AMD MEMORY TYPE AND AMOUNT ?

narsbars

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
1,973
Buying a vanilla 570 and a 3600x to start with the intent to move up in CPU speed as prices drop.
No OC intended. Mostly gaming. I hear the debate between 16 and 32 gig and never use all four slots looking for suggestions to meet the no OC plan. What do you think.
?
 

Starfalcon

Limp Gawd
Joined
Jan 7, 2020
Messages
284
Well with my last build I started with 16 GB on my 3770 back when I built it around 2013, a couple years later I upgraded it to 32 GB as memory was dirt cheap. When I built my current rig I wanted 64 GB out the gate, so thats what I went with, although I did give up some speed to do so, I bought the fastest supported 64 GB kit I could get for my board. I figure I will be good for a long time with this much, plus I always try to double the memory I put in my new rig versus what I had in my old one.....whats the point of an upgrade then if you dont.
 

pendragon1

Fully [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
20,469
Buying a vanilla 570 and a 3600x to start with the intent to move up in CPU speed as prices drop.
No OC intended. Mostly gaming. I hear the debate between 16 and 32 gig and never use all four slots looking for suggestions to meet the no OC plan. What do you think.
?
for gaming 16GB is plenty and 3200-3600.
 

trick0502

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 17, 2006
Messages
5,276
I have 4x8 3600mhz running it at 3800mhz and 1900 IF. 2x16/4x8 is about the same stress on the memory controller. If you think about it you are running 2 dual rank sticks or 4 single rank sticks. To get the most out of the memory controller you want to run dual rank dual channel. So either configuration will give you that. Buildzoid did a video on this with a 3700x.
440B3764-40FB-4137-A425-0D1FDDD91747.jpeg
 
Last edited:

Dan_D

Extremely [H]
Joined
Feb 9, 2002
Messages
56,411
Sometimes you can get larger modules operating in groups of four running at speeds over DDR4 2666MHz/2933MHz. Those speeds are all that AMD officially supports with four modules depending on if they are single or dual ranked. I'm running 4x16GB TridentZ Neo modules at DDR4 3600MHz without issue. It can be done. Now, its sort of a crap shoot on actually getting it to work. The board you choose, RAM you choose, BIOS settings and plain old luck of the draw all factor in.
 
Last edited:

Saabjock

Limp Gawd
Joined
Sep 1, 2005
Messages
439
Go get 32 GB TimeTec DDR4-3600 for $119 at Amazon...unless you need RGB.
I've run these for a while now.
Twenty hours of Memtest+ yielded zero faults out of the box.
I simply installed them set the RAM speed to 3600 and voltage to 1.39...set the CAS timings and turned off PBO and XMP
Great performance with two 16 GB modules, great customer service and no instability issues.
I'm running 1T 16, 19, 19, 36
 

Attachments

kirbyrj

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
26,270
2x16GB in the lowest latency the standard memory speed (3200MHz) your CPU supports.

https://www.newegg.com/g-skill-32gb-288-pin-ddr4-sdram/p/N82E16820232230
Or 2x16GB in 3600Mhz Cas 16 would probably be almost identical in benchmarks and $50 cheaper
https://www.newegg.com/g-skill-32gb-288-pin-ddr4-sdram/p/N82E16820232907?&quicklink=true

Or 3600Mhz in Cas 18 and manually tighten to Cas 16 which is even cheaper
https://www.newegg.com/p/2R8-001A-00012?&quicklink=true
https://www.newegg.com/g-skill-32gb-288-pin-ddr4-sdram/p/N82E16820232740

I have that G.Skill Cas 19 3600Mhz memory and I've been running it tightened to Cas 16 for a while with a Ryzen 3600x.
 

somebrains

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Nov 10, 2013
Messages
1,070
Looks like the vote is toward 32 gig, 2x16 gig, at 3600. Thanks for the help. I will check back with this regularly in case of any other updates.
My vote is to wait 2-3 weeks for the 3600xt tests to get pushed out ahead of release.

