Android O Officially Named Android Oreo

monkeymagick

[H]News
Continuing the trend of naming their Android OS updates after snack foods, Google is calling Android 8.0 aka Android O as Android Oreo. Apparently, this latest version of the operating system comes with superpowers. Notable features include picture-in-picture "letting you see two apps at once" and background limits "limiting what apps and services are allowed to do in the background of the OS." Unlike a certain candy company, I presume Google made sure to get permission from Nabisco.

Check out the announcement.

Android Oreo has arrived. Safer, smarter, more powerful & sweeter than ever.

I've been running O for a couple months now in the beta program for my Pixel XL. It's kind of buggy still, but really I see no difference between it and N.

I have no idea how "picture in picture" works. I've been through the settings and can't find any mention of it.

Doesn't look like my Pixel is finding an OTA update to O yet.

Doesn't look like my Pixel is finding an OTA update to O yet.

You won't. It's not officially released yet. Go to the following website if you want to run the beta version. Be forewarned though once you upgrade there is no going back without losing all your data. So, backup everything first.

www.android.com/beta

Saw an oreo [cookie] commercial about it already. They plan to whore that product placement

Last edited:
https://developer.android.com/about/versions/o/download.html#flashable-images

Is the beta different than these? According to other android websites, it was officially released yesterday.

I guess they did move from beta. I had an update last night and my phone info no longer says 8.0.0 Beta.

Either way, it's still buggy. I get app crashes frequently. Using bluetooth with the Uconnect app in my truck causes the phone to reboot sometimes.