Command and Conquer remastered

SvenBent

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Messages
3,319
na h im fine palyign the like ti was
red alert looks fine at 1600x1200 except for the maps that was less than 1200pixels wide
 

FighterAce124

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Mar 5, 2006
Messages
5,011
Im also perfectly fine continuing to play the classic Red Alert that was "updated" by third party to work on Win 7/10 and still have multiplayer. It displays at 1920x1200 if the map is big enough and it works and looks perfectly fine. Its also free. I continue to spend many hours playing it as I have for 20 years!
 

SvenBent

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Messages
3,319
Im also perfectly fine continuing to play the classic Red Alert that was "updated" by third party to work on Win 7/10 and still have multiplayer. It displays at 1920x1200 if the map is big enough and it works and looks perfectly fine. Its also free. I continue to spend many hours playing it as I have for 20 years!

Ohh which update is this ?
 

Aireoth

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 12, 2005
Messages
6,016
It’s going to be garbage like the last couple of times they’ve tried this.
 

M76

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 12, 2012
Messages
13,139
If they put as much effort into the remaster as into this video, then it definitely will be garbage.
And it seems not much effort was put into it. Does it even have a new engine? it doesn't seem so. Will it have new path finding and ai? Doubtful at this point.
 

Krenum

Fully [H]
Joined
Apr 29, 2005
Messages
18,865
Looks fine to me, I know there's a lot of hate for EA, but I have faith that this will turn out good because the original Westwood developers are involved.
 

Aireoth

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Oct 12, 2005
Messages
6,016
it won't because its a remaster rather than just the original game with Win 10 functionality and modern resolution options.
 

BassTek

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 13, 2002
Messages
6,386
I'll get it. Command and Conquer and Warcraft 2 were my intro to RTS games and honestly I never really enjoyed many games in that genre after being addicted to those two franchises. I played a ton of Red Alert, that one was probably my favorite.

It sounds like they are basically keeping the core game with better visuals so hopefully they won't screw it up.
 

Master_Pain

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 13, 2007
Messages
4,945
Wake me up when they remaster (correctly) C&C Generals & Zero Hour. So many wasted hours as a youth right there and I'd love to do it all again.

And the netcode on some of the maps. Some maps were unplayable in MP.
 

jimthebob

Gawd
Joined
Mar 23, 2013
Messages
834
And the netcode on some of the maps. Some maps were unplayable in MP.

Very true, especially custom maps. I remember finding some maps that looked absolutely epic only come to find out the AI or some other glitch prevented them from working.
 

Master_Pain

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 13, 2007
Messages
4,945
Very true, especially custom maps. I remember finding some maps that looked absolutely epic only come to find out the AI or some other glitch prevented them from working.

I'm not talking about bugs/glitches. Some maps caused horrible lag, others would outright crash if you attempted them. It was terrible in Generals, but in CnC3, about 1/2 the maps were unplayable in MP.
 
Joined
Apr 29, 2002
Messages
2,667
Where I wish it was RA2 or Generals 2, I will support this effort indeed. Old school feels will flow playing this. May need to pull the USRobotics 56k modem out for a coaster.
 

horrorshow

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 14, 2007
Messages
8,468
The DOS version? The win version you should have had a 56k by then.

DOS for the original (can't forget that install sequence!)

For Red Alert, I used Windows and the then-amazing 640x480 in-game resolution....

- Played them both on a Pentium 90, 16mb RAM, some 1mb Diamond video card, 28.8k USRobotics Sportster, and a HUGE 1.2GB hard drive ;)
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2013
Messages
3,767
DOS for the original (can't forget that install sequence!)

For Red Alert, I used Windows and the then-amazing 640x480 in-game resolution....

- Played them both on a Pentium 90, 16mb RAM, some 1mb Diamond video card, 28.8k USRobotics Sportster, and a HUGE 1.2GB hard drive ;)

Ah I played both the DOS & win versions of the original. More multi on the win version using Westwood's service. I can't even recall what my PC specs were then.
 

M76

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 12, 2012
Messages
13,139
One of the games We played at the first lanparty I hosted was command and conquer. We still used coax network back then, none of this UTP rubbish. No need for switches, just connect all PCs in a series.

At this point I think they should give me the remaster for free, I paid for it 3 times already. Once in 1995, once for the First Decade retail collection, and then for the ultimate collection on origin.
 

hity645

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 11, 2005
Messages
7,876
If they're smart, RA2+Yuri's Revenge is already in the pipeline!

I was pretty good at RA2 back in the day. I remember once at a LAN party it was four vs. me. Slaughtered my friends. Can't begin to count how many times I've purchased RA2, CnC collection, etc.
 

Master_Pain

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 13, 2007
Messages
4,945
I was pretty good at RA2 back in the day. I remember once at a LAN party it was four vs. me. Slaughtered my friends. Can't begin to count how many times I've purchased RA2, CnC collection, etc.

You play the Mental Omega mod?
 
Top