Ashes of Singularity 1/2 off till 2/29/2016.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Showbiz

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 19, 2010
Messages
1,139
Thanks for the heads up! :)

Quick question: Does this game require a persistent Internet connection? I live in hotels year round, sometimes the connection is better than others. Only requiring 5GB of HD space is a little odd.......
 

collegeboy69us

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Jul 27, 2003
Messages
5,256
I love the supreme commander series -- before that total annihilation - before that command & conquer.

This looks like a pretty slick massive scale RTS... problem is I still haven't played Just Cause 3 (and I spent 30 bucks on it) I also have a copy of The Division on preorder.

Between that and work, hard to justify more steam games, grrr I'll watch a review of it and problem get even more tempted... because: steam
 

mda

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 23, 2011
Messages
1,851
Benchmarks aside, how is this game? Looking for an RTS that can keep my interest.
 

tlkimball

Limp Gawd
Joined
Nov 16, 2007
Messages
330
Can anyone tell me if there is an actual single-player campaign with this game or is the SP experience simply an AI skirmish?
 

jedimasterben

2[H]4U
Joined
Oct 1, 2010
Messages
2,334
I bought it. Loved the fuck out of Supreme Commander and Forged Alliance.


EDIT: So i downloaded it at work because here we have a gigabit connection vs my 25Mbps connection at home, Steam said it was a 9.5GB download, so I figured it would take around two minutes here and all said and done a couple of hours at home. It was only a 2.8GB download that decompressed to 9.2GB, which is awesome. I wish all games could have had that (cough GTA V cough).
 
Last edited:

UMASS

Gawd
Joined
Jan 17, 2008
Messages
1,001
Thanks OP. I have this in my Steam Wish list & received an e-mal this morning. I'm D/L it now. You'll need a decent rig to run this game @ higher resolutions for sure. I think I'll be fine @ 2K. At $25.00 it could be a really solid deal.
 

pigwalk

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 14, 2004
Messages
8,417
If I absolutely adored and loved SupCom1 I'm guessing I'm going to enjoy this right?

Getting kind of sick and tired of LoL, want something new.
 

jiminator

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Feb 2, 2007
Messages
11,618
Yeah, does this have an actual single player campaign? Where you can save your game? And the missions are more than just MP maps with AI opponents instead of online....
 

THUMPer

2[H]4U
Joined
May 6, 2008
Messages
3,262
Yeah, does this have an actual single player campaign? Where you can save your game? And the missions are more than just MP maps with AI opponents instead of online....
There is no actual game. It's one giant benchmark.
 

Monkey God

Mangina Full of Sand
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
6,723
Early access/Alpha game. Half off...half off of what? Give it away for free until its feature complete then start charging.
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2002
Messages
2,482
If you want a play along story this isn't for you. If you want an awesome RTS like command and conquer (with some twists) on a massive scale you'll love it.
 

UMASS

Gawd
Joined
Jan 17, 2008
Messages
1,001
I started fooling around with it for an hour last night. It's so TA. Which isn't a bad thing. Needs more units for what I can tell so far.

Looks like I'm going to lose 5-6 hours on my life today. For $25.00 it's a great deal.

Can't use DX12 because of WIN7 Running @ 2K, 4XAA, Highest settings I'm getting average of 43+ frames. Not too bad for a stock R390X
 

Rauelius

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 2, 2008
Messages
2,241
I started fooling around with it for an hour last night. It's so TA. Which isn't a bad thing. Needs more units for what I can tell so far.

Looks like I'm going to lose 5-6 hours on my life today. For $25.00 it's a great deal.

Can't use DX12 because of WIN7 Running @ 2K, 4XAA, Highest settings I'm getting average of 43+ frames. Not too bad for a stock R390X

I average 49 FPS with the same settings, on an R9-290 and a much worse processor(FX-8350). DX12 really give this game a shot in the arm.
 
  • Like
Reactions: UMASS
like this

UMASS

Gawd
Joined
Jan 17, 2008
Messages
1,001
I hear you. I just can't bring myself to purchase WIN10. Maybe I will in the future & do a "dual-boot OS" Screw MS & not offering DX12 for WIN7. Not to mention there's 52% market share for WIN7. The best OS system to date IMHO.
 

pigwalk

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Dec 14, 2004
Messages
8,417
Which would be a better RTS right now? This or HW:Deserts of Kharak?
 

Ocellaris

Ginger @le, an alcoholic's best friend.
Joined
Jan 1, 2008
Messages
18,870
I hear you. I just can't bring myself to purchase WIN10. Maybe I will in the future & do a "dual-boot OS" Screw MS & not offering DX12 for WIN7. Not to mention there's 52% market share for WIN7. The best OS system to date IMHO.
Win 10 is a free upgrade, you don't need to purchase anything.
 

