Core i9 10980Xe

German Muscle

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 2, 2005
Messages
6,415
For my CPUs 4.8 seems to be about where you'd need sub ambient to keep going since the vcore required goes way up. I can run my 9800x at 5GHz but it gets toasty and I'd not run it there for a daily driver.


My Optimus foundation blocks actually work really well with mine, I have sub 10 C core spread on my 7980.
thats actually pretty solid. How you liking the block? Id be real happy with 4.8. What voltage?
 

CEO_OF_CBT

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 2, 2020
Messages
196
have anyone managed to find a stock for these cpus?

seems like cascade lake is nowhere to be found
 

E4g1e

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 21, 2002
Messages
7,225
Cascade Lake is not totally impossible to find. Micro Center did have limited stock in these CPUs, including the 10980XE. It's just that it's rare.
 

Grebuloner

Gawd
Joined
Jul 31, 2009
Messages
869
I suppose that intel is selling these chips at a loss now is why we're not seeing any stock of them

It's not a "loss" for Intel in the standard accounting sense, the profit margin is pretty good on their high end chips. It's more a loss in the sense that they can sell the same silicon for many thousands more to a datacenter as a Xeon, and as they're basically selling every chip they make, the incentive to have plenty of the cheap stuff for the rest of us is pretty low.

You can go to ShopBLT and reserve a position in line for one (they don't charge until they ship). However, they are receiving so few of them (and Intel keeps delaying shipping stock to them), that you may never get one before the next generation is released. I put my order in with them in February starting at position 78. We're on the edge of September and I'm now #4.

Edit: Just looked at their stock and it looks like they have the tray version in stock, right now. The main difference is a much smaller warranty and possible loss of support (it's OEM vs. Retail)
 

German Muscle

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 2, 2005
Messages
6,415
have anyone managed to find a stock for these cpus?

seems like cascade lake is nowhere to be found
This has been covered in this very thread already. You arent trying hard enough because as of right now this chip is in stock more then it ever has been.
 

cagoblex

n00b
Joined
Aug 28, 2020
Messages
12
Unless you are overclocking this chip otherwise I would say go with a LGA3647 Xeon. There are many interesting customized models of LGA3647 like the Amazon Xeon P-8124. You get 18C 36T running at 3.0GHz. And it has more memory channels, PCI-e lanes and features such as VMD. It's Turbos to 3.5GHz all 18 cores and 2.9GHz AVX512 all cores. You can buy a retail version on eBay for less the money than 10980XE. It does require a special BIOS however as these are stepping 3 instead of stepping 4 for regular Xeon Scalable chips. I can provide you with the BIOS if needed.
 

Dan_D

Extremely [H]
Joined
Feb 9, 2002
Messages
57,016
Unless you are overclocking this chip otherwise I would say go with a LGA3647 Xeon. There are many interesting customized models of LGA3647 like the Amazon Xeon P-8124. You get 18C 36T running at 3.0GHz. And it has more memory channels, PCI-e lanes and features such as VMD. It's Turbos to 3.5GHz all 18 cores and 2.9GHz AVX512 all cores. You can buy a retail version on eBay for less the money than 10980XE. It does require a special BIOS however as these are stepping 3 instead of stepping 4 for regular Xeon Scalable chips. I can provide you with the BIOS if needed.

If you are going to run an 18c/36t Intel at 3.0GHz with a 3.5GHz turbo, you might as well go with a Ryzen 9 3950X. The AMD competes fairly well with the Core i9-10980XE if you aren't overclocking the latter. Obviously, that only applies if you need to buy a motherboard as well. Certainly there are some outlying cases for the Intel over the AMD. If you are using AVX512 instructions or running the rare applications that can do something with the extra memory bandwidth. Very few desktop applications would leverage the extra memory bandwidth of the Xeon or the Core i9-10980XE.
 

bwang

Gawd
Joined
Aug 6, 2011
Messages
996
Unless you are overclocking this chip otherwise I would say go with a LGA3647 Xeon. There are many interesting customized models of LGA3647 like the Amazon Xeon P-8124. You get 18C 36T running at 3.0GHz. And it has more memory channels, PCI-e lanes and features such as VMD. It's Turbos to 3.5GHz all 18 cores and 2.9GHz AVX512 all cores. You can buy a retail version on eBay for less the money than 10980XE. It does require a special BIOS however as these are stepping 3 instead of stepping 4 for regular Xeon Scalable chips. I can provide you with the BIOS if needed.