I wouldn't want the bar to get moved on me a little for the XT release.

Worrying about where Zen3 goes with fabric speed will just be another ram dump and replace unless you buy a couple xmp speed bins ahead or go with ram that you know will overclock a couple steps.

Normally it'd be a known good 3200 kit you can push, 2x16gb and be done with it.
 

Mode13

Gawd
Joined
Jun 11, 2018
Messages
837
Looks like the vote is toward 32 gig, 2x16 gig, at 3600. Thanks for the help. I will check back with this regularly in case of any other updates.
If you're looking for affordable 3600 kits, I would suggest looking for ones with the newer Hynix DJR (d die) ICs.

https://www.newegg.com/g-skill-32gb-288-pin-ddr4-sdram/p/N82E16820232907?Item=N82E16820232907

this kit was just on sale for $139.99. It's definitely the best bang for the buck out there. Older CJR kits @ 3600 will come with C19 timings at roughly the same price and at 1.35V.

I was able to push these a decent bit tighter than the hynix Cs when overclocking.

The only thing better IMO from this kit would be to double down and buy a kit with samsung b-die, which would be kind of silly to pair with the very affordable 3600X

and FYI 16GB is plenty for any of today's games that I'm aware of and will probably be plenty in the near future. the 32GB is being suggested probably because you don't want to bump it up to 4 sticks down the line. I suggest 16GB to people building strictly gaming and general purpose rigs.
 

IdiotInCharge

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Jun 13, 2003
Messages
14,496
and FYI 16GB is plenty for any of today's games that I'm aware of and will probably be plenty in the near future. the 32GB is being suggested probably because you don't want to bump it up to 4 sticks down the line. I suggest 16GB to people building strictly gaming and general purpose rigs.
More or less; 16GB is enough to do a lot of things quite well.

But relatively speaking RAM is cheap as hell. It's very difficult to argue against going with 32GB so you just don't have to bother with it in the future, supposing you can find the appropriate kit for your system. And with Ryzen, that can certainly be a challenge...
 

primetime

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 17, 2005
Messages
6,605
More or less; 16GB is enough to do a lot of things quite well.

But relatively speaking RAM is cheap as hell. It's very difficult to argue against going with 32GB so you just don't have to bother with it in the future, supposing you can find the appropriate kit for your system. And with Ryzen, that can certainly be a challenge...
this is way i see it, if i were buying today
 

ThreeDee

[H]F Junkie
Joined
Sep 5, 2001
Messages
10,860
I run 2 x 16GB 3200mhz CAS16 HyperX Predator's
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07GNKTPH4/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o06_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
I have them running at 3800 CAS 18 w/IF@1900(1:1)
They've been pretty good cheaper sticks for me paired with my 3700x on an ASRock Steel Legend x570 mobo and 850wtt 80+ Gold rated EVGA GQ PSU and Noctua NH-D15 heatsink.

Whatever you decide to get .. get a good cooling solution and make sure you're running at least a Gold rated PSU that's providing good stable power to all your components.
 

narsbars

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
1,973
I run 2 x 16GB 3200mhz CAS16 HyperX Predator's
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B07GNKTPH4/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o06_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
I have them running at 3800 CAS 18 w/IF@1900(1:1)
They've been pretty good cheaper sticks for me paired with my 3700x on an ASRock Steel Legend x570 mobo and 850wtt 80+ Gold rated EVGA GQ PSU and Noctua NH-D15 heatsink.

Whatever you decide to get .. get a good cooling solution and make sure you're running at least a Gold rated PSU that's providing good stable power to all your components.
I have a five year old 1K power supply, cheapie Rosewill, no seeming issues. Running a 1070, no OC. Maybe upgrade to a 1080ti when the market gets cheaper. My plan is to be able to afford the upgrades I have to stay about 2yrs behind.
 
Top