Commodore USA to Revive Commodore 64

Discussion in 'HardForum Tech News' started by MajorDomo, Aug 28, 2010.

  1. MajorDomo

    MajorDomo [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    74,979
    Joined:
    May 9, 2000
    A trip back in time is about to happen and the time machine is a Commodore 64. For those of us old enough to remember the original, this will look and feel like the real deal.

     
  2. Azhar

    Azhar Fixing stupid since 1972

    Messages:
    18,875
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2001
    Ugh, why the Atom? It might as well have the original CPU. At least put a Core i3 in it.

    I know the ION's a nice GPU but I'm not familiar with the ION2.
     
  3. Elledan

    Elledan [H]ard|DCer of the Month - April 2010

    Messages:
    15,885
    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2001
    An ARM Cortex-A9 CPU would have been much cooler than an anemic Atom...
     
  4. dogbyte_13

    dogbyte_13 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,485
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Kinda cool i guess, but i hope it has a commie 64 emulator built in, kinda like a linux quick boot option.
     
  5. ICOM

    ICOM 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,194
    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    For what purpose?
     
  6. Squelch Oil

    Squelch Oil n00b

    Messages:
    6
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Sweet... Load "*",8,1
     
  7. SuperSubZero

    SuperSubZero 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,589
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2000
    I'm not sure if I want the authentic C64 keyboard (note: the US C64 used a UK keyboard layout) or if they should make it more like a US PC keyboard.

    I used various Commodores from 1982 to 1991. Even now, to type 'LOAD "*",8,1' my fingers instinctively want to go where the keys on the Commodore were, rather than where they are on a PC keyboard.
     
  8. JimmiG

    JimmiG 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,429
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    I started out with a C64 but later moved on to Amigas (A500 and A1200). The A1200 was pretty expandable for its time and considering its size, I fitted a 68030 CPU at 50 MHz and added 16MB RAM (18MB total) and a 1GB hard drive as well as an external CD-ROM. It originally came with a 15 MHz CPU, 2MB of RAM and no hard drive, only a floppy drive.

    It looked damn good too. I would almost have bought a modern PC modded into the A1200 case. It came with a proper keyboard, unlike the C64.
     
  9. Spare-Flair

    Spare-Flair [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,471
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    What mechanism was the original Commodore keyboard? Mechanical or rubber dome?
     
  10. stealthy123

    stealthy123 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,149
    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2005
    I had a vic 20 then a c64 then I had every amiga model till they went under.

    I loved me some commodore back in the day.
     
  11. RumpleForeSkin

    RumpleForeSkin Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    228
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    do want.. hehe look what's been on my sig forever now
     
  12. michael.pa2

    michael.pa2 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,998
    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2006
    Other than the nostalgic value,I don't see much purpose in it. The real appeal of the C64 was the games,and anyone can play those on emulators.
     
  13. Maximuss

    Maximuss Gawd

    Messages:
    740
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    POKE 808,345 Speccy owns C64!11
     
  14. riot8ap

    riot8ap [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,509
    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2003
  15. Stoly

    Stoly [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,413
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Those specs would make it a nice htpc.

    But as much as I loved my C-64 and C-128, I really don't think I'd get one, unless its cheap.

    I wonder if the optical drive comes in a 1541 enclosure.
     
  16. FSCDiablo

    FSCDiablo Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    215
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    I've still got a C64, a TI99/4a, a couple Atari 2600's, and a Vectrex in the closet. Also a small stack of PC mags from back then. I really should clean out the closet more often.....
     
  17. Oldie

    Oldie Mean Old Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    21,789
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Colecovision or GTFO :p
     
  18. FSCDiablo

    FSCDiablo Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    215
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    I don't what happened to my ol' 1541. Disk I/O sounded more like it was grinding every disk into shreds than just accessing the media. The sounds of youth.
     
  19. wrangler

    wrangler 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,929
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    I used to type in a com program from memory on a C64. It was my main terminal for my ham packet radio operations. I remember visiting flea markets looking for a tape player so didn't have to type that damn program in everytime I had to turn it off or some BBS locked it up.

    Good times...
     
