Custom USB Server Alert System

FoxFlame

Limp Gawd
Yeah I didn't know where to put this one...Audio and electrical engineering are my weak subjects. My basic question is audio related, but nothing else about it is so it's going in 'General Hardware':

I need an inexpensive device capable of easily emitting a very noticeable 'noise' across a household. Louder is better.

[Backstory]
I'm a data center engineer. I need to be aware when certain 'critical' events occur regarding my occupation. Nagios sends to my phone. That's fine. The problem is that I don't always have my phone on me, and I can't always hear it. (E.g. Sunday afternoon when I'm playing video games with my headphones on. Nope, don't keep my phone tucked into my robe on vibrate...)

So I need an alarm. I need it to be both audible across the house, and visual anywhere I might have headphones on. But I have all that sorted out.

I'll use an old laptop running CentOS (and probably eventually Raspberry Pi) that simply obtains emails forwarded to it through my ISP from our data center, or via the internal network if my phone gets a call instead. (Need redundant paths if either fails) From there it can easily enable the only USB devices connected. (via a shell script) The usb cable splits the appropriate number of times (as yet undecided) and switches to Cat6, where it can then run through the house to whichever plugs I want. Then back to USB where it can easily start powering alerting devices. (E.g. 'Woot-off' lights, or countless other devices)

The problem I'm running into is finding an acceptable aural alerting device that can easily be powered off 5VDC. This seems like it should be very simple. I know there are speakers capable of USB power (5VDC) but every piezo siren/horn/alarm/buzzer I've found requires 12VDC or 9VDC. I'd rip the noise maker out of those little water alarms but they too require 9VDC.