$499 PS3 will NOT have HDMI

Discussion in 'Console Gaming & Acc.' started by ne0-reloaded, May 8, 2006.

  1. ne0-reloaded

    ne0-reloaded [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,216
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
  2. Gnu314

    Gnu314 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    340
    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2004
    I think that means you won't get the HDMI cables...

    Edit, after reading that I'm not so sure.
     
  3. Trinitrotoluene

    Trinitrotoluene Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    180
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2004
    Buy the $599 version then. What is there to be pissed about
     
  4. Trinitrotoluene

    Trinitrotoluene Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    180
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2004
  5. ne0-reloaded

    ne0-reloaded [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,216
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    i was planning on getting the 599 version anyway, but think about how many people who'll buy 499 version thinking their getting blu-ray/wireless networking. i mean the main feature of the ps3 was blu-ray, and if this is true, thats really fucked up what their doing with their sku's.
     
  6. laxmiddi44

    laxmiddi44 Gawd

    Messages:
    863
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    will the $500 be able to play HD movies that is the main question? if th e 500 can still play HD movies without HDMI then i dont care about having HDMI
     
  7. Trinitrotoluene

    Trinitrotoluene Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    180
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2004
    They are getting Blu-ray with the 499 version, but not the wireless. Look at the freaken picture I posted

    component cables can do 1080i and 1080p but the TV is the main issue
     
  8. K10

    K10 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,307
    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    i think sony is trying to pull a 3DO. $499 for the 20-gig system is way beyond the price point for a successful system launch. and with rising energy prices and people spending less on consumer electronics across the board, i say this is the beginning of the end for sony's market share dominance. word.
     
  9. Triple B

    Triple B Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    192
    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Taken from wikipedia.org

    Another aspect of compatibility is more problematic. Due to AACS copy protection, the Blu-ray players will only output HD content via HDMI and DVI-D connections, meaning that older HDTV models with Component, RGB D-Sub, and DVI-A inputs (currently, majority of HDTVs in US) will only display video at standard definition or not at all.

    So no, you most likely will NOT be "getting" blu-ray with the 499 flavor if I'm understanding this correctly.
     
  10. Trinitrotoluene

    Trinitrotoluene Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    180
    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2004
    yeah the HDCP protection limits it to those two outputs. It probably converts to 1080i
     
  11. AndoOKC1

    AndoOKC1 Gawd

    Messages:
    518
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2005
    What Triple B said is absolutely true. New HI DEF DVD standards mandate that all HI-DEF content be transmitted over HDMI and to HDCP compliant monitors. Sof if $499 has no HDMI then absolutely means no HI DEF blu ray capabilities.
     
  12. laxmiddi44

    laxmiddi44 Gawd

    Messages:
    863
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    wait so will component even be able to display 720p movies? or just not 1080p movies.

    someone break this down for me so i can understand it please thx
     
  13. Carbon_Le

    Carbon_Le [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,361
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2005
    If there is no blu ray how the hell are you goin to play the games? sony said all games will be in bd format...im getting confuse now. :confused:
     
  14. PikachuMan

    PikachuMan Gawd

    Messages:
    531
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    *this is optional, and will only be done when the movie-disk specifies. None of the initial Bluray/HD-DVD releases will have this limitation.

    *this also affects HD-DVD players (they utilize the same AACS copy protection).

    ---------------
    Sucks that HDMI isn't included in the 20GB version though.
     
  15. Orange.exe

    Orange.exe Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    225
    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    I believe (correct me if i'm wrong) the games will play on blue ray, but just not in hd. You will be able to play in 480p and 480i (standard definition) though.
     
  16. laxmiddi44

    laxmiddi44 Gawd

    Messages:
    863
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    you can run HD games without HDMI thats not the issue

    you can't run HD bluray movies at full resolution without HDMI tho...or at least thats what i understand it to be
     
  17. lesman

    lesman 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,913
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    Here's the lowdown on HDMI and HDCP: (it's old news BTW)

    The player itself will look for something called an "ICT" or "Image Constraint Token". IF found on the Blu-Ray disc, and IF you don't have an HDMI connection, the movie will be downscaled to a smaller resolution.

    NOW, if this Image Constraint Token is NOT found on the BD-ROM, then the player will NOT downscale the resolution even if you don't use an HDMI connection.

    That said, for the foreseeable future, most studios will NOT use the Image Constraint Token on the BD-ROM, therefore, for the foreseeable future, movies on Blu-Ray media will not be downscaled, even if you don't use HDMI. Google it.
     
  18. Erasmus354

    Erasmus354 [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    9,394
    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2004
    I have only heard that HD-DVD made it optional, I thought Blu-Ray still required HDMI. In any case, when they limit the resolution over component it is limited to 480P (DVD) resolution.
     
  19. lesman

    lesman 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,913
    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2004
    It's both camps. Here's just one LINK
     
  20. PikachuMan

    PikachuMan Gawd

    Messages:
    531
    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2004
    No, the downsampling of movies is a limitation caused by overzealous anti-piracy movie producers. It has nothing to do with blu-ray as a storage/game medium.

