9900k dropping to 4,5

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by demondrops, Nov 1, 2019.

  1. demondrops

    demondrops Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    415
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    So i put on OC on my cpu. Prety much followed the MSI guidelines.. Set ratio to 50, llc 3, intel c-state disabled, fixed vcore 1.3 works out to 1.32 in cpu-z under load, but in hwinfo i see voltage spike to like 1.5..? temps on intel burn test are around 60c, just like everything else, it start of at 5gh, but it drops @ 4,5 ish. can run smaller fft's on prime without crashing it run around 80c + - there..
     
  2. kirbyrj

    kirbyrj [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    24,640
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Is there a turbo duration in the bios? Either that or it's overheating and lowering clocks.
     
  3. demondrops

    demondrops Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    415
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    when i run intelburn on max temps stay around 60c tho. dont know about turbo duration
     
  4. kirbyrj

    kirbyrj [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    24,640
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Honestly, if your voltage is spiking to 1.5V and you're running a 9900k at 5Ghz, I don't believe that 60C is an accurate number short of some super custom water cooler.
     
    IdiotInCharge likes this.
  5. demondrops

    demondrops Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    415
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    y i figure it cant be accurate :p and i set it to 1.3 fixed.. cpu-z display "normal" vcore. but in hwinfo it is changing every second everything from 1.1 - 1.5.. vid is same like vcore right.

    anyway figure in intelburn it got no reason to throtle at those temps...
     
  6. vegeta535

    vegeta535 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,316
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2013
    Check your AVX offset in the bios. It might be set to +5 which would drop your over clock to 4.5 under AVX load.
     
    pendragon1 likes this.
  7. demondrops

    demondrops Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    415
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    hm no avx offset. i installed XTU, and it seems there is something Current/EDP Limit Throttling and it shows yes on using the stress tests. seems like it is undervolting and dropping more the closer it get to 80c tried the intel stress test and it drops less mhz, cinebench push it harder and it drops to 4,7.. but that test goes fast, and prime it drops it more, cause it run longer i guess. maybe my cooler just isnt up for it.

    so i should probs drop the oc a bit so i can hit lower voltage maybe it will make so i can do 4.8/9 or smh?
     
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2019
  8. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,931
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Recommend rechecking the cooler mounting as well. Sometimes...
     
  9. 5150Joker

    5150Joker 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,193
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    If it's dropping to 4.5 ghz, you have it setup wrong in the bios. Like some other said, its likely the AVX offset. If it is set to Auto (don't know what MSI bios looks like, I have a Gigabyte), depending on the bios, it will still kick in unless explicitly defined. So I'd check that along with the duration times in the bios and make sure those are maxed out. If by chance you are hitting TJunction (100C), that's the only time it should throttle down. Unless you're on a custom loop, I wouldn't bother with 5 ghz AVX because it will get too hot during long duration loads.

    P.S. Intel burn test is useless for stability testing.
     
  10. demondrops

    demondrops Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    415
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    hm checked bios it say auto so that why it do the throtlig then. only put a x42 i had from before with double fans, so not anything crazy.
     
  11. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,931
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    To prevent AVX from throttling, you'll need to set it to '0', as that integer is subtracted from the multiplier to find the AVX clockspeed limit.

    I.e., 4.5GHz corresponds with a multiplier of 50 and an AVX offset of 5, where a bus speed of 100MHz results in 5,000MHz without AVX and 4,500MHz with AVX.

    Also, you'll probably not want to leave it there, as noted above.
     
    vegeta535 likes this.
  12. demondrops

    demondrops Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    415
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    tried to set avx ofset to 0 but it did same as before ??? but i guess just running it stock isnt half bad, rather that then have a "fake" overclock that dont work :p stock actually worked just the same as the recomended settings on official MSI site for a good 9900k oc lol.. and it scored way higher on XTU bench also. this blog post on MSI dont mention anything about avx weird enough. actually thougt it ran at 5ghz to begin with xD
     
  13. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,931
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    ...then you're likely throttling due to thermals.
     
  14. demondrops

    demondrops Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    415
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    think i figure it out now, it's the motherboar VRM that make the cpu throttle. it reach like 98c and then it start going like that, put the overlay on XTU and in hwinfo i can see the temps. i just set multicore ratio 50x and everything to auto, fired up prime small fft and it does stay at 5ghz until the vrm's get too hot! cpu temp never got higher then 81c
     
    IdiotInCharge and DooKey like this.
  15. IdiotInCharge

    IdiotInCharge [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,931
    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Well get a fan on them then ;)
     
  16. demondrops

    demondrops Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    415
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    hm set 2 intake on them as i got the upside down cabinet, increased exhaust rpm also, it climbed to 96c before i shut down prime. just read this motherboard got crap vrms so idk, literally one of the first entries to come up on google :p now i think to call where i bought it on monday and see if i can get a better board. was not an expensive or cheap board either, just midrange ish.
     
  17. demondrops

    demondrops Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    415
    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2016
    just got the aorus elite, apparently it's suposed to have the best vrm's, same like pro. atleast in those price ranges. so have to redo this evening. dont feel too comfortable having a board that have this bad vrm. it's good enough for games but. i supose it is a good idea to change it? edit: temps on vrm is laughably low now lol. seems like it was a good idea afterall. what i cant figure out is how enabling XMP profile auto clocks the cpu to 5ghz stable on prety low voltages.
     
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2019