Become a Patron!

Creators Update automatically installing Games w/o permission

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by Simplyfun, Apr 15, 2017.

  1. Simplyfun

    Simplyfun [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,177
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2016
    Yesterday I built a little PC for someone and installed using the latest and greatest media from MS. After I got it up and running, it kept installing candy crush and some war game and other shit.

    Every time I uninstalled it, it reinstalled and was just sucking up bandwidth.

    I ended up using the local security policy and packaged app rules to stop it, but how bloody disappointing and annoying.

    Further bitch, I had to reg edit the right click on the windows logo to bring back command prompt and control panel etc...

    the installing games thing without permission over and over... ugh wtf.
     
  2. Chuklr

    Chuklr Gawd

    Messages:
    630
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    If you are installing the Creator's Update from a USB or DVD the media is not doing an "update" it's doing a clean install and that's why you're seeing the result you describe. See the link heatlesssun posted in another Creator's Update thread:

    Settings have a better chance of being retained if the "Update" is installed once it is offered through "Windows Update".

    Hope this helps.
     
  3. B00nie

    B00nie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,553
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    I had the displeasure of having to fix my sons Win10 audio settings once again after some bullshit update messed him up.

    I haven't even booted my gaming computer for months - and I kinda like it that way.
     
  4. BulletDust

    BulletDust [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,247
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    The microphone on my daughters W10 PC is still fucked, I have to unplug it and plug it in again every time she wants it to work when she's recording her games. So annoying.
     
  5. akmens

    akmens n00bie

    Messages:
    31
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    What is it? A joke? Are you saying the latest and "greatest" media from Microsoft are now installing games on it's own and later don't let you get rid of them?!! You better hope it is not regular customer level windows 10 installation because if it is... I was always wondering why people do hate the MS latest OS so much sometimes... it gets weirder and weirder every day with this so called 'modern' OS... No particular hate from my side, I use it myself, just some healty observation.... where are we going, Microsoft, huh?
     
  6. Simplyfun

    Simplyfun [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,177
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2016
    Doesn't work on new installs, tried it. On a new install you have to actively use secpol to prevent this from happening... and by experimentation I learned it also happens with older builds now when they are installed from scratch.

    Just this morning I was playing with a refurbed T430 that came with 10 Pro ( not creators) and the even though I had set the wireless to metered and turned off suggestions it immediately started loading the three games and twitter as well as reinstalling the facebook app I had just uninstalled. I'm not blind. And a suggestion is supposed to be just that- a suggestion, not "I'll ignore your wishes and load all the crapware I like".

    When I join these units to a domain, the shit stops because at least MS is listening to the GP. For single users this is bullshit. At the office my MS blacklist is now over two pages long so I don't see that behaviour there, but here in my garage I don't have anything blocked and when I'm seeing this kind of behaviour while I'm trying to get Optimus working it drives me nuts.

    I bet Stardock launches a new product that locks this shit down so MS doesn't keep trying to break Start10 and Blinds etc..
     
  7. bigdogchris

    bigdogchris Wii was a Novelty

    Messages:
    16,569
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    OK, so Windows 10 is triggered to install certain apps/games before you even hit the net. So if you think you are going to outsmart it (like I once did) by removing them from Start before you connect it to the Internet, Microsoft is one step ahead of you.

    The only thing you can do is to install the OS, open the Store app and go into Updates, download everything that it wants download/updated, do it a second time to make sure it's all there, then go in and remove the apps you don't want.
     
  8. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,176
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    you can easily change it to show command prompt instead of power shell and control panel you can just search for and pin to the start menu. pretty easy....

    upload_2017-4-21_11-52-34.png

    update the drivers to the manufacturers driver, ie realteks driver pack. that should fix it. the cu seems to replace any installed driver with the ms one.
     
