Critique my new system..

Bigjohns97

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 18, 2000
Messages
1,245
What would you change if anything on my new system i am ordering this weekend?

Lian Li PC-7 B Plus Black Computer Case
http://www.newegg.com/product/product.asp?item=N82E16811112212
DFI LANPARTY UT nF4 Ultra-D ATX AMD Motherboard
http://www.newegg.com/product/product.asp?item=N82E16813136152
OCZ OCZ520ADJ 520W Power Supply
http://www.newegg.com/product/product.asp?item=N82E16817104152
AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ 1GHz FSB Socket 939 Dual Core Processor
http://www.newegg.com/product/product.asp?item=N82E16819103542
OCZ 2GB (2 x 1GB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM Dual Channel Platinum System Memory
http://www.newegg.com/product/product.asp?item=N82E16820227210
Western Digital Raptor 74GB 3.5" Serial ATA150 Hard Drive
http://www.newegg.com/product/product.asp?item=N82E16822144160
PLEXTOR Black SATA DVD Burner Model PX-712SA/SW-BL
http://www.newegg.com/product/product.asp?item=N82E16827131329
THERMALRIGHT XP-90C Heatsink
http://www.newegg.com/product/product.asp?item=N82E16835109122
Panasonic Panaflo FBA09A12H -1BX 92mm Hydro Wave Cooling Fan
http://www.newegg.com/product/product.asp?item=N82E16835180052
XFX PV-T70F-UND7 Geforce 7800 GTX Over Clock PCI Express 256MB DDR3 Video Card w/Dual DVI & VIVO Retail
http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/ProductDetail.jsp?ProductCode=321028

I am going to be playing alot fo battlefield 2 and other games, i plan on disabling all but the 4 nvidia native sata ports so that's why i got the plextor.
I plan on getting anoter raptor and a 300 giger later on when i recover from this thing.

All comments welcome :)
 

PicoFaradPJF

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 4, 2001
Messages
1,429
System looks pretty tight. About the only thing I would change is the case. I'd much rather have an Antec case like this one http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16811129152
just because I love the 120mm fan it has in the back and front. (the case comes with one 120 and you to buy one for the front). And also in my experience building systems Antec's are the best cases you can buy.
 

BigDaddy85

Gawd
Joined
May 13, 2005
Messages
876
wow nice machine, but for the case i should suggest u to go for antec's lanboy unless u r lannin more than usual. Otherwise, keep that case if u don't want try out lanbaby case. :D
 

UnrealCpu

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 20, 2003
Messages
2,763
BigDaddy85 said:
wow nice machine, but for the case i should suggest u to go for antec's lanboy unless u r lannin more than usual. Otherwise, keep that case if u don't want try out lanbaby case. :D

look at sig

thats the real bf2 machine
 

Bigjohns97

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 18, 2000
Messages
1,245
PicoFaradPJF said:
System looks pretty tight. About the only thing I would change is the case. I'd much rather have an Antec case like this one http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16811129152
just because I love the 120mm fan it has in the back and front. (the case comes with one 120 and you to buy one for the front). And also in my experience building systems Antec's are the best cases you can buy.

I have an antec sonata right now and the only thing i don't like is the front panel. I am hoping the all-aluminum lian-li should fix their flimsyness.
 

PicoFaradPJF

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 4, 2001
Messages
1,429
I've never used an antec sonata myself, but I've never considered Antec's plastic fronts to be flimsy. Epecially compared to other plastic front panels I've seen :D But I could certainly understand not wanting a front door on a case. Antec does make a few like that, but I wish they would make more.

The only knock I have on the lian-li is that it looks like it only has an 80mm in the back for cooling, which IMHO is pretty crappy for such a pricy case, especially since it looks like it could easily fit a 120mm back there.

Course if you're so inclined, that defect can be easily be modded. :)
 

Pkirk618

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Sep 12, 2002
Messages
5,736
that system sucks!!! Happy?

Nice system...if I had the money to spend on that, I'd be buying pretty much the same components. Is your current system not working out?
 

