CPU for Poweredge T20?

Discussion in 'Virtualized Computing' started by kalex1114, Mar 29, 2014.

  1. kalex1114

    kalex1114 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    126
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    Just got my PowerEdge t20 but it came with G CPU. I want to get a replacment but not sure which one to choose. Dell's suggestion is e3-1225v3 but when I checked on newegg there are few choices to choose from in E3-12xxV3 range.

    What is the best cpu for esxi host in e3-12xxv3 range? This is going to be used in home lab running esxi 5.5u1 setup. I'll get the RAM and other stuff separately.

    Currently I have ivy bridge home made rig that works ok, looking to add extra host or replace the one i have


    Thanks

    Alex
     
  2. the_servicer

    the_servicer [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,986
    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2013
    Not to distract from your question, and I don't have the answer, but I would like to know if you like the T20. Specifically, how good is the build quality compared to other Dell towers?
     
  3. kirbyrj

    kirbyrj [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    24,460
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Dell's suggested E3-1225v3 is just a 95W Haswell part. The only difference between them is clockspeed and TDP. If the 95W part works in it, any of them should work as it looks like 95W is the highest TDP. The 1220 is a little cheaper, 100mhz slower, and 15W less, so that might end up being a better option over the long haul as 100mhz shouldn't make that big of a difference.
     
  4. RiDDLeRThC

    RiDDLeRThC 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,885
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    I've got 3 T20's as my VMware lab and love them. build quality is great
     
  5. kalex1114

    kalex1114 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    126
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    ist still in the box :) going to unpack it today. don't have the parts yet (cpu, ram, storage)
     
  6. kalex1114

    kalex1114 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    126
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    I'm trying to pick one that is best suited for running esxi. VT-d, low power since its running at home and quad core, HT) stuff like that. so maybe its better to go with E3-1270V3 proc which is a bit more money but better spec than e3-1225 model
     
  7. kirbyrj

    kirbyrj [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    24,460
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    They all have the same specs with the exception of clockspeed and power. If you have an extra $120 lying around, then by all means grab the more expensive version. I'm fairly certain you will never make up the difference in power savings between 80W and 95W over the life of the system (unless you're running 100% load 24/7/365).
     
  8. kalex1114

    kalex1114 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    126
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    yep plan is to run them 24/7. easier than shutting them down :)
     
  9. Phlogi

    Phlogi n00b

    Messages:
    1
    Joined:
    May 23, 2014
    Could anyone confirm whether VT-d works on a Dell T20 using an INTEL Xenon processor like the E3-1220V3? It's clear that it's not available with the Penitum G3220, however would that Dell motherboard and it's BIOS support it when a xenon processor is installed?
     
  10. kalex1114

    kalex1114 [H]Lite

    Messages:
    126
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2013
    yes. it works fine. i have it enabled on mine
     
  11. dcol

    dcol n00b

    Messages:
    1
    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2016
    I know this is a late post, but this info may be important to some.
    I can confirm that any E3-12x5 v3 will work in the T20. Also any E3-12x0 v3 will work except that series does not have a built in graphic processor, so you have to use a PCIe 3.0 graphic card. PCIe 2.1 graphic cards DO NOT WORK.
    I have my T20 setup with an E3-1280 v3 with an ASUS R7-240. Works Turbo speed of 4.00 Ghz. Personally I think that the non graphic CPU is better because it only uses 82W
     
  12. jhhack

    jhhack Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    173
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Does it have to be a Haswell part?

    will a skylake e series xeon work?
    Intel Xeon E3-1225 v5 SkyLake 3.3 GHz 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1151 80W BX80662E31225V5 Server Processor
     
  13. Livewyre

    Livewyre n00b

    Messages:
    13
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
  14. jhhack

    jhhack Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    173
    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2003
    Thanks, I picked up the 1231 and its working great. I appreciate it.
     
    Livewyre likes this.
  15. Livewyre

    Livewyre n00b

    Messages:
    13
    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2016
    Glad I can help
     
  16. stinger608

    stinger608 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,415
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    I know this is an old thread, but I'm wondering if anyone has installed an i5-4690 in they're T20?

    I have come across the i5 pretty cheap and would like to install it in the T20 system but don't know if it would even support it.
     
  17. throbbingfetus

    throbbingfetus n00b

    Messages:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2016
    Hey man, just made an account to reply to you. Any CPU will work (within reason: Same Socket, Equal or less TDP), I have used Core i7 4770's and a Xeon v1231. Just make sure if you add a Xeon without integrated graphics you get some sort of GPU.
     
    stinger608 likes this.
  18. stinger608

    stinger608 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,415
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Thanks, man!

    I had actually did some research and found a Dell forum that confirms your statement.
     
    throbbingfetus likes this.