    Last edited: Apr 21, 2017
  9. AltTabbins

    AltTabbins [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    16,383
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Not sure what to tell you. I have 3 machines running Windows 10 and the setting fixed it for every one of them. I had to manually remove the suggested apps that were already there but I haven't had a single one installed for months (including when I updated them to creators update).
     
  10. Simplyfun

    Simplyfun [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,177
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2016
    I saw that eventually, but I also wanted my control panel back. In fact, I wanted it back exactly like it was. But good tip for those who are looking for just that.
     
  11. heatlesssun

    heatlesssun Pick your own.....you deserve it.

    Messages:
    45,538
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Take a look at this: http://winaero.com/comment.php?comment.news.30. It allows you to easily customize the power menu, which has been there since Windows 8. Again, it's one those things that's simple and easy to do with tools but Microsoft never added a UI for it.
     
  12. BulletDust

    BulletDust [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,247
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Pendragon1, thank you for the advice my friend. Unfortunately I'm currently running Realtek drivers, I have been from the start and the Mic still plays funny buggers. It's like it switches automatically, for no logical reason, to an output device as opposed to an input device.

    Once again, thanks for offering assistance.
     
    pendragon1 likes this.
  13. BulletDust

    BulletDust [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,247
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    And one of those personalisation modifications that requires yet another third party application to make changes, changes that will most likely be reset next major update.
     
  14. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,176
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    even the new r2.81 does that? that is weird. I tried :)
     
  15. heatlesssun

    heatlesssun Pick your own.....you deserve it.

    Messages:
    45,538
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    These are registry settings that may not survive a version upgrade that's a fair point. But who does use tools to extend what's in the box? Windows utilities like this have been around forever. Even if settings like this don't survive a version upgrade, tools like this make setting things up quick and painless.
     
  16. BulletDust

    BulletDust [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,247
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Under Windows 7 I never had to use a third party utility to re-implement an option that should never have been removed.

    Quick and painless is not having to use such tools at all.
     
  17. Simplyfun

    Simplyfun [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,177
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2016
    They used to deliver milk to the back door too. But that's not what we're dealing with. Unfortunately.
     
  18. BulletDust

    BulletDust [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,247
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    We still have options, it's not something I deal with.
     
  19. heatlesssun

    heatlesssun Pick your own.....you deserve it.

    Messages:
    45,538
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Because there was basically one version of Windows 7 with updates. There have been four different versions of Windows 10. There's no question that the Windows 10 major version process doesn't honor changes like it should. But 10 is the first version of Windows to update this way. Microsoft needs to improve it. I've never said anything differently.

    But yeah, 3rd party tools to make things easier, any advanced Windows user over the years has used such tools. Virtual desktops, multiple monitor task bars, blue light reduction. But no one is using those kinds of tools now.
     
  20. MrGuvernment

    MrGuvernment Pick your own.....you deserve it.

    Messages:
    19,407
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004

    And they even do this on Windows 10 ENTERPRISE!
     
  21. heatlesssun

    heatlesssun Pick your own.....you deserve it.

    Messages:
    45,538
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Standalone, yes. But Windows 10 Enterprise clients are meant to be connected to a domain and in that environment clients are locked down tighter than a sphincter.
     
  22. Simplyfun

    Simplyfun [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,177
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2016
    Actually I'm finding the Enterprise systems are honoring GP with no real issues, the surprise is when you have to keep adding some new restriction.
     
  23. MrGuvernment

    MrGuvernment Pick your own.....you deserve it.

    Messages:
    19,407
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    They do if you have GPO's sure, but a clean out of the box Windows 10 Ent install has the customer experience enabled and thus downloads all the BS. it is like them putting a wallpaper on Server 2016 on install.. sure we may never look at it, but if i need to RDP into a box i see that ugly screen which then take more bandwidth and with remote sites annoying. Now i need to set a gpo to set a solid color image..
     
  24. heatlesssun

    heatlesssun Pick your own.....you deserve it.

