Broadband Declared A Basic Service In Canada

Discussion in 'HardForum Tech News' started by HardOCP News, Dec 22, 2016.

  1. Exavior

    Exavior [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,652
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    That isn't that unfair of a price. We do all of our own work and contract out nothing, it cost us about $2200 - $2400 per customer on average to get a connection to their house by the time you factor in electronics, fiber and all that. So for a company having you pay upfront to get all the money now instead of over the next 30 years that $2500 probably isn't far off from what it is costing them. I know that people don't like that number, but that is about average for a per house past cost to do a FTTH buildout.

    We can't answer that question for you. It depends on what you are doing and how many people are in your house. Personally 25 is fine for me also. I notice issues at times with my Xbox one taking all possible bandwidth so I have trouble downloading games and streaming. More bandwidth would make it faster for me to download games, but as a single person that amount is fine for me even with 4k streaming. That said I know people with 5 people under one roof where that is not even close to enough. But it all depends on the user. Just like not everyone needs a mini van but some do.
     
  2. Exavior

    Exavior [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,652
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    or to word your post here differently. Canada is the same way as what I just said for the USA. ILECs are regulated CLECs are not.
     
  3. Bloodystumps

    Bloodystumps n00b

    Messages:
    32
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    This statement "Broadband Declared A Basic Service In Canada" makes me feel there is a BUTT coming in the near future and it will some how cost me....
     
  4. deaedius

    deaedius Gawd

    Messages:
    945
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2014
    At least until you can get gigabit for 49.99.....
     
  5. HockeyJon

    HockeyJon [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,067
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2014
    Everyone is talking about the remote areas of Canada. I agree, they should have broadband access, but what blows my mind is why I still drop cell phone calls on the 407 highway in Canada's largest and densest urban area. Seriously, we can't even get quality service where people actually live. It's pathetic. Reed Hastings called Canada's Internet "3rd World" a few years ago and everyone here got all offended for some reason. He's completely correct.
     
  6. B00nie

    B00nie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,841
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    That would make no sense when LTE works great and is much cheaper.
     
  7. B00nie

    B00nie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,841
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    The point is that there are optic lines criss-crossing this country but due to legal reasons many of them are kept secret. People can literally sit on a line and the operator denies its existence and then charges you for kilometers of line pull if you try to order a connection. I'm not going to risk paying thousands for nothing especially when full speed LTE is awesome in everything but gaming latency.
     
  8. Exavior

    Exavior [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,652
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    But that fiber all has different uses and you don't mix those uses unless are you a dumb ass with no idea of what you are doing or just don't care about doing things the correct way. Which sadly due to lack of knowledge on the subject you are in the first category. At a minimum you have 2 category of fibers. Trunk fiber that goes between your equipment, and distribution going out to your customers. These should be completely separate fibers so that when working on getting new customers turned up you are not working in the same group of fibers that you use to feed everything. Last thing you want to do is knock down an entire city or 10 because you have to open a splice case to cut a new customer in. So yes there might be trunk fiber in your area but that can't be used to go to your house. Which is what would be going coast to coast. So the real question you need to look at is currently is there distribution fiber near you, which if the cost you are quoted is $2500 then the answer is yes, there is distribution fiber near you. It cost between $40,000 USD to $55,000 USD per mile to put in fiber outside of cities. So for the conversion that is $24,800 USD to $34,100 USD per km to put in. Although this is the average for the USA going through dirt, sand or clay or going all areal. That is no for people drilling through rocks or for something like Canada where they are going to have a few more hurdles. Boring machines used here require it be above 20F (-6.6C) in order for them to function, you also need the ground to not be frozen solid. So there is going to be a much smaller window in some areas to get anything So if they actually need to run a new km of fiber and were going to pass that cost on to you in full, you would be getting a bill for at least $25,000 USD to get service.
     
    Deleted member 93354 likes this.
  9. Todd Walter

    Todd Walter Gawd

    Messages:
    603
    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
    Only 2500? You should have jumped on it. I've had Rogers quote me 18,000 to come up the street to our plant in Barrie before! (and that was flippin' cable, not FO).
     
