4690k Bus Speed Stuck

Joined
May 20, 2011
Messages
896
I noticed today my PC was running a little sluggish. Opened up CPUZ and noticed the bus speed was at 95MHz instead of the normal 99.98 or whatever it normally is. Had BLCK set to auto in the bios so I manually set it to 100mhz, still stuck at 95mhz. Disabled all c-states, same thing. Tried 101mhz, nothing. Was running normal just a few weeks ago, haven't changed anything sense then. Any ideas, thanks!
 

Araxie

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 11, 2013
Messages
6,452
load default settings in BIOS and start again.. save your OC settings manually in a paper not in a profile so you avoid any issue or bug related... you can also try a CMos reset..
 

kirbyrj

Fully [H]
Joined
Feb 1, 2005
Messages
28,826
Something else is wrong. I can't imagine the difference between 100mhz and 95mhz in bus speed would be manifest itself as being "sluggish."
 

Monkey God

Mangina Full of Sand
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
6,723
Something else is wrong. I can't imagine the difference between 100mhz and 95mhz in bus speed would be manifest itself as being "sluggish."

Indeed, unlikely someone would notice that unless there were other things going on as well.
 

Araxie

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 11, 2013
Messages
6,452
no.. its actually completely normal.. a problem with a so lowered bus, in mainstream boards, the bus can be increased/decreased maximum 3% so they can safely operate at 97mhz - 103mhz range.. anything above or below that range will certainly cause general issues and serious stability problems.. which are perfectly indicated by the OP "sluggish" system behavior..
 
Joined
May 20, 2011
Messages
896
Turns out this was caused by having Hyper-V installed, messing around with pstates or something. Uninstalled and went back to normal 99.98Mhz. More information here: http://www.reddit.com/r/overclocking/comments/2hesko/update_bus_speed_fluctuates_between_9599_mhz/

Was definitely having stability issues while the bus was at 95mhz, games crashing and such, and it all started when I decided to play around with a little VM. A weird bug as it locked the Bus at 95mhz even when I cleared the cmos and ran stock.
 

Araxie

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 11, 2013
Messages
6,452
weird bug seriously.. all haswell including K series support VT-D and VT-X.. a bug in the installation maybe?.. anyway glad to know everything its fixed.. now its time to find how to avoid the bug while enabling hyper-V.. there are too many variables all can begin with a corrupted installation of windows 8.
 
Joined
May 20, 2011
Messages
896
Seems like alot of people are having a similar issue to differing degrees, maybe a power saving feature not working correctly. Might be some setting to disable it, haven't really looked into it. I'm using VirtualBox now and that is working just fine. Would also like to note that I'm having no problems with hyperV with my x5660 system, both use Windows 8.

Edit: was also having artifacts/screen tearing, especially while booting. : http://www.eightforums.com/virtualization/30128-performace-hit-hyper-v-installed.html
 
Top