Cheap software-based CAT6 cable analyzer/certifier?

Joined
Aug 8, 2010
Messages
832
Are there any software products that will allow you to use a computer to do CAT6 cable testing/certification? The hardware products are a bit out of my reach at $1,000 to start.
 

Skud

Gawd
Joined
Sep 4, 2002
Messages
587
The closest i've seen is bundled with intel NICs. Go into the adapter properties and you can do a cables test along with testing the cable frequency response and quality. Doesn't give much information other than a slider that ranges bad to good. Also gives an estimated cable length.

Riley
 

ghost6303

2[H]4U
Joined
Jul 24, 2004
Messages
2,291
the problem with this is that you need some sort of transceiver on the other end of the cable that knows to bounce the signal back to the tester. a regular hub or switch doesnt know to do this. the Intel software (last i saw) only gives a "good" or "no good" analysis. a real cable tester will tell you if pairs are swapped, a single wire is broken, latency is too high, etc.

if you had two network cards in your PC and plug a cable between them, it should be possible to get a piece of software that tests all of that, but i have not seen something like this.
 

stiltner

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Mar 16, 2000
Messages
10,669

compslckr

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 5, 2002
Messages
8,910
That POS paladin does not test quality at all. All it will tell you is if you punched down the wires in the same order on both ends.


droooool...... http://www.amazon.com/Fluke-CABLE-A...V6CI/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1298425481&sr=8-1

you can pretty easily get close to $20k if you start looking at fiber certification units http://www.amazon.com/Fluke-DTX-180...PI/ref=sr_1_15?ie=UTF8&qid=1298425481&sr=8-15

Don't forget fiber termination tools: http://www.google.com/products/cata...log_result&ct=result&resnum=1&ved=0CEoQ8wIwAA


We have the Fluke CableIQ at work, and to be honest it was a waste of $1,000. All it really does is glorified wiremap and distance estimation. It will not actually certify cables, or do in-depth performance test. If I was going back and purchasing a cable tester again, I would have requested something in the DTX series.

Here is the link to the CableIQ
http://www.amazon.com/Fluke-CABLEIQ...ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=hi&qid=1298425728&sr=1-1
 
Last edited:

Macco

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 15, 2010
Messages
148
We use the JDSU T-Berd 4000 at work, a bit cheaper then the Fluke models but still pretty expensive after adding in the modules to do Ethernet, Fiber, S/TDM, VoIP/IPTV testing. There's a lots of cheaper tools out there that will do wire mapping, tdr, etc - if you actually want to measure NEXT/FEXT etc you'll have to drop the money and buy a unit or have someone come in and do it.
 
Joined
Aug 8, 2010
Messages
832
Thanks a lot for your responses. It's frustrating that what used to be a simple do-it-yourself task now has such a high barrier to entry.
 
Top