Can't copy large files on Win 10

JoK

n00b
Joined
Feb 24, 2017
Messages
52
Hi,
I am puzzled with a situation I am facing on Win 10.

I have a virtual box file in an external drive (~160GB) and the main HD has 250Gb free space.

I try to copy the file to the HD. When the copying starts, a new file of the same size is created in the target location and copying starts. Eventually, the process fails because the HD runs out of space.

I have tried many ways to do this (e.g. cloning the VM) but the same incident occurs.

Anyone knows why this happens? I don't understand why this happens as there is more than enough space.

Thanks
 

KarsusTG

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 27, 2010
Messages
3,197
What B00nie said.

Also as a good rule of thumb, you don't want to run virtual machine hard drives on the same drive as your Host OS unless it is really fast. And even then, it's just better not to.
 

JoK

n00b
Joined
Feb 24, 2017
Messages
52
What B00nie said.

Also as a good rule of thumb, you don't want to run virtual machine hard drives on the same drive as your Host OS unless it is really fast. And even then, it's just better not to.
I've got a SSD and so far never had any probs. Why is it advisable to avoid?
 

KarsusTG

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 27, 2010
Messages
3,197
I've got a SSD and so far never had any probs. Why is it advisable to avoid?
Even with an SSD it constantly fights for I/O bandwidth. You can easily bring your windows to a crawl this way. This is especially true with windows 10 for some reason. Just make a 300 gb vm and load up a bunch of torrents, especially ones with loads of small files. Your windows system will feel like it's running on an atom cpu, even though it's actually the disk that is limiting it. This is still true even with NVME drives.
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoK
like this

JoK

n00b
Joined
Feb 24, 2017
Messages
52
Even with an SSD it constantly fights for I/O bandwidth. You can easily bring your windows to a crawl this way. This is especially true with windows 10 for some reason. Just make a 300 gb vm and load up a bunch of torrents, especially ones with loads of small files. Your windows system will feel like it's running on an atom cpu, even though it's actually the disk that is limiting it. This is still true even with NVME drives.
I see. But putting a VM in a mechanical HD is a bottleneck as well. So, better have a second SSD?
 

KarsusTG

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 27, 2010
Messages
3,197
I see. But putting a VM in a mechanical HD is a bottleneck as well. So, better have a second SSD?
Ya, almost always. This is especially true if you have a virtual drive that is set to expand as you need it (as 99% are) rather than per-allocating the entire space initially.
 

JoK

n00b
Joined
Feb 24, 2017
Messages
52
In my Dell laptop it is hard to squeeze a second ssd. Need to replace the battery. I haven't ever checked if possible to add a second one
 

JoK

n00b
Joined
Feb 24, 2017
Messages
52
Update to the efforts to copy the large file: Changing the Temp directories didn't help so I had to move some other files to external disks and then managed to copy the large file.
 

Col_Temp

n00b
Joined
Jun 1, 2020
Messages
41
Update to the efforts to copy the large file: Changing the Temp directories didn't help so I had to move some other files to external disks and then managed to copy the large file.
Yep that was probably a temp limit in there some way some how. Glad you got it done.

As part f the larger discussion. From what I have seen MS and many others have just gotten sloppy with their programming. Everything has multiple processes, sloppy memory management, and lots of junk on the disk. Add to that the security issues and you have a slower than it should be system. Seems like everyone feels they don't have to clean up the code or make it efficient since there is plenty of memory, plenty of drive space, and plenty of CPU time on today's computers.
 
Tags
windows 10
Top