ASUS ROG Strix X570-E Gaming MB $279.99 @ Amazon BF

thesmokingman

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
5,796
Limited Deal at Amazon for the ASUS ROG Strix X570-E MB. It just went live. Normally $330, so that puts it 20 less than even MC with their bundle discount (30).

ASUS ROG Strix X570-E Gaming ATX Motherboard with PCIe 4.0, Aura Sync RGB Lighting, 2.5 Gbps and Intel Gigabit LAN, WiFi 6 (802.11Ax), Dual M.2 with Heatsinks, SATA 6GB/S and USB 3.2 Gen 2

https://amazon.com/gp/product/B07SW8DQVL/

E3CCF0FF-25F2-4B77-8F46-58EE46F25766.jpg


This board has an EK Monoblock hitting retail soon as well.
 

Cap Rob

n00b
Joined
Jul 19, 2011
Messages
29
Got a question, is the price difference between the asus mobo and lets say the Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite Wi-Fi and the ASUS X570 TUF Gaming-Plus Wi-Fi , reason i ask is im upgrading from a 2500k intel and a Z68 Asrock board so needless to said is time for and upgraded I am planing on getting a 3900x later but for no i was looking in to a 3600x
 

thesmokingman

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
5,796
damn if only it has triple m.2
There are not enough lanes on the platform to support 3 m.2. off the cpu. This is not threadripper. Any x570 that has a 3rd m.2 is connected to the chipset.

Got a question, is the price difference between the asus mobo and lets say the Gigabyte X570 Aorus Elite Wi-Fi and the ASUS X570 TUF Gaming-Plus Wi-Fi , reason i ask is im upgrading from a 2500k intel and a Z68 Asrock board so needless to said is time for and upgraded I am planing on getting a 3900x later but for no i was looking in to a 3600x
This Strix-e is in a higher class than the other two you mentioned obviously since it has every bell and whistle. It's the cheapest of the ROG which has the same vrm setup of the top end CH line.
 

Cap Rob

n00b
Joined
Jul 19, 2011
Messages
29
There are not enough lanes on the platform to support 3 m.2. off the cpu. This is not threadripper. Any x570 that has a 3rd m.2 is connected to the chipset.



This Strix-e is in a higher class than the other two you mentioned obviously since it has every bell and whistle. It's the cheapest of the ROG which has the same vrm setup of the top end CH line.
There are not enough lanes on the platform to support 3 m.2. off the cpu. This is not threadripper. Any x570 that has a 3rd m.2 is connected to the chipset.



This Strix-e is in a higher class than the other two you mentioned obviously since it has every bell and whistle. It's the cheapest of the ROG which has the same vrm setup of the top end CH line.
Thx for the reply, just saw they got the 570 Taichi for 260.00 also i may just get the Taichi
 

MissJ84

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 22, 2009
Messages
2,057
Last edited:

thecold

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 12, 2017
Messages
407
I believe the master only disabled 2 sata ports if using the 3rd pcie slot.
 

MissJ84

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 22, 2009
Messages
2,057
I believe the master only disabled 2 sata ports if using the 3rd pcie slot.
I thought the same thing as I currently own the Master, but just looked at the Ultra manual and it indeed shows the same thing on page 21.

Edit - Or I suppose you're not wrong. I missed the note at the bottom"The M2C_SOCKET connector supports up to PCIe x2 SSDs only", which is really terrible. Thanks for making me feel even better about my decision to go with the Master.
 
Last edited:

thesmokingman

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
5,796
The last pcie slot is off the chipset with all the storage and connectivity, so it's all the same handicap any way we slice.
 

kirbyrj

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
25,507
I'm not sure exactly what the difference is between this and the $100 more expensive CH8 (Wifi). They look almost identical in feature set. I had the CH8 previously, but I definitely would have bought this at this price instead.
 

thesmokingman

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
5,796
I'm not sure exactly what the difference is between this and the $100 more expensive CH8 (Wifi). They look almost identical in feature set. I had the CH8 previously, but I definitely would have bought this at this price instead.
Yea, this. I got this board myself specifically because it was cheaper yet had all the same features and vrm setup. The only downside is the lack of a vrm block. But as it turns out EK is producing a monoblock for this board. I'm sure Asus is not too thrilled about it.
 

kirbyrj

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
25,507
Yea, this. I got this board myself specifically because it was cheaper yet had all the same features and vrm setup. The only downside is the lack of a vrm block. But as it turns out EK is producing a monoblock for this board. I'm sure Asus is not too thrilled about it.
The only thing I see that stands out is the onboard buttons on the CH8...hardly worth $100 IMO.
 

kirbyrj

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
25,507
Just FYI guys the Taichi got a 20 MIR on newegg making it 240.00 dollars
I had a finicky experience in the past with X470 and ASRock and memory compatibility which kind of makes me gun shy (my comparable CH7 had much better memory compatibility with the same components), but if I needed triple m.2, I'd definitely give this one a look.
 

