10900k can't reach 5.3

andsk8

n00b
Joined
Jun 6, 2020
Messages
8
Hi, I just build my system with Intel 10900k. Coupled with Asus STRIX Z490 E and Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB 3600. Cpu cooler is Corsair h150i 360 mm.
Ive installed everything, the system is working. I have a score of 6025 in Cinebench 20.
But I have a problem.
With Open Hardware Monitor and CPU-Z, I see the cpu goes up to 4900mhz in all cores, which is totally fine. I see some random cores go to up to 5.1, when my computer is started.
My temps are around 34C on idle and 72C in benchmarking.
I never see 5.3 as advised on Intel. No mater what option I change, I never reach 5.3. My temps are ok, so its not about that. I wonder if I'm missing some configuration on the BIOS. I have multi core enhancement to auto, pretty much everything in auto, like turbo boos, and avx.
I understand this feature should work by itself without messing around with bios settings.
Have anyone had the same problem?
Thanks
 

Absalom

Gawd
Joined
Oct 3, 2007
Messages
911
Thermal Velocity Boost is the technology Intel is using in the i9 10900k to achieve those speeds. Turbo Boost, the fallback boosting technology, will only get you to 5.1 Ghz.

TVB only ever works on one or two cores, and typically the cpu internal temps must be below 50C for it to "boost" up. It's not something that is meant to work all the time. The conditions have to be just right.

Intel has been marketing TVB at gamers or anyone using single threaded workloads. The irony is that only older games fall into that category. A newer or cutting edge game engine will never be single threaded. So TVB has limited use case.
 
Last edited:

5150Joker

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Aug 1, 2005
Messages
4,569
Should've waited on the new Ryzen tbh. I see zero reason right now to get a consumer Intel CPU.
 

Falkentyne

[H]ard|Gawd
Joined
Jul 19, 2000
Messages
1,764
Hi, I just build my system with Intel 10900k. Coupled with Asus STRIX Z490 E and Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB 3600. Cpu cooler is Corsair h150i 360 mm.
Ive installed everything, the system is working. I have a score of 6025 in Cinebench 20.
But I have a problem.
With Open Hardware Monitor and CPU-Z, I see the cpu goes up to 4900mhz in all cores, which is totally fine. I see some random cores go to up to 5.1, when my computer is started.
My temps are around 34C on idle and 72C in benchmarking.
I never see 5.3 as advised on Intel. No mater what option I change, I never reach 5.3. My temps are ok, so its not about that. I wonder if I'm missing some configuration on the BIOS. I have multi core enhancement to auto, pretty much everything in auto, like turbo boos, and avx.
I understand this feature should work by itself without messing around with bios settings.
Have anyone had the same problem?
Thanks

To reach 5.3 you MUST have c-states enabled and you MUST be on windows 1903 or newer!
5.3 can only work if windows can put some cores to sleep so the other ones can boost on 2 core loads.
 

noko

Supreme [H]ardness
Joined
Apr 14, 2010
Messages
6,263
To reach 5.3 you MUST have c-states enabled and you MUST be on windows 1903 or newer!
5.3 can only work if windows can put some cores to sleep so the other ones can boost on 2 core loads.
Would that mean using the Balance Power Plan vice the High Performance power plan in Windows?
 

andsk8

n00b
Joined
Jun 6, 2020
Messages
8
To reach 5.3 you MUST have c-states enabled and you MUST be on windows 1903 or newer!
5.3 can only work if windows can put some cores to sleep so the other ones can boost on 2 core loads.
Im already on that configuration. Windows 2004 and C-STATES enabled. It would be very handy, if any of you that could reach Intel specs, acan post your bios screenshots, and if they are asus, much much better.

ty
 

andsk8

n00b
Joined
Jun 6, 2020
Messages
8
Thermal Velocity Boost is the technology Intel is using in the i9 10900k to achieve those speeds. Turbo Boost, the fallback boosting technology, will only get you to 5.1 Ghz.

TVB only ever works on one or two cores, and typically the cpu internal temps must be below 50C for it to "boost" up. It's not something that is meant to work all the time. The conditions have to be just right.

Intel has been marketing TVB at gamers or anyone using single threaded workloads. The irony is that only older games fall into that category. A newer or cutting edge game engine will never be single threaded. So TVB has limited use case.
Yeah, I know that, and im ok with it. The thing is, I dont see a way of enabling TVB on my asus motherboard. I do see the option of Turbo Boost 3.0, which is enabled. And I also see that the BIOS shows me in yellow what the target frequency is, and I do see that its 5300mhz, but I just dont see that on windows, in stand by with 0% cpu usage. The max I see is 5.0 in 2 or 3 cores. Even with Multi Core Enhancment what I see is 4.9 on all cores, when I unterstand should be 5.1.
 

andsk8

n00b
Joined
Jun 6, 2020
Messages
8
To reach 5.3 you MUST have c-states enabled and you MUST be on windows 1903 or newer!
5.3 can only work if windows can put some cores to sleep so the other ones can boost on 2 core loads.
MAN! C-STATES where in Auto. I changed that to enabled, and PUM
I see 5.3 on random cores all the time.
That fixed my problem, I was about to change the motherboard for an MSI, brand I dont like at all.

Thanks! Heres a potato for you 🥔

After these changes, Cinebench jumped to 6125 points and max temp is still 75-77C. So Im quite ok with these settings.
 