No, please don't go do this; the 8124 and the 10980XE are completely different parts with different target markets. The 8124 is not available new and not available from reputable vendors, which it means it will never fly if you have a workstation someone else is paying for. It also has much worse turbo, which is a huge loss for mixed workloads or day-to-day responsiveness. The few available LGA3647 workstation boards are also really expensive ($500+); the server boards are severely lacking in connectivity and outside of the halo parts targeted at the W-3175X there are no boards with good BIOS tweaks or memory overclocking.

Now, don't get me wrong, I love secondhand server parts - my hypervisor box is a dual Cascade Lake on a Z11PA-D8 and my workstation is a EPYC Rome on a H11SSL. However, neither of these systems are ones I would recommend for the faint of heart - the Z11PA-D8 has the slowest POST speeds of any motherboard I've used and the H11SSL didn't really work with Windows out of the box. I also paid next to nothing for the parts; the Z11PA-D8 was on sale and the Cascade Lakes were $150 each. If I had to pay $600 for the board and $600 for each CPU I'd much rather just have bought a 3960X and a nice Threadripper board.
 

cagoblex

n00b
Joined
Aug 28, 2020
Messages
12
Well yeah you do need some knowledge with the LGA3647 CPUs. I just happen to have these motherboards and I also paid very little for those. But it all depends on your workload, in my opinion if you would think of getting a 10980XE at the first place, gaming will not be the only thing you do with the build. If that being the case then you can benefit from the extra features the Xeon would offer. But again you do need some knowledge with these in order to take full advantage of them.
 

lopoetve

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 11, 2001
Messages
30,115
Well yeah you do need some knowledge with the LGA3647 CPUs. I just happen to have these motherboards and I also paid very little for those. But it all depends on your workload, in my opinion if you would think of getting a 10980XE at the first place, gaming will not be the only thing you do with the build. If that being the case then you can benefit from the extra features the Xeon would offer. But again you do need some knowledge with these in order to take full advantage of them.

Eh, yes and no. The full Xeons waste a decent amount of overhead on the links for multi-socket connectivity (and interrupt handling for such), as well as NUMA spanning/etc. That cuts down on boost/etc, and adds heat. 10980 (or the W-3175) give you a lot of that performance back by cutting most of that (if not all) out. Now server builds? Yeah, have at it - especially 2nd hand parts for home. But I don't know if I'd build a workstation out of them unless I got them REAL cheap, or was doing it for the hell of it - and there are things that the other, new parts will still do better.
 

smoothmove

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 11, 2004
Messages
200
I just picked up one from Amazon had them for $817. I had Microcenter - begrudgingly- price match, so I have two. (My friend grabbed the second one.) I paired it with an EVGA X299 Micro from amazon for $115. So the price worked for me. I was going to go Ryzen or Threadrippper, but am kinda team Blue. They do run hot OC to 48 multiplier which gets up to 105 Celsius under full load with a Noctua NH-D15S, but temps drop to and idle at 35 celsius and at minor workload. I "upgraded" from a 10700k on an Asus Z490m-prime without any regrets. It is a deadend platform, but by the time I "need" to upgrade, it will be a couple of years. Unless I get the itch again.
 

D-EJ915

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 31, 2003
Messages
1,211
I just picked up one from Amazon had them for $817.
Dang you got lucky, I ordered one last week and they sent me a 10920X. I setup a return since they would not replace it and then noticed they went from 20 in stock to completely gone so I guess they pulled the listing, not sure. I also left a review saying Amazon sent me the wrong thing and they said it did not meet their community guidelines.

1600128206931.png
 
Last edited:

smoothmove

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 11, 2004
Messages
200
Dang you got lucky, I ordered one last week and they sent me a 10920X. I setup a return since they would not replace it and then noticed they went from 20 in stock to completely gone so I guess they pulled the listing, not sure. I also left a review saying Amazon sent me the wrong thing and they said it did not meet their community guidelines.