Haven

I Only Post Important Stuff
Joined
Oct 11, 2002
Messages
6,273
This game is done by the same group that did Sins of a Solar Empire, and Galactic Civiliations 1, 2 & 3. Sins sucked up a bunch of my time for a while. They just updated GalCiv3 again.

I had this on my wish list and picked it up on Friday. I haven't had a chance to play it yet.
 

Yakk

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 5, 2010
Messages
5,810
With the huge amount of game developement pioneering work these developers are doing, I couldn't resist picking this one up and encouraging them!
 

UMASS

Gawd
Joined
Jan 17, 2008
Messages
1,001
Win 10 is a free upgrade, you don't need to purchase anything.
Really...Didn't have a clue (sarcasm) MS couldn't pay me so they can spy on my rig. Took me 45 minutes to rid myself of the "free upgraded icon" on WIN7.
 

Ocellaris

Ginger @le, an alcoholic's best friend.
Joined
Jan 1, 2008
Messages
18,870
Really...Didn't have a clue (sarcasm) MS couldn't pay me so they can spy on my rig. Took me 45 minutes to rid myself of the "free upgraded icon" on WIN7.
So don't bitch about purchasing Windows 10 like you don't have a clue.
 

SomeGuy133

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 12, 2015
Messages
3,447
Win 10 is a free upgrade, you don't need to purchase anything.
if you upgrade your key is now limited to that rig and they retain the right to burn that key if you upgrade MB or CPU.

I would never upgrade my keys

UMASS what did you edit to get ride of that intrusive updating icon. I already turned off auto updated because they were saying MS was goign to turn Win 10 into a required update so it would auto install on every rig.
 

MavericK

Zero Cool
Joined
Sep 2, 2004
Messages
29,421
DX12 has a ways to go, no SLI support without DX12 apparently and I only get like maybe 5 FPS more with DX12 enabled.

Still, cool game and it's nice to see some PC-centric development.
 

Yakk

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 5, 2010
Messages
5,810
yea how is the AI....does it do the endless trickle or actually amass an army?
From Developers...

Draginol [developer] 25 Feb @ 8:57pm
BETA 2: WELCOME and PLEASE read!
Greetings! Welcome to BETA 2. We're so glad to have you part of the beta program.

We've already gotten some great data from you guys including some issues with 4K resolutions. I think we'll be able to fix this in the next day or so.

Now, this may seem like a strange request but please do your best to find ways to crash the game. Every time the game crashes, we get data. Single player, multiplayer, you name it.

## Top Questions we are getting ##

1. Will there be a single player campaign?

A: Yes. Ascendancy Wars will have a non-linear story driven campaign. We also hope to have some other special goodies that I can't yet talk about in there as well.

2. Is this a mostly MP game?

A. No. While the game (Even in beta) has a lot of multiplayer features including ladders, match making, custom game modes, team play, etc. We anticipate most people playing the game single player. This is one of the reasons we've invested so much in to what we hope players will agree is the best RTS AI ever made.
From what I've played so far, anything above beginner AI is quite good.
 

SomeGuy133

2[H]4U
Joined
Apr 12, 2015
Messages
3,447
From Developers...



From what I've played so far, anything above beginner AI is quite good.
is AI better because it cheats AKA gets 300% more resoures and units cost 50% like SC or is it good because it has an actual brain. I hate fighting AI that cheats because its impossible to survive the first 30 mins because they have a 3x resource advantage.

Also can you change AI difficulty mid game? I love the 2 games that have had that. I always play with easy AI build up a base and than turn AI to hardest possible. It amkes single player nice. I can't beat an AI that cheats at the begining...it can super multitask and it gets resource cheats....wtf.

DX12 has a ways to go, no SLI support without DX12 apparently and I only get like maybe 5 FPS more with DX12 enabled.

Still, cool game and it's nice to see some PC-centric development.
you do realize maxwell is the worst GPU for DX12.....It is total shit. DX12 on AMD or next gen will be vastly better.
 

MavericK

Zero Cool
Joined
Sep 2, 2004
Messages
29,421
Yeah but as I was saying, the performance difference is almost nothing.
 

mda

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Mar 23, 2011
Messages
1,851
Everything running high/medium and looks like responsiveness needs some polish. Clunky animations though whoever said it looked like TA is right.
 

MavericK

Zero Cool
Joined
Sep 2, 2004
Messages
29,421
20% faster :)
Heh...20% is not what I'd expect from doubling available GPU power, however. ;)

Not trying to belittle the game...it's a great RTS, gives me those TA feels which I enjoy. They just need to work on optimization I guess, or nVidia does, or whoever.
 

Yakk

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Nov 5, 2010
Messages
5,810
Hmm, I'm running extreme settings and it's very smooth. Unit pathing seems to be working well for me, haven't seen any bizarre behavior with unit movement.

Also, Devs have isolated a major graphical issue they got from user feedback on nvidia cards and said they will be talking with nvidia for a driver update. It's what betas are for I guess.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top