Computer keeps shutting off

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by qtqc1, Jan 11, 2019.

  1. qtqc1

    qtqc1 n00b

    Messages:
    44
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Hello everyone. I put together a new PC and I'm having an issue with the computer shutting off by itself every so often. In order for the computer to power back on, I have to shut the main switch off and on at the back of the power supply. I have replaced the power supply and mobo already. The only thing I may be doing wrong, on the Mobo where the power plugs in at the top left, there is a 8 pin and 4 pin ports. I only have two 8 pin plugs. I have connected them this way below
    IMG_20190111_181520.jpg

    Here are my system specs. Everything is stock speed


    upload_2019-1-11_18-20-32.png
    upload_2019-1-11_18-21-0.png
    upload_2019-1-11_18-21-34.png
    upload_2019-1-11_18-22-0.png


    Any help is much appreciated.
     
  2. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,177
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    as long as they aren't pcie power that's fine. what are the rest of your specs/psu?
     
  3. qtqc1

    qtqc1 n00b

    Messages:
    44
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Hello, I originally had a brand new Corsair HX1000i. I also tried a brand new Corsair HX12000i. Still had same issue with both
     
  4. waderunner

    waderunner Gawd

    Messages:
    930
    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2013
    A short in the power on/off switch or cable? CPU overheating because heatsink/fan isn't fully seated?

    Also, try supplying CPU power just through the 8 pin plug with the CPU lead from your PSU (and leave the 4 pin fallow). I believe the additional 4 pin plug is used for extreme overclocking.
     
  5. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,177
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    what are the rest of the spec? board, drive, windows etc. have you tried running stock settings to see if its stable?
     
  6. qtqc1

    qtqc1 n00b

    Messages:
    44
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Hello,

    I am using an Asus VII Hero with windows 10 64. Bios was updated to latest on both mobo I tried. For my video I have an Asus 2080. Have a Samsung Nvme SSD 1tb drive for the main system Hs and a couple ssd samsung drives for drive D & E. for the main drive I have tried running the computer with just the one 8-pin plugged in and still the samew issue. On the Cpu I have a Corsair H150i and the temp is around 35c on idle. I stress test the cpu and under full load the temp goes to 50c. Is it possible it can be the memory?

    upload_2019-1-12_7-37-32.png

    187039_upload_2019-1-11_18-21-0.png
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2019
  7. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,177
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    put everything back to stock speeds and see how it goes.
     
  8. qtqc1

    qtqc1 n00b

    Messages:
    44
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Hello, not sure if if I mentioned, everything is at default, no oc
     
  9. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,177
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    make sure your chipset drivers are up to date and maybe try clearing your bios. you can also up your ram voltage a bit, .1v and manually set your timings instead of using xmp. see if that helps.
     
  10. Brian_B

    Brian_B 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,250
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Anything specific with the shutdowns? Running benchmarks, running games, doing anything in particular - or will just hard shutdown whenever it damn well pleases, including while idling?
     
  11. qtqc1

    qtqc1 n00b

    Messages:
    44
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Yes it will shut down at any time. Either at idle or gaming. When i do stress bench tests haven't had any restarts during the process. There was a chipset update this week. I updated but still same issue. I will try and play with the ram voltage and settings.
     
  12. qtqc1

    qtqc1 n00b

    Messages:
    44
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    This is what the he mobo looks like when it shuts off. The normal mobo lights are still on along with the start button
    IMG_20190112_192852.jpg
     
  13. Brian_B

    Brian_B 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,250
    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Try disconnecting the power switch from the case - you can still jump start the mobo (either short the pins out with a coin or screwdriver, or some mobos have a start button directly on the board).

    Bad power switch is more common that you'd think and it really makes you kick yourself when you've done a crapload of troubleshooting only to find out that's the problem.
     
  14. qtqc1

    qtqc1 n00b

    Messages:
    44
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    I thought it may be the switch also. But do you think it's the issue with 2 boards. When it shuts and it looks like my image above with the start light on and the couple of background lights on, the computer wont turn on again. I press the start switch or power button it does not respond. It won't turn on until I pull the main power cord out or turn of and on the main power switch on psu. I can take a video if needed
     
  15. CAD4466HK

    CAD4466HK [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,080
    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Usually when you have to unplug a PSU to get it to fire back up, means that something has tripped one of the protection modes on the PSU. OCP-OVP-OTP etc.
     
  16. Grebuloner

    Grebuloner Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    508
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2009
    ^This. Do you ever have problems with your power service from the utility? Do you have something that can tell you the voltage coming from the wall? I live in a rural area and for my first few years here it was not uncommon to have line voltage dip near 100v in winter which caused some problems in the house at the time, especially with some of my older PSUs that lacked active protection. If you've got mains supply problems, look into getting a sinewave UPS that will handle the rough power.
     
    Kyle_Bennett likes this.
  17. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,177
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    they have a point about the power and I would also tear it apart and bench test it outside the case, incase theres a short or bad switch or something.
     
    Kyle_Bennett likes this.
  18. qtqc1

    qtqc1 n00b

    Messages:
    44
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    I had another PC using the old 1000w PSU in the same spot and never had an issue. I had the same issue when I was puttiing the pc togehter in my work area. I have 4 pc's in my room and none of the other ones have issues. I do have a battery backup on it. I havent had a chance to try the ram timing and voltage yet. Will let everyone know, thank you for the help so far
     
  19. viivo

    viivo Gawd

    Messages:
    953
    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Tried changing the CMOS battery? I know modern UEFI doesn't rely on it for storage, but never know. CR2032 batteries are pretty common so if you have one lying around it wouldn't hurt to try. It would at least remove it from the troubleshooting list.

    I only suggest it because I had a similar problem that was related to batteries and BIOS chips.
     
  20. qtqc1

    qtqc1 n00b

    Messages:
    44
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    I can try, I have those batteries. As its my second board I tried, not really sure if it will be that. Doesnt hurt to try
     
  21. mr_zen256

    mr_zen256 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,233
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Have you tried without using the UPS battery backup?
     
  22. qtqc1

    qtqc1 n00b

    Messages:
    44
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    I tried without the UPS, same issue
     
  23. Azrak

    Azrak Gawd

    Messages:
    702
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2015
    I had a similar problem with my C7H w/2700X when I built it last May/June, but it only happened under high gaming/benchmark load when CPU and both 1080Ti's were under high power draw on a Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 850W PSU. I switched to the 1000W model and it stopped shutting off. See my sig for system specs.

    In your case I still think the MB is tripping the OC protection in the PSU. It may be some sort of incompatibility between the C7H MB and that particular model of PSU. The transient current spikes that the MB VRM creates (even under idle conditions) can cause the PSU to "think" there is an over current condition and power the system off to "protect" itself.
    The fact that you must unplug the PSU to reset things supports my theory.

    Try a different PSU brand. Stay with 1000W or higher rating.

    Edit: Also update your BIOS to the latest version (1201 released on Jan 4, 2019).
     
  24. qtqc1

    qtqc1 n00b

    Messages:
    44
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Hello, I updated the bios right after it came out. I always had good luck with the corsair power supplies. I actually hope its that as this problem is very frustrating. What power supply would you recomend?
     
  25. craigdt

    craigdt Gawd

    Messages:
    1,002
    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    I'm tuning into this one too because I'm having similar issues.

    How many minutes does your machine usually stay on before shutting off?

    If you let it just sit and idle, does it still shut down?
     
  26. qtqc1

    qtqc1 n00b

    Messages:
    44
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Yes it will just randomly shut off. It could be minutes or hours between shut offs. I have done stress tests and it runs fine during those and does not shut off
     
  27. jlaw

    jlaw n00b

    Messages:
    22
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    I have a similar issue but i can just power on again after it shuts down. I dont have to pull the plug. Sometime I get locked up / frozen in Windows. Then I have to pull the plug. Do you have freezes too or only shutdowns?

    The thing that befuddles me the most (in my case) is UEFI based stuff works fine. Mine also has the issue in Linux, so I don't believe it would be driver related.

    I just noticed that the thing we have in common is the corsair H150i... hmm...
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2019
  28. qtqc1

    qtqc1 n00b

    Messages:
    44
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Interesting about the H150. With the temps around 27c idle and high 40s in load, what would cause it to shut off? Maybe CPU fan?
     
  29. jlaw

    jlaw n00b

    Messages:
    22
    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2015
    I found this. Sounds like it may be a known issue. Going to open a support case.
     
  30. fightingfi

    fightingfi Look at Me! I need the attention.

    Messages:
    2,409
    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2008
    Long shot in the dark did you change the way windows turns your pc off under the power options ? 1 minute to never options...
     
  31. qtqc1

    qtqc1 n00b

    Messages:
    44
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Hello, yes I checked the power options. I also disabled all the temperature and fan warnings in bios. Maybe something was there but no it shut off again. I'm wondering if its a memory issue
     
  32. Kyle_Bennett

    Kyle_Bennett Editor-in-Chief HardOCP Staff Member

    Messages:
    52,066
    Joined:
    May 18, 1997
  33. qtqc1

    qtqc1 n00b

    Messages:
    44
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Even though I tried 2 PSU already? If so, what brand other than Corsair would work well?


     
  34. Kyle_Bennett

    Kyle_Bennett Editor-in-Chief HardOCP Staff Member

    Messages:
    52,066
    Joined:
    May 18, 1997
    Seasonic
     
    jlaw, HAL_404 and alxlwson like this.
  35. qtqc1

    qtqc1 n00b

    Messages:
    44
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    I have a new Seasonic on order. Will follow up with the results
     
  36. qtqc1

    qtqc1 n00b

    Messages:
    44
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Well I am 2 days in and so far no shut off. Most I went before was 1 day. Looks like it was the PSU. Anyone know why the 2 new Corsair PSU were shutting down? As I mentioned above, they were brand new 1000w and 1200w power supplies so it is puzzling
     
    pendragon1, admiralperpetual and jlaw like this.
  37. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,177
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    the ocp is to sensitive, triggered usually from a gpu power spike.