About Adapters

Discussion in 'Video Cards' started by balnazzar, Jun 14, 2018.

  1. balnazzar

    balnazzar [H]Lite

    Messages:
    86
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    I got to run a GTX 1070 on a PSU which just has a single 6-PIN rail, while the 1070 has a 8-pin connector.

    Now mates, please don't say "just buy a new PSU". The computer is a workstation having proprietary psu connectors for the mobo, so the only viable option is to use adapters. The 1070 requires 150W peak, PCIe slot provides 75W, I got to feed it the remaining 75.

    I could:

    1. Use a dual Molex-to-8pin adapter. Will it provide the necessary wattage?

    2. Use a 6pin-to-8pin adapter. AFAIK, a 6-pin rail is rated for 75W, so I should be OK (but then why the heck they put a 8pin connector on the 1070??)

    Ideally, I'd like to have a molex-to-2pin, but no one makes it.

    I'd like to hear your opinion.
    Thanks!!
     
  2. auntjemima

    auntjemima Hand Jobs Legend

    Messages:
    4,203
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2014
    I ran molex to 6 pin for 4 years in my tri-sli 8800gtx system. Burning power for days.

    A lot of people will insist you shouldn't, but it worked fine for me for years.
     
  3. GotNoRice

    GotNoRice [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,411
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2001
    You shouldn't even need an adapter for this. Just plug the 6-pin cable right into the 8-pin socket. The extra two holes are just ground.
     
    auntjemima likes this.
  4. T_A

    T_A Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    347
    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2005
    While technically true, some manufactures will not allow card to power without ground on the other 2 pins
    i had a Sapphire 280X and had to mod a couple of adapters for 6 > 8 pin so it would work on pc i had at the time.
     
    pendragon1 and auntjemima like this.
  5. balnazzar

    balnazzar [H]Lite

    Messages:
    86
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Thanks for your feedback, guys.

    However, I'd really like to hear some elaboration about 6-pin dedicated psu rail VS. molex/sata --> video card.
     
  6. RamonGTP

    RamonGTP [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,388
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    What kind of elaboration are you looking for? You’ve alaready established a new PSU isn’t an option so why even go down that route? It’s not rocket science, if your PSU has the power then it has the power and there’s nothing wrong with using adapters.
     
  7. balnazzar

    balnazzar [H]Lite

    Messages:
    86
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    I just wanted some futher considerations about the two different solutions. For example, I don't know if a rail intended to power hard drives could sustain 75W of continuous output...
     
  8. Susquehannock

    Susquehannock 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,968
    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    75 watt + 75 watt = you are fine.

    Key issue is, how many amps is the +12 volt rail supplying the 6-pin PCIe connector? Very likely it is capable of providing far more power than you need.

    Many are quick to say "6-pin is only 75 watts" etc ... but that is the minimum standard. Nothing about the connector itself controls wattage. That is a function of the PSU.

    Two 4-pin molex to 6-pin PCIe may work, but be aware you are asking two 12 volt wires to do the work normally allotted to three. And as you said. Is the rail powering the 4-pins up to the task?
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2018
  9. RamonGTP

    RamonGTP [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,388
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    No one can answer that question for you without knowing the specs if your PSU. I think you're also misinterpreting what rails mean. A rail is not the wire branch coming off the PSU, rails are basically circuit breakers inside the PSU. Most OEM power supplies have a single 12v rail and all the wire branches coming out of the PSU are powered by that single 12v rail. That said, IMO if you already have a 6 pin PCIe connector directly off the PSU, you're better off getting a 6 to 8 pin adapter than you are using a 4 pin molex. You may at some point have a need for those molex connectors where as the 6pin PCIe is really only good for video cards, and you are technically putting slightly less load on the wires even if their power source may be the same.
     
  10. balnazzar

    balnazzar [H]Lite

    Messages:
    86
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Last edited: Jun 16, 2018
  11. balnazzar

    balnazzar [H]Lite

    Messages:
    86
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Thank you for your reply. As you may see in may reply to ramon, the PSU label lists the amperages per rail. However, I do not know what of those rails controls the 6-pin cable.

    We have to assume it just has 15A. Will it be sufficient?
     
  12. RamonGTP

    RamonGTP [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,388
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    You would be cutting it exteremy close. That’s only 180watt capacity. Better hope it’s one of the 17amp rails.
     
    balnazzar likes this.
  13. AltTabbins

    AltTabbins Muh Feelz Got [H]urt Right in the Pussy

    Messages:
    18,230
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Have you thought about getting an adapter for the motherboard instead? Depending on what model of workstation you have, they might have something on ebay that would convert a standard PSU cables to what you need on the motherboard.
     
  14. RamonGTP

    RamonGTP [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,388
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Going to clarify this. If your PCI Express slot and 6 pin connector are on separate rails, you're ok. Unfortunately there's no way to tell from that image.
     
    balnazzar likes this.
  15. Skillz

    Skillz [H]ard DCOTY 2017

    Messages:
    21,237
    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Uh that appears to be a regular ATX power supply. None of the connectors on that PSU seem to be anything special.
     
  16. RamonGTP

    RamonGTP [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    7,388
    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    I googled the model number and it looks drastically different than a standard ATX PSU. In fact, It looks like this one runs exclusively off 12v for everything and has rectifiers on the board to adjust voltage to different components.
     
    balnazzar likes this.
  17. balnazzar

    balnazzar [H]Lite

    Messages:
    86
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Exactly. It just has two big 12V connectors. Then, there is a 8-pin outlet on the mobo that powers up any other device. It's not like Dell/HP stuff: you won't find any adapter for those units.

    This is the very reason for which they are crap cheap on ebay: I bought two kits (mobo, Xeon e5-1650v2 cpu, psu) for 59 euros each.

    Now, either I risk or I go for the so-called add2psu, but I'll need a 2-psu capable case.
     
  18. margrave

    margrave [H]Lite

    Messages:
    92
    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2018
    You mother board is non-standard you say? Ok, it has got to go. Instead of fussing and worrying over adapters or compatibility or PSU power ... just buy a new computer.
     
  19. balnazzar

    balnazzar [H]Lite

    Messages:
    86
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2013
    Yours was the most money-saving advice I got here! Besides, I didn't think about that.

    Thanks! :)
     
Tags: