Any HT Projector Enthusiasts? Specifically the Optoma EP1691

spacetrader

2[H]4U
Optoma EP1691

these can be had for $500 shipped on fleabay. anyone have any experience with them? basically, this is the business version of the HD65, which most people seem to get. this is brighter, but supposedly a tick back in color. i like the fact that its a little better adapted for pc hookups, as thats what id be hooking into (htpc)

the couch will be about 10' back from the screen... hoping to get 100"... for bragging rights you know? :)

well, i have no experience with that model but i do have an HD65 at 100" and its hooked up to my HTPC(DVI-HDMI). so far its been great, awesome picture and bright enough to handle some ambient light(its in my living room). as far as PC connectivity, you should be fine with any projector as long as it has HDMI or DVI(most/all new ones do) and all projectors have had VGA inputs for years.

i would suggest you get a warranty though, either factory(confirm with ebay seller) or aftermarket. i especially recommend a lamp warranty, you can find a mack 3 year/2 bulb warranty for under $100(pretty good considering bulbs go for $250+).

oh, and one more thing.....once you watch your HD projector for a while, all other LCD or plasma tvs will seem tiny by comparison.......

Mack camera, they offer extended warranties on various electronics and they can be purchased at various retailers online.

http://www.mackcam.com/

the bulb warranty i referred to entitles you to two free replacements bulbs over a period of 3 years, the folks at AVS recommend buying through Tapeworks Texas, theres even an employee roaming the projector forums there to help out on claims.

that is pretty good, it basically means you can pencil in a lower cost per year to run your projector a lot. you can get bulbs for $200 on ebay, but you also have a very real chance of not getting past one year before you need a new one.

EP's are business projectors.