Asus Infinity Pad TF700

AQ_OC

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 23, 2011
Messages
2,131
Plain android, i didnt install anything. First thing i checked was flickering in the black hole wall paper. I also see it in chrome occasionally and words with friends.

At about the 15 min point into this video Lisa shows the screen with two horizontal lines in it. She stops to talk about it. These are the two lines I saw, except mine go away.
I may be returning mine too.
 

jfnirvana292

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 9, 2002
Messages
1,405
At about the 15 min point into this video Lisa shows the screen with two horizontal lines in it. She stops to talk about it. These are the two lines I saw, except mine go away.
I may be returning mine too.

Link? I am exchanging for another tonight. I will live with the lines until there is a patch...the crunching screen i wont.
 

jfnirvana292

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 9, 2002
Messages
1,405
I also forgot to mention random restarts...could be due to somethin i downloaded,but worth mentioning!
 

jfnirvana292

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 9, 2002
Messages
1,405
Very similar except the lines flicker and it only lasts a second. I also am not sure if they span the entire screen.
 

jfnirvana292

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 9, 2002
Messages
1,405
On the third tf700t now. So far the screen hasnt clicked when touching it, but i literally pulled it out of the box minutes ago. I will report back about the flicker after i update to jelly bean. Oh there is a stuck pixel, just one and you can only see it with a black background. Luckily the pixels are so small. you can barely notice it.
 

jfnirvana292

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 9, 2002
Messages
1,405
Do you know if the stuck pixel (yes, i found about 5 of them) can unstick? I heard of color changing apps...
 

jfnirvana292

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 9, 2002
Messages
1,405
I am running the pixel fixer...says it takes 20 minutes. Im hoping this works since its stuck pixels and not dead ones
 

AQ_OC

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 23, 2011
Messages
2,131
Glad you mentioned pixels as I hadn't thought o check mine. It seems fine.
 

jfnirvana292

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 9, 2002
Messages
1,405
I ran the pixel fixer all night. The bigger stuck pixel is gone, but the 4 or 5 little stuck ones are still there
 

jfnirvana292

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Apr 9, 2002
Messages
1,405
Since i can only notice the little pixels on a black background, brightest setting, and with my face 1ft away....and assuming the black lines are fixable after a software patch...im keeping it.... :-\
 

cl-scott

Weaksauce
Joined
Jul 5, 2012
Messages
74
anyone know what the update was for?

I don't have anything for that specific release, but I checked through my old emails and found one for 10.4.4.16 and by and large that was just to update to Jellybean. So the .23 release was probably just some minor bugfix release, or possibly something like going from Android 4.1.1 to 4.1.2.
 

AQ_OC

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 23, 2011
Messages
2,131
I don't have anything for that specific release, but I checked through my old emails and found one for 10.4.4.16 and by and large that was just to update to Jellybean. So the .23 release was probably just some minor bugfix release, or possibly something like going from Android 4.1.1 to 4.1.2.

Thanks for checking. The Android version still says 4.1.1 so it is probably just a bugfix. I do see build number 10.4.4.23-20121127.

I have to admit I'm not having any problems with my device. I haven't seen those lines I mentioned up thread in quite a while now.

I do admit that I'm unable to find the type of case I would like for it. I have this neat little Boxwave TPC case with stand for my Nexus 7:

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00146CYZS/ref=oh_details_o00_s00_i00

I wish I could just this exact thing for the TF700.
 

TypeO

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 1, 2000
Messages
8,187

TypeO

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 1, 2000
Messages
8,187
As ihave heard, the update was for the browser lagg issues


Apparently they need another update because the browser takes a long time to load and still lags in comparison to Chrome. Only thing I've noticed different is that I now have something that pops up that says "Wireless Networks are available". I don't remember seeing that before. I wish I had the time to spend to figure out how to get the memory usage down. I'm constantly at like 778mb used and it's just sitting here. Perhaps their are apps to look more into it.
 

leh18621

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jun 18, 2008
Messages
1,082
Thanks for the post. I'm familiar with that type of case. Absolutely nothing wrong with it but I want something this isn't so bulky.

