CPU for a home server?

t4keheart

Weaksauce
Hi guys,
So I'm looking to assemble a new pc for the purpose of a home server. Looking for recommendations for the CPU.
Obviously the market is currently leaning in favor of AMD when it comes to price for performance, so I've been looking primarily at AMD's offerings.

I'm right now looking at the Ryzen 3 3200, and the Ryzen 5 3400. If you have any other suggestions, I'm open to those as well.

The server will be acting primarily as a file server/NAS, and will be running Ubuntu server. But I am a net admin and a dev, so I will likely also make it a LAMP server, plex server, and will be using it as a seed box, among whatever else I feel like doing. I don't think I'll be needing dedicated graphics, so I will probably just stick with the onboard graphics provided by both.

Money is not a concern, but I don't like wasting money and don't want to buy anything that will be overkill for my needs.

So what do you think? Will the ryzen 3 be enough for me? Any other suggestions?
Thank you for reading.

Well yeah, I know... but I was wondering if anybody had anything to add- maybe another cpu that performs better for a similar price... things like that

The faster cpus don't have the apu. Cpu wise the best low end cpu atm is the 1600AF at 85 bucks, or the 2600x at 99 if you have a MC nearby. Btw I think that 2600x is gonna go on sale for 79 this weekend at MC.

The other option is to wait for the Zen2 apu to come out. Those will be in line with Ryzen 3 cpus and they are damn fast. Right now they will be released in the form of mobile chips but eventually we will see them in apu form.

https://www.notebookcheck.net/AMD-R...00-APUs-with-Zen-2-and-Vega-GPU.449815.0.html