(cf)Eclipse

Freelance Overclocker
Joined
Feb 18, 2003
Messages
30,027
PicoFaradPJF said:
I've never used an antec sonata myself, but I've never considered Antec's plastic fronts to be flimsy
imo, they are. i simply took the door off my lanboy.. that problem was solved :p
 

mikelz85

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 3, 2004
Messages
1,342
I'd drop that RAM for sure. It is a total waste of cash (read up on A64 memory performance, it scales far more with CPU clock than memory clock). Get some cheaper crucial value, 2x1gb. Also, for the price of that single raptor, you could probably have a larger, and faster RAID 0 setup.
 

Dew

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 23, 2003
Messages
3,854
I'm not sure that the OCZ is warranted for the ram. The A64 really doesnt benefit too much from memory bandwidth. However, good choice on 2GB of ram, dont let anyone talk you out of it. BF2 NEEDS 2GB of ram at high res.
 

DejaWiz

Fully [H]
Joined
Apr 15, 2005
Messages
21,651
Dew said:
From all the complaints I've read here on the [H]forums, BF2 NEEDS at least 2GB of ram at high res to eliminate chop and stutter.
Fixed.
 

Dew

2[H]4U
Joined
Jun 23, 2003
Messages
3,854
DejaWiz said:
Dew said:
From all the complaints I've read here on the [H]forums, and from personal experience witnessing it on MULTIPLE systems, BF2 NEEDS at least 2GB of ram at high res to eliminate chop and stutter.

Fixed.

Fixed
 

mikelz85

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 3, 2004
Messages
1,342
If you waited a minute for the 3800+ to come out, or cut out/downgraded a few things (4200+ instead) you could have enough for a 2nd gtx (they're only ~$530 now), or wait a minute for the 3800+, and by then the 7800gt will be out as well, which you could easily buy 2 of.
 

Bigjohns97

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 18, 2000
Messages
1,245
mikelz85 said:
If you waited a minute for the 3800+ to come out, or cut out/downgraded a few things (4200+ instead) you could have enough for a 2nd gtx (they're only ~$530 now), or wait a minute for the 3800+, and by then the 7800gt will be out as well, which you could easily buy 2 of.

The reason why i didn't choose the 3800+ is because i want the 1 meg l2 per core. I know it's not necessary and performance only increases in certain situations but the whole reason i am so excited about this computer is because it will perform at anything. Plus since i have getting 2x1gig sticks i don't want to run any dividers so i am giong to need that 11x multi to make sure i get the most out of my chip.

I just couldn't justify getting 2 7800's the 2 main games i play cs:s and bf2 didn't show much diffrence between 1 and 2 cards except at very high resolutions >16x12.

Since i am going to be running a 191b lcd with a max res of 1280x1024 i don't need that. Maybe when the majority of the games come out with native widescreen support i will.
 

mikelz85

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 3, 2004
Messages
1,342
do you understand how dividers work on ram? Memory performance isn't influenced at all by dividers, only the resulting memory frequency, which influences actual memory performance far less than CPU clock speed (due to the memory controller being on the CPU core). Crucial value ram is going to be the best 2x1gb setup. It'll cost far less, and still OC decent. Do a little research on how OC'ing works on the A64, I highly doubt you'll even "need" a 11x multi. You'll probably end up running a 10x instead just because it makes stuff easier.
 

Bigjohns97

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 18, 2000
Messages
1,245
mikelz85 said:
do you understand how dividers work on ram? Memory performance isn't influenced at all by dividers, only the resulting memory frequency, which influences actual memory performance far less than CPU clock speed (due to the memory controller being on the CPU core). Crucial value ram is going to be the best 2x1gb setup. It'll cost far less, and still OC decent. Do a little research on how OC'ing works on the A64, I highly doubt you'll even "need" a 11x multi. You'll probably end up running a 10x instead just because it makes stuff easier.

I don't think 35$ is a whole lot more money to spend to get the ocz, plus they are matched sticks (i know this doesn't mean much) but these are designed to do what i am going to do. Even if they performed similar i would buy the OCZ because of their support for overclockers. They always support higher voltages on their memory.