He recommended the same case to me when I bought my TF700T and I absolutely love the case. I don't see it as being bulky at all to be honest and it weighs practically nothing.

On a side note lately I have been really disappointed with the web browsing speed of my tablet, it just seemed so sluggish. I was looking around last night through all my system settings and realized that when it upgraded to JB it must have changed my power settings. It was set to "Balanced" and when I switched it to Maximum Performance my tablet seemed to go into turbo speed while browsing the internet (you actually have to change this setting in two different places). So glad I came across this because I only use the tablet at home and could care less about battery life going down, I just want it as fast as possible.
 

Tekara

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 6, 2003
Messages
1,970
The transformers have a known slowdown in the IO of the internal components which causes a lot of the sluggishness and slowdowns that you see when using programs and especially while surfing the internet.

The ultimate solution is to use Data2SD which makes use of a much faster external microSD card to bypass the IO issues. However, there is a less daunting solution for just the built in web browser called Browser2ram.
 

TypeO

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 1, 2000
Messages
8,187
The transformers have a known slowdown in the IO of the internal components which causes a lot of the sluggishness and slowdowns that you see when using programs and especially while surfing the internet.

The ultimate solution is to use Data2SD which makes use of a much faster external microSD card to bypass the IO issues. However, there is a less daunting solution for just the built in web browser called Browser2ram.


Thanks for the tip and gonna look into that. I've found Chrome to be very good and fast on the tablet. I was using boat browser as it was nice but heard a lot about security issues so I stopped using it. Still use dolphin if I'm wanting to watch something in flash.
 

AQ_OC

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 23, 2011
Messages
2,131
The transformers have a known slowdown in the IO of the internal components which causes a lot of the sluggishness and slowdowns that you see when using programs and especially while surfing the internet.

The ultimate solution is to use Data2SD which makes use of a much faster external microSD card to bypass the IO issues. However, there is a less daunting solution for just the built in web browser called Browser2ram.

This sounds like a good reason to return this thing.
 

AQ_OC

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 23, 2011
Messages
2,131
He recommended the same case to me when I bought my TF700T and I absolutely love the case. I don't see it as being bulky at all to be honest and it weighs practically nothing.

You must not sit on the couch holding it in your hands inside that case....it gets heavy quickly unless you put it on a surface.

On a side note lately I have been really disappointed with the web browsing speed of my tablet, it just seemed so sluggish. I was looking around last night through all my system settings and realized that when it upgraded to JB it must have changed my power settings. It was set to "Balanced" and when I switched it to Maximum Performance my tablet seemed to go into turbo speed while browsing the internet (you actually have to change this setting in two different places). So glad I came across this because I only use the tablet at home and could care less about battery life going down, I just want it as fast as possible.

I find mine slowish when the browsing too {it is in balanced mode so I will check this out before making a final decision}...and this other post in leading me to consider returning mine. I also hate that I can barely hear it even when it is right next to my face. Other tablets are considerably louder.
 

AQ_OC

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 23, 2011
Messages
2,131
Can you use a micro SD card with the Nexus?

No, you cannot, at least not directly. That is why I got the Transformer Infinite Pad first. But after some use, I decided I could get along fine without the SD card and usb support. I have an Air Stash that I can use to move files from/to the N10. There are others features of the N10 that I like a bit more, but this isn't to say that the Infinity Pad is a bad tablet. It's a nice tablet, IMO. I can easily see others going with it over the N10. It just depends on what ones needs are.
 

Impulse

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Apr 5, 2001
Messages
10,232
You can always grab a USB OTG cable and connect a micro card reader to the nexus too, even without root (there's an app for that, does import or streaming from external mounted media without root).
 

Wrench00

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 30, 2003
Messages
3,423
I have the tf700 its an awesome tablet. I am getting the keyboard that's for sure.
 

Jarod888

2[H]4U
Joined
Dec 19, 2005
Messages
2,679
I just got one with the dock, infact I am typing on it right now. I really like it. I have a 32 gb micro sd card in the tablet and another in the dock. I will probably load up a bunch of movies on one of them and use the other for additional storage. I got the champaign one instead of the gray one. So far I am really impressed with it. It is great for surfing and such on the couch.
 
Top