Do I need a special UPS for my two PFC PSUs?

rpeters83

Gawd
I'm completely new to UPSs. I have a Corsair TX650 in one machine and a Antec earthwatts 380w. Both are active PFC.

I've been looking at the CyberPower models, as they advertise pure sine voltage. Do I in fact need a special UPS like this (such ashttps://www.amazon.com/dp/B00429N192/ref=cm_sw_r_awd_AdXVub01SZKSR), or will one of the cheaper models suffice. Are there any from APC that I should consider? Thanks.

The sine-wave Cyperpowers are nice since you can turn off the display and alarm, but otherwise it doesn't really matter.

I've run various active PFC PSUs on the [strike=]non-sinewave[/s] [edit: actually it is the stepped sinewave version] versions for several years now with no issues and the power here is terrible. Probably 15-20 times a year the power drops and the UPS kicks over to battery.

Last edited:
I don't think it matters for a decent PSU. Motors, however, don't like running off a square wave.

It actually does matter for decent PSUs, because decent PSUs have PFC circuits, and can detect square wave as dirty power and put the PSU into protection.

Traditionally Cyberpowers are modified Triangle wave, not true sine wave. Works better then Smoothed Square, but still not quite right. So hopefully this new model is actually true sine. That would be awesome.

As an Amazon Associate, HardForum may earn from qualifying purchases.
Thanks. Off topic, but if I buy one of these cyberpower models, am I able to eventually upgrade the battery to one with a higher charge, or am I stuck with the same replacement battery?

Off topic, but if I buy one of these cyberpower models, am I able to eventually upgrade the battery to one with a higher charge, or am I stuck with the same replacement battery?

For that I would get a refurbished server grade UPS like an APC SmartUPS 1500. These sell for less than $200 US with new batteries on eBay.