BAD GPU?

Discussion in 'Video Cards' started by antok86, Jul 13, 2018.

  1. antok86

    antok86 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,839
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    this is a zotac 1070 mini 8gb.


    sometimes this flickering shows up and sometimes if i alt tab so many times it goes away.
    is this a failing card?


    pls ignore yellow vertical line. thats monitor issues not gpu
     
  2. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,111
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    any oc? if so, back it off a bit. or if not, run ddu and reinstall the newest driver. see if it goes away. if it doesn't, use afterburner to bump voltage a bit. if it still persists, try it in another system. then if it still does it then its a dying card.
     
  3. antok86

    antok86 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,839
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    no OC that i know of. i have the latest nvidia drivers

    voltage while in fornite is showing 0.950v. there is no OC showing in afterburner. all of a sudden as i type this the flickering has gone away....very weird
     
  4. Krenum

    Krenum [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,333
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Artifacts.

    Have you swapped out your display cables yet?
     
    deaedius likes this.
  5. antok86

    antok86 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,839
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    no i had a 1060 in this system just put the 1070 to test it out. didnt have this issue with a 1060
     
  6. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,111
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    .95v under load sounds low. so maybe that's causing it. if you dont have it install afterburner and bump the voltage/power limit a bit. see if it goes up and if it helps at all.

    edit: I see you do have ab.
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2018
  7. deaedius

    deaedius Gawd

    Messages:
    757
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2014
    I was going to suggest this.
     
  8. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,111
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    that doesn't look like any bad cable ive seen.
     
  9. antok86

    antok86 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,839
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    notice its only items in the distance...the actual character does have artifacting
     
  10. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,111
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    bump the voltage and power limit 10%
     
    antok86 likes this.
  11. Stoly

    Stoly [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,705
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Believe it or not I had bad artifacting on my GTX1070Ti when gaming and it ended up being the HDMI cable. BTW the cable works just fine on my GTX1070, the Xbox360 and ShieldTV
     
  12. antok86

    antok86 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,839
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    how do i do this? i have afterburner and i see power limit but not the voltage. Power limit is at 100
     
  13. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,111
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    switch to the v2 or v3 skin in the options one of them should show the voltage slider.
     
    antok86 likes this.
  14. antok86

    antok86 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,839
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    ok cool i will try that. but i have noticed that when i see the artifacts is when the voltage is around 0.6 and the longer its on its starts to climb to 1v and then it goes away....there isnt any settings that is on the bios of the gpu correct?
     
  15. Krenum

    Krenum [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,333
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    I say just RMA the card if its still under warranty. Send them pictures of the artifacts and core clocks / temps as proof.
     
  16. antok86

    antok86 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,839
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    wish i could its a zotac card and im 2nd owner =(
     
  17. Nebulous

    Nebulous [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,364
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005

    Agreed. Also be sure to take pics of the card itself (fans/backplate/warranty sticker) to be sure they (Zotac) won't fuck you out of the warranty.

    If you're the 2nd owner ask the previous owner to help you out.
     
  18. antok86

    antok86 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,839
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    testing for a friend and apparently its from a sketch eBay seller that claims he had purchased this along with 200 other items from newegg and doesnt want to look through his invoices...
     
  19. Nebulous

    Nebulous [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,364
    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Crap, that's bad news. Dunno if Zotac would honor the warranty if you even sent them pics of the problem and not have a sales invoice/reciept. Maybe explaining the situation to a rep and keep your fingers crossed. Something along the lines of recieving the card as a gift?
     
    antok86 likes this.
  20. Krenum

    Krenum [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    13,333
    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Edit*

    Bad news antok86 :(
    http://www.zotacusa.com/Warranty.html
    Products must be purchased as new from an authorized ZOTAC reseller. Warranty only applies to the original purchaser of the product and cannot be transferred. Products purchased as secondhand or used, or from auction sites, do not carry any warranty.


    I've seen this problem happen when the RAM on a graphics card has issues & have experienced it myself with an older Ati card,

    I ran across this message on reddit while researching your issue OP, maybe an update to the cards BIOS will fix it, apparently there are voltage issues.

    right click open in new tab if the site doesnt load, not sure why its trying to load a media message**


    Link to Bios update **Warning! Please research how to update it** Probably just a .exe but research to make sure :)
    https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/187210/zotac-gtx1070-8192-160728
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2018
  21. _l_

    _l_ Gawd

    Messages:
    983
    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2016

    If you buy USED make sure you buy at least a GTX 1060 and make sure the brand is EVGA because they allow warranty transfer (it's based on the serial # which has the date of manufacture) and MAKE SURE YOU GET A COPY OF THE PURCHASE INVOICE FROM THE SELLER otherwise DON'T BUY IT.

    As of this write up a GTX 1060 will have at least 6 months to 1 year left on the warranty because it was released to market July 19, 2016
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2018
    antok86 likes this.
  22. antok86

    antok86 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,839
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    that looks like the release BIOS not an update
    thanks this might be the issue. it is using micron RAM. i will look into this
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2018
  23. antok86

    antok86 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,839
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    not seeing any dates to see if the firmware is newer than what i have
     

    Attached Files:

  24. {NG}Fidel

    {NG}Fidel [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,302
    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    You really shouldn't need to bump voltage on that card if its new.
     
  25. antok86

    antok86 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,839
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    i might have the newest bios already...so far i havent seen any artifacts again tho...hmmm
     
  26. pendragon1

    pendragon1 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,111
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2000
    that's why im suspecting a voltage problem. my 280x would have glitchy lines in low power 2d mode if I didn't bump the voltage a bit
     
  27. antok86

    antok86 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,839
    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2006
    i ended up reflashing even tho it appears to be the same version. since then no artifacting. will update as i do further tests
     
    Nebulous and pendragon1 like this.