Joined
Jan 16, 2013
Messages
2,318
MAN! C-STATES where in Auto. I changed that to enabled, and PUM
I see 5.3 on random cores all the time.
That fixed my problem, I was about to change the motherboard for an MSI, brand I dont like at all.

Thanks! Heres a potato for you 🥔

After these changes, Cinebench jumped to 6125 points and max temp is still 75-77C. So Im quite ok with these settings.

Man that doesn't make much sense, c-states are almost always enabled by default when on auto. Might get fixed in later bios revisions.
 

Ready4Dis

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 4, 2015
Messages
2,466
Well, it says Up to 5.3ghz.
(Maybe on one core sometimes)
Oh... Lol so when AMD said up to everyone freaked out it was 50MHz; why, for Intel would they get a pass? Both need to be held accountable for what they say.

That said, it was a c state issue, but giving out free passes for one and not another is silly.
 

Ready4Dis

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 4, 2015
Messages
2,466
MAN! C-STATES where in Auto. I changed that to enabled, and PUM
I see 5.3 on random cores all the time.
That fixed my problem, I was about to change the motherboard for an MSI, brand I dont like at all.

Thanks! Heres a potato for you 🥔

After these changes, Cinebench jumped to 6125 points and max temp is still 75-77C. So Im quite ok with these settings.
Glad it was an easy fix.
 

andsk8

n00b
Joined
Jun 6, 2020
Messages
8
Hi, I just build my system with Intel 10900k. Coupled with Asus STRIX Z490 E and Corsair Vengeance Pro RGB 3600. Cpu cooler is Corsair h150i 360 mm.
Ive installed everything, the system is working. I have a score of 6025 in Cinebench 20.
But I have a problem.
With Open Hardware Monitor and CPU-Z, I see the cpu goes up to 4900mhz in all cores, which is totally fine. I see some random cores go to up to 5.1, when my computer is started.
My temps are around 34C on idle and 72C in benchmarking.
I never see 5.3 as advised on Intel. No mater what option I change, I never reach 5.3. My temps are ok, so its not about that. I wonder if I'm missing some configuration on the BIOS. I have multi core enhancement to auto, pretty much everything in auto, like turbo boos, and avx.
I understand this feature should work by itself without messing around with bios settings.
Have anyone had the same problem?
Thanks
UPDATE:

It wasn't the C-STATE. The was just a combination of factors that made me believe it was that.

The problem is Corsair iCUE software.

With everything on default, excepto for XMP Profile I was able to find the issue. When the Corsair software is running, it uses 5% of cpu, that make believe Windows that the cpu is not in lazy mode, as soon as you exit the soft, PUM, everything works.

I was reading on the net, it does the same on 9900k, but as far as I found, not on all motherboards.

Anyway, as for the momento i have Corisar enabled becuase i need to turn of the lights, but looks like theres something wrong with that soft.
 

LGabrielPhoto

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
3,127
Oh... Lol so when AMD said up to everyone freaked out it was 50MHz; why, for Intel would they get a pass? Both need to be held accountable for what they say.

That said, it was a c state issue, but giving out free passes for one and not another is silly.
Because it ws not the c state issue, and AMD is the one getting passes all the time ;)
 

Ready4Dis

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 4, 2015
Messages
2,466
Because it ws not the c state issue, and AMD is the one getting passes all the time ;)
I see it was some other software that looked like a c state issus. My point was AMD shouldn't have done what they did, and at the same time it wouldn't be right to give Intel a free pass either (because they said "up to"). So, not really sure what your argument is. Neither deserves a free pass, and the argument that some people gave AMD a free pass doesn't make it right. Taco at the time didn't know what the issue was, but jumped to the defense of "it says up to". I haven't heard this complaint before so I didn't think it was a widespread issue, just wanted to point out nobody should get a free pass. If you have issues with others giving AMD a free pass, then call them out. Don't pretend like everyone gave AMD a free pass, if they did AMD wouldn't have been forced to fix their screw up.
 

Ready4Dis

2[H]4U
Joined
Nov 4, 2015
Messages
2,466
UPDATE:

It wasn't the C-STATE. The was just a combination of factors that made me believe it was that.

The problem is Corsair iCUE software.

With everything on default, excepto for XMP Profile I was able to find the issue. When the Corsair software is running, it uses 5% of cpu, that make believe Windows that the cpu is not in lazy mode, as soon as you exit the soft, PUM, everything works.

I was reading on the net, it does the same on 9900k, but as far as I found, not on all motherboards.

Anyway, as for the momento i have Corisar enabled becuase i need to turn of the lights, but looks like theres something wrong with that soft.
Thanks for the follow up so others know what to look for it they run into the same issue. Glad you were able to track it down!
 

LGabrielPhoto

2[H]4U
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
3,127

Attachments

  • download.jpg
    download.jpg
    9.3 KB · Views: 0

sirmonkey1985

[H]ard|DCer of the Month - July 2010
Joined
Sep 13, 2008
Messages
22,230
Man that doesn't make much sense, c-states are almost always enabled by default when on auto. Might get fixed in later bios revisions.

some of the board manufactures intentionally have c-state set to disabled when set to auto. maybe they went conservative on the setting to keep people from using shit coolers to be able to have TVB running by default.. but there's some really screwy stuff going on with the board manufactures for z490.
 
Top