I have done research on a64's overclocking and while the diffrence isn't great the is a performance loss when moving fromt he 1:1 ram divider, just like there is a small performance loss when not using 1t.
 

mikelz85

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 3, 2004
Messages
1,342
well, who cares if OCZ supports higher voltages on their ram? You are buying an ASUS board that doesn't support the voltages needed to run BH-5/CH-5. What exactly is it that you are planning to do? FYI, I bought 2 totally unmatched sticks of refurbed twinmos SP that trump most any $150-$200 a gb memory. My whole point is that memory overclocking yields virtually no memory performance increase. Synthetic, yes, real world, no. This is coming from a guy with some of the fastest/best timed ram on the forum btw.

Moving from 1:1 to a different divider will only change your memory clock. Usually you can easily match all your maximum OC's up with the variety of ram dividers, CPU multis, and HTT speeds at your disposal. 400HTT with a 1:2 divider is 200mhz mem, which yields the exact same performance as 200HTT with a 1:1 divider. No loss of performance whatsoever. Just trying to save you a little cash. RAM doesn't matter much, and if you really wanted bragging rights, you'd be going DFI and not ASUS.
 

(cf)Eclipse

Freelance Overclocker
Joined
Feb 18, 2003
Messages
30,027
it's not the actual divider though, it's the resultant mhz as mike said

assume this scenario:

200mhz
14x cpu multi
ram at 200mhz, "1:1"

cpu = 2800mhz
ram = 200mhz


another way to get the same performance:
254mhz
11x cpu multi
ram at 166mhz "6:5"

cpu = 2794mhz
ram = 199.6mhz


the two will perform identically, despite the different methods of getting to a given clock speed
 

mikelz85

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 3, 2004
Messages
1,342
yeah, seeing that you are coming from a socket a, I'd suggest reading the sticky guide on OC'ing in this forum. The whole deal is a tad bit different on the A64.
 

Bigjohns97

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 18, 2000
Messages
1,245
So the question is what is faster

250 1:1 3-3-3-7

250:200 5:4 2-3-2-5

i will let you know in a couple of days.
 

Bigjohns97

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 18, 2000
Messages
1,245
mikelz85 said:
well, who cares if OCZ supports higher voltages on their ram? You are buying an ASUS board that doesn't support the voltages needed to run BH-5/CH-5. What exactly is it that you are planning to do? FYI, I bought 2 totally unmatched sticks of refurbed twinmos SP that trump most any $150-$200 a gb memory. My whole point is that memory overclocking yields virtually no memory performance increase. Synthetic, yes, real world, no. This is coming from a guy with some of the fastest/best timed ram on the forum btw.

Moving from 1:1 to a different divider will only change your memory clock. Usually you can easily match all your maximum OC's up with the variety of ram dividers, CPU multis, and HTT speeds at your disposal. 400HTT with a 1:2 divider is 200mhz mem, which yields the exact same performance as 200HTT with a 1:1 divider. No loss of performance whatsoever. Just trying to save you a little cash. RAM doesn't matter much, and if you really wanted bragging rights, you'd be going DFI and not ASUS.

I am going DFI :rolleyes:
 

mikelz85

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Aug 3, 2004
Messages
1,342
Both would be damn close to performance, 2's are better than 3's.

Don't play hypothetical with your OC. The best thing is to go ahead and just buy decent components to start with. Rule #1 rated speeds are bullshit, the only thing to look at is how well it overclocks, and what timings it can do. Rule #2 even then, memory overclocking means very little, thus expensive overclocking memory has jack shit on decent overclocking memory, such as crucial value. Rule #3 if you really wanted/were into overclocking memory, you would buy a DFI board, which has the most memory tweaks/voltage options, and can run winbond, the best ram out there. Rule #4 is that you'd still be wasting your money.
 

SPARTAN VI

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 12, 2004
Messages
8,482
sakurakana1003 said:
Wow, I instantly lost almost 50 bucks before I even received my 7800, lol! Oh well too bad. :D

I hear ya, happens to me all the time. Bought my 9800Pro, the next week, 6600GT's are out. :mad:
 

(cf)Eclipse

Freelance Overclocker
Joined
Feb 18, 2003
Messages
30,027
mikelz85 said:
Don't play hypothetical with your OC. The best thing is to go ahead and just buy decent components to start with
agreed. i just gotta have the stuff that matters. namely.. the cpu, video card and ram size. :cool:
 
Top