Allendale

Discussion in 'Intel Processors' started by khuyakuya, Oct 22, 2006.

  1. khuyakuya

    khuyakuya Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    280
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    I've seen quite a few people on these forums call the low end Core 2 Duo parts "Allendale", when in fact this is greatly incorrect. Allendale is a code name for something else from Intel and it isn't even known at this time if Allendale is even the codename for an upcoming cpu.
     
  2. newls1

    newls1 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    4,017
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Are you smoking so cheap sh*t :rolleyes: Even in CPUz says "allendale" All 2mb cache C2D's are allendales.
     
  3. JackAshley

    JackAshley Gawd

    Messages:
    729
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Actually, Intel has confirmed: Allendale is a different chip altogether :) the E4300 will be the first Allendale to be released.

    Quoted from TechReport:

    You'll find plenty of sources that will tell you the code name for these 2 MB Core 2 Duo processors is "Allendale," but Intel says otherwise. These CPUs are still code-named "Conroe," which makes sense since they're the same physical chips with half of their L2 cache disabled. Intel may well be cooking up a chip code-named Allendale with 2 MB of L2 cache natively, but this is not that chip.

    ...or so the story goes...:)

    -Ashley
     
  4. dekard

    dekard 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,190
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Allendale link anyone wanted to create a small post correcting this on Overclocking Wiki? Better to get it right now then wait too long.
     
  5. brucedeluxe169

    brucedeluxe169 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,720
    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2004
    Hey JackAshley, how much was your ECS motherboard in your sig?
     
  6. JackAshley

    JackAshley Gawd

    Messages:
    729
    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    got it for 90 bux canadian @ NCIX...so about 75 US (mega sale)...I think the price is up to about 125 canadian on it now though...gonna be honest, I was really skeptical, and planned on getting a better one as prices settled...but I was pleasantly surprised, and have decided to stick with this one!

    -Ashley
     
  7. Poncho

    Poncho [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,225
    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2003
    Internally EVERYBODY referred to the 2mb L2 "Conroes" as allendale. That was the name used when people talked about it so naturally it gets out. At some point Intel decided not to use that codename so they shitcanned it.... but they didn't really do a good job of getting that message out to people. I still hear people refer to them at work as Allendales. So nobody here is really wrong. Oh well... LOL
     
  8. newls1

    newls1 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    4,017
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Since I was incorrect, Im sorry for posting what I posted :(
     
  9. khuyakuya

    khuyakuya Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    280
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    No need to appologize, I actually was smokin cheap shit, I can't afford the high grade stuff anymore. lol anyway its all good dude.
     
  10. newls1

    newls1 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    4,017
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Cool, actually the POST that I used to make that up with made my HardOCP status go to 2H4U! So what ever that means, I think im proud of it :p
     
  11. dekard

    dekard 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,190
    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    And you should be! Congratulations!
     
  12. newls1

    newls1 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    4,017
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    :D ;)
     
  13. sardonic.n7

    sardonic.n7 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    273
    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Yeah, technically the 2 MB C2Ds are Conroes also, but who really cares.

    I got used to calling mine an Allendale too.
     
  14. Russell

    Russell Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    244
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2006
    I've been getting seriously tired of telling people the E6300 and E6400 are Conroes. I've gotten in numerous flamewars (including at least one here) regarding it.

    It's so nice to be right.
     
  15. khuyakuya

    khuyakuya Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    280
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    exactly. i mean its the equivalent of calling AMD Venice's, San Diego's.
     
  16. ir0nw0lf

    ir0nw0lf [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    6,258
    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2003
    Tell 'em you can magically re-enable the extra 2 MB of cache on the 6300/6400. ;)
     
  17. smilepak

    smilepak [H]Lite

    Messages:
    108
    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Really?! Cool! :rolleyes: