Board POSTs Twice

Vegas P11

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 16, 2005
Messages
1,487
I got my sig rig Oc'd to 3.45 and whenever I start from a cold boot all the fans spin up for a second then shutoff for a second then starts back up normally. CPU voltage is at 1.45. Memory is at 1410Mhz with a slight voltage increase to 1.6 (2.0 is max according to Patriot). If I reset CMOS it starts fine.
I did some searching and found a few threads that talk about Gigabyte boards doing this and some said not to worry about it. Any ideas?
 

novadaemon

Gawd
Joined
Aug 24, 2006
Messages
863
My Biostar board does that... don't know why. I know this doesn't help but I can't figure out if its something worth RMA'ing... Quick question, can your computer pull itself out of S3 sleep states ok?
 

BinarySynapse

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Feb 6, 2006
Messages
15,103
My Asus P5Q Pro has been doing that since I got it two years ago. It's been stable @ 3.4 this entire time. If everything else is working okay and it's otherwise stable, I wouldn't worry about it. It's probably something in the BIOS forcing it to restart to apply uninitiated settings... who knows.
 

spine

2[H]4U
Joined
Feb 4, 2003
Messages
2,686
My Asus P5QL-E does that if I turn off the power at the wall after shutting down.

If I shut down now, it would turn on 'normally'.
 

radaja

Weaksauce
Joined
Mar 31, 2009
Messages
126
all my gigabyte MB;s have this issue from a cold start.its like it starts and then rechecks and then starts up.
 

Vegas P11

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 16, 2005
Messages
1,487
My Biostar board does that... don't know why. I know this doesn't help but I can't figure out if its something worth RMA'ing... Quick question, can your computer pull itself out of S3 sleep states ok?

No, I just tried it and it wouldn't come outta sleep. It does when I have it at 3.1Ghz.
 

commodore

Limp Gawd
Joined
Dec 29, 2002
Messages
297
The double boot is normal for P35 based Intel boards. Its more like a self-test before the actual POST sequence. Some BIOS updates resolved this to normally boot, but i didn't update since the double boot never really bothered me.

Check with your motherboard manufacturer (maybe in their forum), they'll give you a better idea.
 

tuaarita

2[H]4U
Joined
Aug 10, 2008
Messages
2,512
My P5KC does that when I overclock to 3.6. Good to finally know it's nothing to worry about. :p
 

Vegas P11

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Dec 16, 2005
Messages
1,487
Yeah, I've checked on the MSI forums and they give their usual response. Clear CMOS and run at stock. Not [H]ard.
 

sirmonkey1985

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - July 2010
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Messages
22,230
most likely whats happening is the cold post is failing but the board automatically reboots and passes the test on a warm boot. my biostar board did the same thing. sometimes it would tell me it failed the cold boot due to the overclock but ran perfectly fine with the overclock after that.
 

TheGuyOnTheCouch

Returning Bad Trader
Joined
Feb 2, 2005
Messages
404
Your clockgen is setting to a different speed and rePOSTing the board each time.

This happens on a few boards.
 

p3sty

2[H]4U
Joined
Feb 22, 2006
Messages
2,501
My gigabyte board did that but it turned out to be a memory isssue
 

slayer9019

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 2, 2010
Messages
1,599
both rigs in my sig do that. Never understood why, but it does. Not OCed yet either on a fresh BIOS flash. No issues to report here.
 
Top