    You do not need HDMI to give you 720p/1080i/1080p output from your PS3. Component cables will work just fine.
     
  21. psychoace

    psychoace [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,068
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2002
    Sony and a lot of publishers have already confirmed they will allow HD over component without downsampling for atleast a few years because there would be no one watching the movies otherwise.
     
  22. ClearM4

    ClearM4 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,320
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    Yes, but from my understanding movie studios are requiring HDMI. So without it your blueray drive will output 480p video (DVD standard).

    Edit, above post answers this clear enough.
     
  23. qbert3

    qbert3 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,138
    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    heh.... gas prices... ps3.... wekfjaeblhflawebhFUCK
     
  24. MonkeyShave

    MonkeyShave Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    497
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    More precisely, the movie studios get to decide when to cut you off.

    They'll permit you to watch the first few rounds of movies in HD but soon enough they'll drop the hammer with the ICT. Even the dumbest of schoolyard drug dealers know that tactic.
     
  25. Martyr

    Martyr 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    3,653
    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    knowing sony, they will be one of the first to require it. that will make some funny headlines.
     
  26. JethroXP

    JethroXP [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,181
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Did anyone else notice the weight? 5kg, that's 11 lbs. That's about 50% heavier than an Xbox360 which only weighs 7 lbs. Not a big deal, just sort of raised my eyebrows when I saw it.
     
  27. KompressorV12

    KompressorV12 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    238
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    it is one thing if HDMI was an additional attachment you could buy later but i'm assuming you can't, and that will be pretty devistating for their "1080p" campaign
     
  28. KompressorV12

    KompressorV12 Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    238
    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    it is also much larger than the x360

    playstation3 325mm wide x 98mm high x 274mm deep
    xbox360 309mm wide x 83mm high x 258mm deep
     
  29. Coldtronius

    Coldtronius Gawd

    Messages:
    631
    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2006
    As I recall, PS2 and XBOX wern't lightweights either during their launches. Hell, look at how big size wise the PSX was.
     
  30. JethroXP

    JethroXP [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,181
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Yeah, but that was then, this is now. We don't compare the size of new cell phones to ones from a few years ago, because those were bricks and we have razors now. As technology progesses, things get smaller. That's why I was a bit surprised to see how heavy it was. With that much "stuff" crammed in there, it makes me wonder what the thermal specs look like.
     
  31. zero002021

    zero002021 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,317
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    I sense another overheating console launch fiasco. :p
     
  32. ne0-reloaded

    ne0-reloaded [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,216
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Hopefully Sony clears this up during e3. I'm gonna go ahead and assume that sony just mean that the cable isn't included, and not the HDMI port. The pdf i posted had hdmi x1...sony has said the ps3 is supposed to have 2xhdmi, so im gonna assume none of the specs have changed regarding that.

    either way, im still gonna get one come november. im just hoping for a good launch lineup.
     
  33. dotK

    dotK [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,601
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2006
    Which means we'll have a bunch of 15 year olds failing chemistry giving lectures on heat transfer and why the PS3 is doomed to fail because of thermal issues. Also, they will go on to say they have the solution to the problem and the cure for AIDS.
     
  34. JethroXP

    JethroXP [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,181
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    http://ps3.ign.com/articles/705/705887p1.html

    According to this article on IGN, the lower priced model does not have HDMI, and the higher priced model only includes one.

    Looks Like Sony scaled back from their earlier announcements.
     
  35. ClearM4

    ClearM4 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,320
    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2005
    My biggest disappointment with the PS3 is no ball shaver :(
     
  36. MasterShredder

    MasterShredder 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,998
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Since they had to axe the rumble feature, the ball shaver had to go too. The rumble was the drivetrain of the ball shaver, so alas, no ball shaver. :(
     
  37. |MaguS|

    |MaguS| [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,935
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    You have to consider that the PS3 also has an internal powersupply unlike the black box the X360 uses. Atleast it looks like it has an internal one do to the power connector on the back of the console.
     
  38. jebo_4jc

    jebo_4jc [H]ard|DCer of the Month - April 2011

    Messages:
    14,521
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    If the $499 model allows full resolution DVDs and games over component cables, I'm in for one. I can live without wifi (I would probably hard-wire ethernet anyway), I DEFINITELY don't need memory card slots on it, and I can deal with the constraints of the 20gb HDD. Besides, before too long Sony will be offering bigger HDDs as an add-on, so I'll just buy one of those if needed.

    Really, the $499 model seems to be pretty cheap, if you factor in the cost of a standalone BD-DVD player. As long as the thing isn't limited to 480p over component cables, I'm happy.

    I really hope we get a definitive announcement about the resolution supported over component cables soon.
     
  39. MasterShredder

    MasterShredder 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,998
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Does the PS3 have an option to upgrade the hardware, like a bigger HDD? I can't tell from the pics of it, but it doesn't look like there's any removable slots for HDD replacement on it.
     
  40. jebo_4jc

    jebo_4jc [H]ard|DCer of the Month - April 2011

    Messages:
    14,521
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    It has 4 usb ports I think. An additional hdd could be connected via usb.