Asus ROG Phone 3

Joined
Apr 22, 2011
Messages
551
Anyone else looking at picking one up next month? Doesn't support Verizon or TMobile/Sprint though from my understanding.

There are reports from folks on xda forums that it has VoLTE out of the box. https://forum.xda-developers.com/asus-rog-phone-3/how-to/ive-asus-rog-phone-3-1-month-t4137097/page7

Edit: No VoLTE means DOA for T-Mobile:

"Starting August 4th, 2020, T-Mobile will stop activating new devices that do not support VoLTE on its network."

"Starting January 2021, any device that does not support VoLTE on T-Mobile will no longer be able to connect to the carrier’s 4G LTE or 5G network."

https://www.asus.com/Phone/ROG-Phone-3/

https://www.asus.com/Phone/ROG-Phone-3/Tech-Specs/

GSM/GPRS/EDGE; WCDMA/HSPA+/DC-HSPA+; FDD-LTE; TD-LTE; CDMA; TD-CDMA; 5G Sub 6 SA/NSA

A version

Supports EN-DC (6DL+FR1)
FR1: DL up to 3.8 Gbps / UL 542 Mbps
LTE 6CA: DL Cat20 up to 2.0 Gbps / UL Cat13 up to 150 Mbps
DC-HSPA+: DL 42 Mbps / UL 5.76 Mbps
4x4 MIMO and CA with 4x4 MIMO support
5G (Bands N1, N2, N3, N5, N28, N41, N66, N71, N77, N78, N79)
FDD-LTE (Bands 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 7, 8, 12, 13, 17, 18, 19, 20, 25, 26, 28, 29, 30, 32, 66, 71)
TD-LTE (Bands 34, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 48)
WCDMA (Bands 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 19)
EDGE/GPRS/GSM (850, 900, 1800, 1900 MHz)
CDMA (Bands BC0) (CN and HK only)
TD-SCDMA (Bands 34, 38) (CN and HK only)
 
Last edited:

ChronoReverse

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
1,125
VoLTE is pretty important and if Asus doesn't start paying up for support, it's DOE even if they have the bands. This is something you simply need for a flagship level phone in 2020.
 

Farva

Extremely [H]
Joined
Feb 3, 2004
Messages
36,846
VoLTE is pretty important and if Asus doesn't start paying up for support, it's DOE even if they have the bands. This is something you simply need for a flagship level phone in 2020.
You can still have a kick ass gaming phone...
 

T4rd

Fully [H]
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
17,943
Really like their hardware, but their shitty software support kills it for me. Way too behind and also lucky to get two major OS upgrades several months after its out on Pixels or even Samsung phones.
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2011
Messages
551
If they don't have VoLTE, then it will not work on T-Mobile.

VoLTE is pretty important and if Asus doesn't start paying up for support, it's DOE even if they have the bands. This is something you simply need for a flagship level phone in 2020.

Crap didn't know they were lacking that support! May not pick it up in that case, cause that's not acceptable at all. How can we know for sure? Should it have been in the specs?
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2011
Messages
551
If they don't have VoLTE, then it will not work on T-Mobile.

OmegaLul, sometimes I'm a bonehead. Nah, all the time kekw :ROFLMAO:

Damn! Went from thinking this phone was it to thinking what a POS! Renders the phone part of the phone useless on Tmobile. Welp saves me $1100.

https://www.xda-developers.com/t-mobile-att-require-volte-phone-calls-shut-down-3g/

"Starting August 4th, 2020, T-Mobile will stop activating new devices that do not support VoLTE on its network. T-Mobile says that all devices in its current lineup (meaning, devices sold through them) support VoLTE.

Starting January 2021, any device that does not support VoLTE on T-Mobile will no longer be able to connect to the carrier’s 4G LTE or 5G network. Existing T-Mobile and Metro by T-Mobile (formerly known as MetroPCS) customers who activate a non-VoLTE-compatible device before August 4th will be informed via a text message that their device will become incompatible with the network starting January 2021."

Edit: Renders it useless launch day on TMobile because it's already past Aug 4th and it will not even activate according to Tmobile.
 
Last edited:

Farva

Extremely [H]
Joined
Feb 3, 2004
Messages
36,846
OmegaLul, sometimes I'm a bonehead. Nah, all the time kekw :ROFLMAO:

Damn! Went from thinking this phone was it to thinking what a POS! Welp saves me $1100.
We all are like that at times. Again, you can still have a kick ass gaming phone, but if you want to do any calling, sms, or cellular data, probably a good idea to look elsewhere.
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2011
Messages
551
We all are like that at times. Again, you can still have a kick ass gaming phone, but if you want to do any calling, sms, or cellular data, probably a good idea to look elsewhere.

Definitely would be a kick ass gaming device but I don't need one, already have a Red Magic 3S that is also lacking in bands and connectivity, was hoping to remedy that with the ROG 3. Rip
 

ChronoReverse

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
1,125
I hate that it's a thing though. There's no reason it doesn't support VoLTE (the software and hardware is all there) except you have to pay for "certification". I bet T-Mobile said "you must pay the license for 100000 units" while Asus said "but we're probably only going to sell a 1000 of these".

I have the same problem up here in Canada since the ROG2 is perfectly capable of VoLTE (people have hacked it to work) but it's not "certified".


Still, Asus should just pay for the certification since this is a really expensive phone.
 

Farva

Extremely [H]
Joined
Feb 3, 2004
Messages
36,846
I hate that it's a thing though. There's no reason it doesn't support VoLTE (the software and hardware is all there) except you have to pay for "certification". I bet T-Mobile said "you must pay the license for 100000 units" while Asus said "but we're probably only going to sell a 1000 of these".

I have the same problem up here in Canada since the ROG2 is perfectly capable of VoLTE (people have hacked it to work) but it's not "certified".


Still, Asus should just pay for the certification since this is a really expensive phone.
VoLTE is nothing new...

https://www.cnet.com/news/6-reasons-why-youll-eventually-want-voice-over-lte/ - 2014

https://www.metaswitch.com/blog/top-4-reasons-to-adopt-volte

https://www.androidcentral.com/volte
 

ChronoReverse

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Feb 21, 2005
Messages
1,125
I meant that I hate that there's a whole certification thing. If your device supports VoLTE, it should just connect and work like regular voice does.
 

Farva

Extremely [H]
Joined
Feb 3, 2004
Messages
36,846
I meant that I hate that there's a whole certification thing. If your device supports VoLTE, it should just connect and work like regular voice does.
It helps make sure things are working properly and not out of spec...
 
Joined
Apr 22, 2011
Messages
551
Hope Asus is seeing this, cause it's crap for this phone to not have VoLTE. I won't be buyin it that's for sure, hope potential buyers hear about it to put the pressure on.

Think I'll just go with Samsung if they don't get the support.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 22, 2011
Messages
551
Too much uncertainty and lack of support, decided to pick up an unlocked Galaxy S20+ directly from Samsung instead. It has all the 'merica bands.
 

harmattan

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 11, 2008
Messages
4,578
I have the ROG 2 (ROG 3 looks to be very similar) and while it's a great device, unless you're gaming A LOT, there are better options for a daily driver. Also, the official accessories are expensive AF for what they are.

As for the lack of VoLTE, there have been the same complaints since the ROG 1 -- Asus don't care, and won't be adding it.

Edit: I've in fact just sold my ROG 2 to change it out for a less heavy, slicker daily driver (Xiaomi Mi 10 Ultra). ROG 2 a great phone, as I'm sure the ROG 3 is, but it's just too heavy and ungainly for the amount of gaming I'm doing.
 
Last edited:
Top