  10. Todd Walter

    Todd Walter Gawd

    Messages:
    603
    Joined:
    May 10, 2016
  11. tetris42

    tetris42 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,518
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Well, best business practices for owners / shareholders. That's often not the same thing as the best practices for the workers, customers, environment, resource allocation, general safety, etc.
     
    DKS likes this.
  12. DKS

    DKS Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    467
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2006
    You mean the alleged hockey team?
     
  13. DKS

    DKS Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    467
    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2006
    Very true. We were a fibre desert here and all of a sudden Bruce Telecom is building out FTTH. Bell seems to be hinting at least FTTN if not FTTH.
     
  14. Exavior

    Exavior [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,652
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    which in this day and age not going at least fiber to the node is hard. There are still a few bounded T1 or bounded VDSL options but they aren't the greatest. The stuff I have right now doing ADSL is feed by fiber.. Only an OC3 but it is still fiber...and 20 years old. So wouldn't be impressed by FTTN. Now FTTC would be a fair halfway point where they get fiber close to your house and feed G.Fast or VDSL to everyone with say 1000 to 2000 feet of the box. To give faster speeds with xDSL technology. It is faster than a full fiber to the home rollout and a little cheaper. You are still running fiber but don't have ONTs and new drops to every customer.
     
  15. PanzeR-

    PanzeR- Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    445
    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2006
    Considering how long it takes to lay down all of this, they might be "futureproofing".
    North of the 51'' parallel 20mbps is 150$ per month. Quite higher than the 40$ 10mbps lol. But then again, the closest town is 250km away.
     
  16. B00nie

    B00nie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,841
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    You're the dumbass. Just today there was a news report of a local businessman who operated his business from his own residence. He was told multiple times from all the operators that it was pretty much impossible to get him a fiber. The operator quoted 195 000 euros to pull the fiber to his house. After he excavated the cables out himself, turns out the optic cable from TWO different operators ran 2 meters from his post box. The installation took two hours and cost him a couple hundred bucks.

    From your defensive and aggressive position I gather you're a part of the operator scam. Shame on you.
     
  17. Exavior

    Exavior [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,652
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    I work for an ISP yes. However I also work for the department in charge of installing equipment and making sure it stays up and running. If I put fiber between my boxes that is all it is for. I run separate fiber going to customers. And the smart way is to run both at the same time as the most expensive part is doing the trenching. So putting in a second duct or a second fiber is fairly cheap. We did it the other way once. Had to knock service down to an entire city to give one new customer service because we had to cut the fiber and splice him in and the only way to do that was to knock down the entire city. Does that seem like a smart way to do that to you? To have to knock down service to an entire city every time you turn up a new customer? We called that a horrible design, as most people would and reran our fiber through the area and fixed that. The smart way to plan any network is to keep the fiber between nodes separate from that going to your customers. that way if you need to knock people down to add more customers into the network you are only knocking down that leg and not everyone. If a person with an understanding of networking plans out your network you end up with separate fibers, if somebody with no knowledge of anything decides on how you should do it then you end up knocking out entire cities every time you need to splice in a new customer.
     
  18. B00nie

    B00nie [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,841
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2012
    I really don't care about your work problems. The fact is that the case I just presented to you is not unique and a fine example of what I was writing about in the post you started calling me names for.
     
  19. Exavior

    Exavior [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,652
    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2005
    That isn't my work's problem. That is what happens when you try to break into a fiber that isn't designed to supply customers. I was giving you an example of what happens when you try to do what you suggest is how it should work. Which is about on par with saying that you should never run new cat5 to locations but instead should just find the nearest one and cut that in half.
     
  20. Draax

    Draax [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,085
    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    But did you have to be a douche bag about it?

     
  21. ThecknoDecker

    ThecknoDecker n00b

    Messages:
    41
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2003
    Well by day I'm mostly outside (or inside doing maintenance)
    But at night I like watching TV/movies