Cap Rob

n00b
Joined
Jul 19, 2011
Messages
29
I had a finicky experience in the past with X470 and ASRock and memory compatibility which kind of makes me gun shy (my comparable CH7 had much better memory compatibility with the same components), but if I needed triple m.2, I'd definitely give this one a look.
I understand i was gonna jump on the Asus but the Asrock seem like a better deal for my wallet ,also as i previously stated on first post i had been running and Asrock Z68 for a long time and never had no problems
 

thecold

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 12, 2017
Messages
407
Yea, this. I got this board myself specifically because it was cheaper yet had all the same features and vrm setup. The only downside is the lack of a vrm block. But as it turns out EK is producing a monoblock for this board. I'm sure Asus is not too thrilled about it.
Lets be real though, this board doesn't need a monoblock. With an overclocked 3950x you will not be pushing the vrm's to any unsafe temperatures.

Unless I'm thinking of the wrong board, then it might need a monoblock, lol.
 
Last edited:

Hokies83

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 24, 2010
Messages
470
Read review that it uses the same VRM As the $100 cheaper x570 Tuf board which ended it for me lol.
 

mda

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 23, 2011
Messages
1,763
Read review that it uses the same VRM As the $100 cheaper x570 Tuf board which ended it for me lol.
It doesn't. The use of that VRM stops at the STRIX F.

The Strix E gets something else (a little closer to the CH7 if I can read specs properly, but I honestly can't tell part differences apart).
 

thesmokingman

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
5,796
It doesn't. The use of that VRM stops at the STRIX F.

The Strix E gets something else (a little closer to the CH7 if I can read specs properly, but I honestly can't tell part differences apart).
This. It uses same parts but the number of phases is one lower iirc.
 

cybrnook

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 14, 2013
Messages
1,588

Yea, it doesn't need a monoblock.

It uses dual 60 amp power stages in a 6 amp phase. In addition to that it's split apart.
Yep, I think buildzoid mentions a few times over the different x570 boards, that they are basically all overkill for the Ryzen 3000 series.
 

cybrnook

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 14, 2013
Messages
1,588
For sure, overkill is underrated and monoblocks are always sexy. A PITA, but sexy if nothing else.
 

Ocellaris

Ginger @le, an alcoholic's best friend.
Joined
Jan 1, 2008
Messages
18,866
The E is the secret sauce special and at 280 yer getting a CH Hero at a big discount.
I’m using a Strix 570-E myself and for all of the features I cared about, it’s basically a CH8 Hero WIFi. Board has been great for me, ASUS has been releasing fast FW updates for it and the BIOS has worked well. Good port layout on the back and the USB 3.1 connector isn’t blocked by the GPU *cough* Taichi with a port layout designed by an intern *cough*

Also I love having the CPU temp on the QCode LED :D

Obligatory rainbow puke photo:
DAA1D424-A729-45B5-84E6-40D26B20439C.jpeg
 
Last edited:

thesmokingman

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 22, 2008
Messages
5,796
Lmao, the video on the vrm stages. The guy was just so bothered by the Strix-E. The Strix-E is the CH Hero Wifi for those who don't care about the name.


Here's mine. There's two 480s in there. Leftovers from when I used to run quads.


20191116_104213-jpg.jpg
 

Hokies83

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 24, 2010
Messages
470
I have a gigabyte Aorus gaming 5 WiFi, not really sure if it’s worth the money to upgrade, I need all the USB ports the gigabyte loves to give, oculus rift loves USB ports ;)
And what more boost would my 2700x get 50-100mhz? I’d be lucky to sell my board and have the $80 after shipping and I’d have a $200 hole in my pocket lol.

Gaming 5 has 9 rear USB ports, the strix E 7,
I think I’m using all 9, and can’t use the front 3.0 on my case because the bottom fans in the way
 
Last edited:

mda

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 23, 2011
Messages
1,763
Not worth the upgrade unless you're
gunning for a 12 or 16 core with a massive overclock, or if you run lots of M2 / PCIE devices.
 

Hokies83

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 24, 2010
Messages
470
Amazon has a used one for $260 with 20% off comes out to $216 shipped... I almost snagged it.
But trying to hold out for Aorus master ;) I don’t want to mix to many brands lol
 

mda

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 23, 2011
Messages
1,763
I wonder how used is used...? Either which way, that's a good price.

I got my CH7 off a forum member here for $200-220 range near the end of last year.
 

Hokies83

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 24, 2010
Messages
470
I wonder how used is used...? Either which way, that's a good price.

I got my CH7 off a forum member here for $200-220 range near the end of last year.
I want to make a WTB for the Aorus Master... but ugh I’ve spent to much
 

RamonGTP

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 9, 2005
Messages
7,895
Yea, this. I got this board myself specifically because it was cheaper yet had all the same features and vrm setup. The only downside is the lack of a vrm block. But as it turns out EK is producing a monoblock for this board. I'm sure Asus is not too thrilled about it.
I don't think ASUS cares. Virtually no one puts a block on a VRM nor looks for one as a selling point that's before we get into it being completely unnecessary.
 

Hokies83

Limp Gawd
Joined
Oct 24, 2010
Messages
470
I’ve had bad customer service experiences with Asus... not a knock on their products which are great. Just their Cs lol.
 
Top