View attachment 279226
If you criticize them, they pull your complaint. They did it to me when I had a Corsair power supply recall issue and customer service problem. I submitted it twice and they posted it and then pulled it. I am still waiting on the Amazon CPU. I got mine from micro center. My friend will have to wait for UPS or disappointment. I am glad I went to micro center and had them price match mine. That way, I got one.
 

nealx01

Weaksauce
Joined
Feb 12, 2019
Messages
79
I just picked up one from Amazon had them for $817. I had Microcenter - begrudgingly- price match, so I have two. (My friend grabbed the second one.) I paired it with an EVGA X299 Micro from amazon for $115. So the price worked for me. I was going to go Ryzen or Threadrippper, but am kinda team Blue. They do run hot OC to 48 multiplier which gets up to 105 Celsius under full load with a Noctua NH-D15S, but temps drop to and idle at 35 celsius and at minor workload. I "upgraded" from a 10700k on an Asus Z490m-prime without any regrets. It is a deadend platform, but by the time I "need" to upgrade, it will be a couple of years. Unless I get the itch again.

you played that one right! good stuff
 

smoothmove

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jul 11, 2004
Messages
200
you played that one right! good stuff
I am glad I didn't wait. amazon just delivered a Intel I9 10920x instead of the 10980xe. I don't know if I should just return it now or wait until the last minute, see if they get the 10980xe back in stock PRIME and then request a return/exchange. I want what I ordered. Amazon is getting like honey badger.

If only I ordered the 10920x and got a 10980xe- that would never happen.
 

M1ddleman

n00b
Joined
Feb 23, 2020
Messages
13
Hell, my slightly over-volted (haven't gotten around to setting it to default, and gigabyte gets creative) Z490 Aorus Master + 10700k @ 4.8 all cores hits 80c under full load - with dual 360MM and high-speed fans.

You might have to delid and direct die frame to lower your temps...thats what i did with the 7820x. Or you might have a cpu that doesnt OC well......My other pc has 9900k 4.8ghz and its sitting max 65c at like 1.26v (rainbow6 siege, roblox pc)

I lowered 7820x from 5ghz to 4.8ghz 1.21v till winter comes, and core0 pops up to 77-82c when loading java stock app or some game, and everyone else is 58c-63c. During idle core0 36c and everyone else is 30c-31c. Not sure if its a bad mount or i gotta lap this cpu diffusion barrier.

I ordered some micro aluminum oxide sandpaper to lap the cpu diffusion barrier...however i have second thoughts
of doing that as it is suppose to protect the CPU from other metals etc.
 

lopoetve

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 11, 2001
Messages
30,115
You might have to delid and direct die frame to lower your temps...thats what i did with the 7820x. Or you might have a cpu that doesnt OC well......My other pc has 9900k 4.8ghz and its sitting max 65c at like 1.26v (rainbow6 siege, roblox pc)

I lowered 7820x from 5ghz to 4.8ghz 1.21v till winter comes, and core0 pops up to 77-82c when loading java stock app or some game, and everyone else is 58c-63c. During idle core0 36c and everyone else is 30c-31c. Not sure if its a bad mount or i gotta lap this cpu diffusion barrier.

I ordered some micro aluminum oxide sandpaper to lap the cpu diffusion barrier...however i have second thoughts
of doing that as it is suppose to protect the CPU from other metals etc.
Meh. It’s the board overclock. Probably high on volts a bit, I’ll tweak later. Have to drain and fill when a 3080 comes, so I’ll fiddle more then. It’s fine at 80c under prime. Games stop at about 55-60c.
 

M1ddleman

n00b
Joined
Feb 23, 2020
Messages
13
Meh. It’s the board overclock. Probably high on volts a bit, I’ll tweak later. Have to drain and fill when a 3080 comes, so I’ll fiddle more then. It’s fine at 80c under prime. Games stop at about 55-60c.
Yeah true, once you tweak it, you can probably bring it where you want.
 
Top