290x - flicker flicker - corrupt - black screen

H-street

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 25, 2005
Messages
4,538
has anyone seen anything like this before.

I have a power color 290x and I've been having a black screen issue

Playing a game the screen with flicker with corrupt images and then Eventually go to a black screen

Today my pic came out of sleep mode and the next thing I hear my fan ramp up and flicker corrupt images and then black screen
 

pendragon1

Extremely [H]
Joined
Oct 7, 2000
Messages
34,192
If it's OCd back it of a bit and also try cleaning and a re-paste. Make sure the fans are spinning correctly too.
 

DrLobotomy

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
May 19, 2016
Messages
6,736
^^This.

Maybe try a different Power Supply. Rip out and re-install drivers too.
 

H-street

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 25, 2005
Messages
4,538
no OC at all , i'll have to hunt down a Power Supply to test with..

I tried last night and didn't OC but boosted the PowerLimit to +50 and I was actually able to play for about an hour.. not sure what is going on.. not sure if I need to voltage boost to get it stable or what not..

Very frustrating.. don't want ot have to buy a new card
 

a3venom

Gawd
Joined
Mar 3, 2015
Messages
695
If Temps are fine - nothing is wrong with the cooler. Also Check VRM temps in GPU-Z or HWMonitor (should not be more than 120c under heavy load)
Dialing clock/mem speeds back to like 950 / 1200 and see if still persists.
Try increasing voltage a bit by lets say 25mv. If none helps then its probably time to RMA.

And yeah it is also quite likely to be PSU related, what PSU are you using right now?

Your flickering and going black is mostly when memory isn't stable - so i think increasing volts should solve this issue. Nothing unsafe with inceasing 25mv
 

Rvenger

2[H]4U
Joined
Sep 12, 2012
Messages
2,526
You need the bios with a higher idle voltage. I have the BIOS fix for the 290 but not the 290x. Let me see if I can find one for you.
 

Araxie

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 11, 2013
Messages
6,452
as was asked above, confirm if you are using DisplayPort. there's a nasty displayport bug since the launch of 290 series, that was present with only DisplayPort cables, that have long time used or very old models.. most users fix the issue by changing to a new higher quality DP cable, I suffered from that and the permanent solution was to change to Dual-Link DVI with my 390X.
 

H-street

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 25, 2005
Messages
4,538
I am using DVI.. Thanks Rvenger If you find one let me know.. so far for the last 4 days with the Power Limit @ +50% I've been able to play stable so far

my Power supply is a Corsair TX850W

Temps are fine .. I've even tried higher Fan Profiles and @ stock Power Settings I get the same crashing..

I haven't done any voltage increasing before as I never overclock but I may have to look into it


Thanks for all the feedback so far
 

a3venom

Gawd
Joined
Mar 3, 2015
Messages
695
I am using DVI.. Thanks Rvenger If you find one let me know.. so far for the last 4 days with the Power Limit @ +50% I've been able to play stable so far

my Power supply is a Corsair TX850W

Temps are fine .. I've even tried higher Fan Profiles and @ stock Power Settings I get the same crashing..

I haven't done any voltage increasing before as I never overclock but I may have to look into it


Thanks for all the feedback so far

Unlock Voltage control in MSI afterburner settings.
Go to MSI afterburner > Settings > Force constant voltage.
And increase your voltage by +25

If you dont get the crashes anymore, you can confirm that this is indeed a voltage issue and a modded bios will fix it.
 

H-street

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Feb 25, 2005
Messages
4,538
is there a guide for the bios mod? even under the switched bios I am now getting the same thing.. the odd thing is it works fine for a week without running the MSI Afterburner (I'm trying to determine if voltage is the issue) and then one day nothing but black screens until I apply a voltage increase from MSI Afterburner

so I think I've convinced myself it is a voltage problem..
 
Top