Decent monitors for Eyefinity.

Hello everyone!

I'm a long time lurker here, and have decided to make [H] my new home, as my experience on OCN has only gotten worse in recent months, so I'm glad to be making the transition!

I'm currently looking at purchasing a 3 monitor setup and an 5870 Crossfire setup, however, I really am a noob when it comes to monitors.

I've been doing alot of reading, and the general census is that IPS panels are preffered for Eyefinity / Multi-Monitor setups due to their wide viewing angles, however, as an Australian resident, I've realised that I'm going to be paying a devastating price premium for any half decent IPS panel, and I'm really not sure where to go from here.

I've given myself a budget of approx. $1500 (AU) for monitors. I don't really want to exceed it as I'm a Uni student, which means I'm constantly lacking funding.

My usage is split between gaming and graphic design (which I'm studying), and is currently about 60% gaming, 40% designing.

I've never use an IPS panel in my life, so I don't know just how good they are. However, I notice a huge difference in comparing my older Samsung 223BW to the newer Samsung P2350.

I'm wondering what [H] think's of the situation I have at hand, and if their are any aussies here with a killer Eyefinity / Multi-Monitor setup, please let me know what you've got, where you got it, and if you wouldn't mind, how much for!

Thanks for having a read!

Last edited:
Well, you could wait and see for how much HP will sell their ZW24r/ZW22r monitors down under, but since you aussies are sometimes even worse off than us europeans as far as having access to the latest tech goes, you could also consider the Dell 2209WA for AUS $409.
If you buy them on ebay, they're even cheaper.

There are other decent eyefinity monitors out there, but I did a quick search and the likes of the NEC EA231WMi seems way overpriced down under, at AUS $600.