    Messages:
    45,538
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Do you think that Windows 7 enterprise is any different? You don't run Windows Update in true enterprise environments for example. You connect these clients to domains, build out custom images, set GPs, login scripts, etc. You don't just install an enterprise version ISO and be on your way in an enterprise environment. Not even with Windows 7.
     
  25. BulletDust

    BulletDust [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,247
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    The fact the OS can be connected to a domain means very little, Windows 10 Professional can be connected to a domain and by default all the annoying settings are still enabled under Windows 10 EE.

    EE gained some additional features after the AU over Pro, but I wouldn't consider any of them groundbreaking. All the bullshit is still enabled by default under EE.
     
  26. BulletDust

    BulletDust [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,247
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Under Linux these updates would be called regressions.
     
  27. heatlesssun

    heatlesssun Pick your own.....you deserve it.

    Messages:
    45,538
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Because once again, in an enterprise environment you have to take control of the defaults. That's how it's always worked in true enterprise environments. True enterprise environments don't use Windows Update or Defender or time services or anything else in Windows 7 that connects to Microsoft servers. That's why Microsoft documents how to shut down every single thing for enterprises that connects to Microsoft servers.
     
  28. BulletDust

    BulletDust [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,247
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    You disable everything via GPO on the DC. EE is nothing special, all the usual advertising/spyware and lack of control is still enabled by default. Things that have no place in a desktop operating system.
     
  29. B00nie

    B00nie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,553
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    Updates that cancel users own settings and modifications are a clear path of Windows becoming just a console. It's an Xbox with a keyboard in the making.
     
  30. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,176
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    you guys gonna turn this into another 10 pages of Linux vs windows again?
     
    Simplyfun, ManofGod and BulletDust like this.
  31. BulletDust

    BulletDust [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,247
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Ask Heatlesssun.
     
  32. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,539
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Interesting, I do not have those nor do they ever try installing on any of my systems. What version of Windows 10 is it?
     
  33. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,539
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Yep, and the first person to like your post is going to do exactly as you said and then claim otherwise, every stinkin time! :D
     
  34. ManofGod

    ManofGod [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,539
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Are you really this self unaware? Really? LOL!
     
    pendragon1 likes this.
  35. wizzi01

    wizzi01 Gawd

    Messages:
    1,013
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    You are the one that mentioned linux.
     
    pendragon1 and Chuklr like this.
  36. BulletDust

    BulletDust [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,247
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Self unaware?

    If someone is posting something that's incorrect there's nothing to state I can't correct them.

    I'm the one that posted a fact as opposed to misinformed rantings about EE. EE is not some magic version of Windows free from all the poor decisions that come with Windows 10.
     
  37. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,176
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    does this thread have Linux in the title? is it under the Linux sub-forum? no! so stfu about Linux in all the WINDOWS threads. you just cant help yourself can you?
     
  38. BulletDust

    BulletDust [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,247
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    Do you want me to highlight the number of times Heatlesssun had derailed a thread in the Linux forums by turning it into a Windows vs Linux flame war discussing topics that have been discussed and put to bed time and time again?

    What Heatlesssun posted was not entirely accurate. I corrected him and provided an example of how the updating process under Windows is flawed. If you don't want to read my posts there's a perfectly functioning blocking system.
     
    Last edited: Apr 22, 2017
  39. wizzi01

    wizzi01 Gawd

    Messages:
    1,013
    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008

    You are just as delusional as boonie. You brought up linux just to bring it up and that is what I said. You want to push linux, that is fine take that crap to the little linux and other oses forum.
    Here is a link since I'm sure you won't be able to find your way there https://hardforum.com/forums/linux-bsd-free-systems.96/
     
    heatlesssun likes this.
  40. BulletDust

    BulletDust [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,247
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2016
    No, no I didn't. If a Kernel update is made available under Linux and it results in issues, it's called a regression and flagged as such.

    The CU is, as always, resulting in issues.

    Once again, there's a perfectly functional blocking system if you don't want to read my posts.