board in my case I had to drill new holes (red) and the white ones had nothing since the standoffs were over the cutouts in the case, just have to be careful when plugging/unplugging the PSU cable at the bottom.

    xeon1-holes marked.jpg

    IMG_1695.JPG
     
  8. alxlwson

    alxlwson You Know Where I Live

    Messages:
    5,644
    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2013
    I use all of them- I always have a lot of weight on my boards with heavy full cover water block on video card and monoblock on motherboard. I do require maximum rigidity
     
  9. HAL_404

    HAL_404 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    251
    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2018
    the way I see it, the more standoffs the better :barefoot:
     
    Karl_in_Chicago likes this.
  10. Skillz

    Skillz [H]ard DCOTY 2017

    Messages:
    21,678
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    If I am putting the system/motherboard into a case/enclosure then I use all available standoffs/motherboard anchoring points.

    However, most of the time I leave my systems running naked on a cardboard box or other non-conducting surface.
     
  11. Paul_Johnson

    Paul_Johnson [H] PSU Editor & Admin Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,420
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    I like to use extra ones....randomly placed.
     
  12. Rifter0876

    Rifter0876 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    99
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2017
    I only use the standoffs if im out of duct tape.
     
    Spartacus and Denpepe like this.
  13. Krenum

    Krenum [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,290
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Yes, of course.
     
  14. Methos

    Methos Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    325
    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2004
    No option for just the center screw and the video card bracket anchored to the case?
     
    revenant likes this.
  15. Paul_Johnson

    Paul_Johnson [H] PSU Editor & Admin Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,420
    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2004
    Dude, you are on point
     
  16. JRZoid

    JRZoid n00b

    Messages:
    22
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2019
    No....I just jump it out on the table....
     
  17. revenant

    revenant [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,151
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    Hell yes I use them all.
     
    FrgMstr likes this.
  18. iwhocorrupts

    iwhocorrupts Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    162
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2012
    I use every last one. This shouldn't even be up for discussion. Lol
     
  19. coynatha

    coynatha Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    228
    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2004
    I use every available,and also tighten like a wheel on a car. Skip around until just about tight, then go through and finish tighten. If I had a torque wrench I'd use it.
     
  20. revenant

    revenant [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    14,151
    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2005
    That's a good point. I do the same, get them in and not too tight then go through them sweeping from side to side doing the final tightening.
     
  21. M76

    M76 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,002
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    You mad broah?
    Of course I use them all. I even used to put extra standoffs under the power connector in the olden times. Those old PSU connectors were brutal. Or the 80pin ide cables? Those took quite a lot of force as well. You could literally bend the board to touch the MB tray with all standoff already in place just by connecting those cables.
     
    Spartacus likes this.
  22. Spartacus

    Spartacus [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,912
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    I've done that too with a plastic standoff under the ATX power connector.
    Haven't done that in a while though, usually I end up jamming my fingers under the edge of the mobo to support it when I connect the ATX power.

    I've used one of those big rubber pencil erasers under the edge of the mobo to push against too.

    .
     
  23. Hakaba

    Hakaba Gawd

    Messages:
    584
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    All, the 4 corners failed against the Scyth Njnia, from that point I used each and every one.
     
  24. FrgMstr

    FrgMstr Just Plain Mean Staff Member

    Messages:
    47,980
    Joined:
    May 18, 1997
    Hehe, yep, those are all there for a reason. :)
     
  25. oneforspeed

    oneforspeed [H]Lite

    Messages:
    102
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2012
    It takes about 2 extra minutes to install and screw in all the standoffs. Why wouldn't you use all of them? Board flex alone should outweigh laziness. We had a person doing our IT work years ago that was lazy beyond description. I fixed several of his pc builds because the board wasn't grounded well (industrial environment). The screws he did install weren't tight at all. The strength of a 2nd-grade girl just didn't cut it.
     
    Denpepe and Spartacus like this.
  26. Spartacus

    Spartacus [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,912
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Yep, I don't get it either.

    It drives me crazy to have to follow-up and fix sloppy work from technical people who calls themselves professionals.
    Everybody makes mistakes, but the ones who are lazy and just don't care piss me off! :rage:

    .
     
    pendragon1 likes this.
  27. StoleMyOwnCar

    StoleMyOwnCar 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,134
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2013
    Normally I would, for various reasons, but these B85 MicroATX boards are weird. They have this extra screw hole that I have yet to find a single case with a corresponding hole for... I don't understand at all, frankly.

    Long story short, though, if I can, I will. If I can't, I won't really sweat it.
     
  28. Dayaks

    Dayaks [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,657
    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2012
    lol, that would drive me insane to leave it there. I have lifted the entire PC and shook it in different orientations to find the damn thing. :)

    I use all the standoffs. I am quite paranoid of PCB flex killing components.
     
    Spartacus likes this.
  29. Spartacus

    Spartacus [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,912
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Yep.

    Loose screws are a no-go.
    I will completely disassemble a piece of equipment to find/remove a loose screw.

    .
     
    AlphaQup and FrgMstr like this.
  30. travm

    travm Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    254
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2016
    They made power screwdrivers for people like you
     
    FrgMstr likes this.
  31. ZodaEX

    ZodaEX 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,649
    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2004
    Lazyness, ignorance and apathy.
     
    Spartacus likes this.
  32. Spartacus

    Spartacus [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,912
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    True.

    The funny part is that it really doesn't take much extra effort to do it correctly to begin with.
    Some guys seem to make it a point to prove they don't care. :sour:

    .
     
    FrgMstr likes this.
  33. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,991
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    yes. unless the new case I just bought doesnt have all the stand off locations that my board requires. looking at you phantek....
     
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2019
    Spartacus likes this.
  34. Kardonxt

    Kardonxt 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,829
    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Who uses stand offs? Just screw that bad boy right on.

    #maxrigidity

    /s
     
    Spartacus likes this.
  35. Spartacus

    Spartacus [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,912
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Cringe!

    lol.... It's amazing to me how many noobs actually do that.

    .
     
    Kardonxt likes this.
  36. Krenum

    Krenum [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    15,290
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    When you get a new computer case and the godamn standoffs are preinstalled & fused to the case and you don't have anything but a pair of needle nose pliers.

    images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSyorPALRRX5vCIjXZokqD8t_mhbtZfynxxopsF0gCfO6MS-e6jjQ.jpg
     
    Kardonxt and pendragon1 like this.
  37. M76

    M76 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,002
    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    That's when the plastic standoffs come into picture. Back in the 486 / P1 days standoff were plastic pins. I still have some of those saved for cases like that. Just cut the part that goes into the case and voila you have a standoff you can literally put anywhere where there is a hole on the MB.
     
    Spartacus likes this.
  38. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,991
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    yup you can but i said fuck it and i didnt have any.
    werent we just suggesting those to someone with those metal stupid clip standoffs? maybe it was someone else...
     
  39. Aluminum

    Aluminum Gawd

    Messages:
    601
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2015
    I have a mini socket set just for this. Some of them must be either machine-installed or they paint/coat/seal over them because I've damn near sheared off some removing the ones I don't want. (matx in atx case is typical reason)
     
    Krenum likes this.
  40. Niner21

    Niner21 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    75
    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2018
    I have built a lot of systems over the years and have always used all standoffs. I have always used air cooling and with the weight of these newer coolers you need some stability IMO. Also the grounding effect as others have mentioned.
     
Tags: