Compressed air can only do so much.

Joined
Jun 4, 2008
Messages
2,582
Smokers computers , I have one in my garage right now that was given to me. Won’t be brought in the house because of the smell. I’ll have to try some of these tricks on it , I’m giving it to my brother in law for Xmas so he can play some games. Also here is the last case I cleaned in my bathtub lol was a smokers computer and yes they got charged for 2 hours labor for me to clean it. Also is there keyboard before and after.
 

Attachments

daglesj

[H]ardness Supreme
Joined
May 7, 2005
Messages
5,164
I have told customers in the past "yes I do make value judgements on your home, based on the state of your laptop/desktop!"
 

jiminator

Capt Obvious
Joined
Feb 2, 2007
Messages
11,444
Smokers computers , I have one in my garage right now that was given to me. Won’t be brought in the house because of the smell. I’ll have to try some of these tricks on it , I’m giving it to my brother in law for Xmas so he can play some games. Also here is the last case I cleaned in my bathtub lol was a smokers computer and yes they got charged for 2 hours labor for me to clean it. Also is there keyboard before and after.
put everything in the dishwasher, should clean up nicely. just let it dry for a couple weeks.
 

Spartacus

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 29, 2005
Messages
1,960
There was apparently a bug in the system. lol

I use one of those small AC powered handheld canister blowers to clean out customer computers.
Way stronger and cheaper than canned air. The only liquid cleaning I would use on electronics are
the products meant for that purpose.

One of my customers is an animal hospital. Cleaned out their servers one time and about died on
their server room floor from all the animal hair and dander clouds I was breathing. Took two Benadryl
caps and about 30 minutes later before I could breathe properly again. Not a fun day. lol
I use the face masks now.

ETA: I also take computers outside or into a warehouse or something rather than blow out the computers
inside of office or living spaces.


ETA: Removed pic after I looked at it again.... not a small dead cricket, just the way the chips look. lol
 
Last edited:

Zepher

[H]ipster Replacement
Joined
Sep 29, 2001
Messages
17,188
Had some spiders make a home in my gaming PC that runs 24/7.
IMG_3515.JPG
 

Repo79

n00b
Joined
Nov 30, 2019
Messages
34
I use the datavac and it works very well for us. No more having to buy canned air thats for sure
 

mnewxcv

[H]ardness Supreme
Joined
Mar 4, 2007
Messages
6,607
I just started using an air compressor last week. Not worried too much about moisture in the tank etc etc or whatever other downside there might be, I always drain the tank when done and I set it to 20psi to blow out computers and heatsinks. So far its been working like a charm.
 

Deadjasper

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 28, 2001
Messages
1,760
I just started using an air compressor last week. Not worried too much about moisture in the tank etc etc or whatever other downside there might be, I always drain the tank when done and I set it to 20psi to blow out computers and heatsinks. So far its been working like a charm.
I also use an air compressor. I set mine to full blast and have never damaged anything. Just gotta be careful not to spin the fans too fast.
 

mnewxcv

[H]ardness Supreme
Joined
Mar 4, 2007
Messages
6,607
I also use an air compressor. I set mine to full blast and have never damaged anything. Just gotta be careful not to spin the fans too fast.
I might try that, I have a fairly small tank and not sure if high pressure bursts or low pressure steady on is better. Will experiment :D
 

Deadjasper

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Oct 28, 2001
Messages
1,760
I have one of these. They blow mucho air and do a good job but the switch is garbage. The plastic ring that holds it in the housing broke in less than a year and I could not find a suitable replacement due to the curved housing. Ended up hot gluing it in place. While this works it's a bit unsightly.
 

Zepher

[H]ipster Replacement
Joined
Sep 29, 2001
Messages
17,188
A client wanted to put Windows 10 on this machine I built them around 11 years ago but when I looked at the specs, I said we should build a new machine.
this one is an Intel E6200 or E6400 with 2GB DDR2 ram and the board only has 2 Dimm slots.

It's also really dirty inside, don't think it's ever been cleaned out.

IMG_5418.JPG


IMG_5420.JPG
 

mnewxcv

[H]ardness Supreme
Joined
Mar 4, 2007
Messages
6,607
A client wanted to put Windows 10 on this machine I built them around 11 years ago but when I looked at the specs, I said we should build a new machine.
this one is an Intel E6200 or E6400 with 2GB DDR2 ram and the board only has 2 Dimm slots.

It's also really dirty inside, don't think it's ever been cleaned out.

View attachment 223477

View attachment 223476
dat aluminum case tho
 

Zepher

[H]ipster Replacement
Joined
Sep 29, 2001
Messages
17,188
good call. i'd reuse that sweet case though.
I bought them a new case so I should be able to keep this old Lian Li case for myself.
I also have an E8600 processor and have to pull some DDR2 ram from another PC, so I should be able to upgrade this old PC and make a decent classic XP machine.

this is the new setup in a temp case I had on hand as the new one comes Sunday.

IMG_5438.JPG
 
Last edited:

iroc409

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 17, 2006
Messages
1,290
Smokers computers , I have one in my garage right now that was given to me. Won’t be brought in the house because of the smell. I’ll have to try some of these tricks on it , I’m giving it to my brother in law for Xmas so he can play some games. Also here is the last case I cleaned in my bathtub lol was a smokers computer and yes they got charged for 2 hours labor for me to clean it. Also is there keyboard before and after.
That's not "just a smoker". Props to you for doing it for only two hours labor. I don't think I would have even touched it :D. I worked in a local large tire chain, and even their re-manufacturing plant didn't get gear that dirty.
 

Zepher

[H]ipster Replacement
Joined
Sep 29, 2001
Messages
17,188
Tore it apart and cleaned it pretty good.
Board supports the Core2Duo E8600 processor as well as 4GB DDR2 Dimms I had bought for another system that didn't work in it.


IMG_5487.JPG
 
Top