Can someone recommend a modem/router for Comcast/Xfinity?

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by UMASS, Jan 16, 2018.

  1. UMASS

    UMASS Gawd

    Messages:
    1,002
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Hi All. I moving & I can't use DirecTV anymore. I'm stuck with Comcast. I called them the other day & they now charge $14.00 a month for their modem/router! That's insane. Any insight would be great appreciated. Thanks All!
     
  2. jiminator

    jiminator Capt Obvious

    Messages:
    11,226
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2007
    Fuck comcast. That is what I mainly came to say.

    But if you have a modem then connect it and sign up through it. Then call customer service and bitch about the charges every month until they remove them. They are not doing anything special with the signal, any docsis 2.0 or 3.0 should work.
     
  3. UMASS

    UMASS Gawd

    Messages:
    1,002
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    I really was looking for a manufacturer & model # I have no clue. Yes...Comcast does suck ass no question.
     
  4. GoldenTiger

    GoldenTiger 3.5GB GTX 970 Slayer

    Messages:
    17,884
    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Comcast has a compatibility list you will need to check against too. They will not activate anything not on it.
     
  5. wolfofone

    wolfofone Gawd

    Messages:
    697
    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2010
    Ask on the DSLReports comcast hsi forum. I havent been keeping up on what's recommended these days. What is the highest speed you can get / want and do you need an emta for voip service?
     
  6. ZeqOBpf6

    ZeqOBpf6 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    412
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    ARRIS SURFboard SB6183
    http://www.mbreviews.com/arris-sb8200-review/
    SB8200 looks good if you want Gigabit in the future

    I've read the sb6190 has some glitchy stuff in it that really ruins the experience and this was overall much more reliable.

    Router? Tons to choose from.

    Good job on not renting a modem. Don't ever do it. $10/month for life for a $70 modem. Maybe $120 for the modem-router combos, if you even want that. Just ISPs fleecing customers
     
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2018
    wolfofone likes this.
  7. Chas

    Chas [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,695
    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2005
    Which service are you going to be using?
    Standard cable or Gig Internet?

    Currently, in my area, for GigSpeed, they're using the Technicolor TC4400 which isn't available for purchase anywhere.
     
  8. marshac

    marshac [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,962
    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2003
    I have a netgear CM1000 which is DOCSIS 3.1 compatible - it's future-proof for at least a few years and has been problem free. CM500 is only DOCSIS 3.0 compatible- that's what's in use now, but you might miss out on gigabit cable speeds when (if) they ever come out. I would avoid anything with the Intel Puma 6 chipset.
     
    wolfofone likes this.
  9. Vengance_01

    Vengance_01 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,518
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Don't get the netgear combo items. Wi-Fi is weak. Just get a surfboard 16x4 modem and your favorite router and wifi combo. Or go for broke and get unifi AP, separate router and 3.0 16x4 modem.
     
  10. Susquehannock

    Susquehannock 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,937
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2018
  11. Vengance_01

    Vengance_01 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,518
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
  12. Susquehannock

    Susquehannock 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,937
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Good point. Guess we need to know the OP's intended plan. As for myself, there was little point in that much bandwidth with 25mbps service.
     
  13. acascianelli

    acascianelli [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,683
    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    I chose to seperate my equipment as much as possible. Seperate modem, firewall, switch, access point.

    For a modem, I've had really good luck with my Arris SB6183. Hasn't given me any problems, and setting it up with Comcast was very easy.

    My Firewall/Gateway is a PCEngines APU2 running pfSense. I have a DLink DGS-1100-16 behind that for a switch, and a couple of Ubiquiti UAP-LR's for access points.
     
    wolfofone likes this.
  14. Absalom

    Absalom Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    463
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Comcast's supported modem list isn't what I'd call comprehensive. There are modems (even bleeding edge ones) not on the list that still work, so ymmv.

    The lowly SB6121 still works even if it's no longer on Comcast's supported list. Despite its peasant 4x4, I'm getting reliable 100mbps speeds.

    Might be a worthy investment for OP to jump in on the DOCSIS 3.1 bandwagon. If anything, to future proof yourself.
     
  15. beyonddc

    beyonddc Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    379
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2002
    Just a reference point. I am currently using Arris SURFBoard SBG6700-AC for my Comcast Broadband Internet. It is a modem/router combo.

    The router function is disabled because I am using EdgeRouter X as my router.
     
  16. UMASS

    UMASS Gawd

    Messages:
    1,002
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
  17. Vengance_01

    Vengance_01 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,518
    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Looks nice but I never liked the all in one gateways with wifi. Dedicated APs are the way to go. Should pay for its self in 16 to 18 months
     
  18. SamirD

    SamirD [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,287
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2015
    I have two sb6190s and have been running them for over a year with comcast's service. Both pass the dslreports puma 6 test with flying colors. The whole puma thing is completely blown out of proportion. And I'm using rdp 100% of time through these so any latency issues are something I would instantly see, but they're solid and stable.

    As far as if you did good with the one you bought--it's basically the exact same thing comcast gave us initially and works well even though it's a router/modem combo, but we have a small apartment so the wifi may not work so well in a house. But since it was cheaper than a standalone sb8200, I say you did pretty well.
     
  19. heman22union

    heman22union n00bie

    Messages:
    42
    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2013
    If it was me, I would return it and get a modem and a router that is separate. You will have better performance and less likely to have some security issues with it. If ARRIS decides to not patch a vulnerability with the hardware you bought, you are stuck with it and have to buy a new modem and router because of it. It is not uncommon to have a manufacture not provide security updates especially for consumer devices. If you bought 2 separate devices and later you find out the router you bought is vulnerable, you only have to patch/replace your router, not an all in one router/modem. On top of that you don't have as much of control on opening ports or disabling UPnP as you would on a separate router setup.

    It also looks like it has VoIP hardware in the unit too... Are you getting phone service through Comcast? Just seems like you are paying for stuff you aren't using and there is just more hardware to break or something to go wrong.