  20. FSCDiablo

    FSCDiablo Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    215
    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2003
    My rich friends had the Colecovision... Us common folk had Atari's :(
     
  21. Jack Hammer

    Jack Hammer Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    403
    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2004
    I do hope the access times are better these days. :) My 1541 had times you could measure in days...
     
  22. Squelch Oil

    Squelch Oil n00b

    Messages:
    6
    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Anyone remember having to open that damn 1541 drive up and realign the heads? It was so frequent on mine I just kept the top off and a screw driver handy.
     
  23. Agent_N

    Agent_N Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    477
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Wait, what?! Commodore is still in business?!?!
     
  24. DeathPrincess

    DeathPrincess [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    18,205
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    Shouldn't it have a tape drive/floppy something? Blu ray just jars with the old ass computer concept. Maybe they could be disguised as vinyl
     
  25. sfsuphysics

    sfsuphysics I don't get it

    Messages:
    13,749
    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    You know what might be sweeter, and probably more profitable in the long run, don't sell a computer, sell a case that looks like a computer, hell you can have the old 1541 disc drive as a CD/HD holder.

    Then anyone can stick whatever micro-ATX board they can get their hands on in there.
     
  26. Maximuss

    Maximuss Gawd

    Messages:
    740
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2010
    I had a Coleco Gemini.
    It played Atari games as well!
     
  27. meatfestival

    meatfestival [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,767
    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Why can't they let Commodore die with dignity... this must be the millionth attempt to revive the C64.
     
  28. Spare-Flair

    Spare-Flair [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,471
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    No it's not, it's just been random companies buying up the namesake over the years and not producing anything meaningful from it.

    This was the last Commodore64 computer from these guys, just a rebranded Taiwanese laptop without a screen deal with a C64 sticker slapped onto it:

    [​IMG]
     
  29. Tolyngee

    Tolyngee [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,516
    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    All I remember Coleco having was Zaxxon (cool though) and Donkey Kong? There was also some bomber game that looked cool to a very young kid in 1983, but I think that may have actually have been an Intellivision...

    I had an Atari... I just remembered being envious as I seemed to only have access to about 20% of the games my C64 friends seemed to all have. I was thrilled when I got to go over to their place to play some games! No one ever wanted to come over and play mine... :(

    But, unlike my friends, I could actually program my Atari... The 6502 was a fun chip...
     
  30. MrLonghair

    MrLonghair [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,764
    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2004
    As long as they replicate (adding windows & menu keys of course) the keyboard in look and feel and sound.
     
  31. Monkey34

    Monkey34 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,059
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2003
    Heh. I wish I still had my C64. I had that, 2 1541 drives, dot matrix printer, expansion cards, and a boatload of games and programs. I actually ended up throwing it all in the trash.:mad:

    oh well:rolleyes:
     
  32. MacLeod

    MacLeod [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,618
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2009
    Ah man, I do so remember my Commodore 64 and 1541 disc drive. I actually had the "datasette" first but got the disc drive the next Christmas.

    One on One with Larry Bird and Dr J and Summer Games were the first games I ever played on there.

    The ORIGINAL Wolfenstein was on C64 too.
     
  33. Hallis

    Hallis [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,558
    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    I'm barely old enough to remember this. My older brother had one. I'll be looking forward to seeing what they come up with. If it's an Atom/Ion combo then it shouldn't cost much at all.
     
  34. DeathPrincess

    DeathPrincess [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    18,205
    Joined:
    May 15, 2010
    It has windows keys?
     
  35. Sly

    Sly [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,747
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    What does the '64' stand for?
     
  36. JimmiG

    JimmiG 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,429
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2008
    64 kilobytes of RAM :)
     
  37. Oldie

    Oldie Mean Old Administrator Staff Member

    Messages:
    21,789
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    The original C64 shipped with 64kb of RAM.
     
  38. acidrain97

    acidrain97 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    217
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2007
    I still have a working C16 /w tape drive and with working tapes.

    Does anyone remember GEOS for the C64? Yeah Windows for the commodore if you even want to call it that. Brings back so many memories. One of these days I'll fire up my C64 and play a game of Test Drive. That was fun.
     
  39. termite

    termite [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,904
    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2004
    Awesome, now where did I put that Arctic Fox disk......
     
  40. Sly

    Sly [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,747
    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Hard to believe you used to be able to fit an OS and application in 64k:eek: