Yes I am a student

essi1553

Limp Gawd
I am having a major problem with such a simple solution:

{
if ((month == 4) && (day >= 1) && (month == 4) && (day <= 31))
penalty = (( day / 30 ) * 400);

else
if ((month == 5) && (day >= 1) && (month == 5) && (day <= 31))
penalty = ((( day / 30 ) * 400) + 400);

else
if ((month == 6) && (day >= 1) && (month == 6) && (day <= 31))
penalty = ((( day / 30 ) * 400) + 800);
}

For some odd reason I cannot have the program provide the correct calculation when I enter the correct varibles. If I satisfy any of the above arguments it calculates an answer of 800 which is the last arguement.

Am I spacing it wrong? Are the if statments contradictory (I don't see how, I think I locked them in place pretty well)? I feel like such an idiot asking this, but its driving me crazy.

I don't want the answer, per the rules, I just want a kick in the head if you will... Maybe that will makes all the pieces fall into place.

First of all, there is quite a bit of redundancy in your code. You are checking months twice per if statement, which is unnecessary. Also, you are checking the same day bounds each time; you could pull those checks out and only check them once before you even fall into that segment of code. So if you check the day first, then all you need to do for each of those if statements is check the month.

Another problem is you are dividing an int by an int(assuming the day variable is an int), which will give you an int, which will always be 0 in this case. You'll have to get a float out of that division for the formula to work.

Not sure if that'll totally fix your problem, but it'll give you a good starting point to cleaning up the code at least.

Thank you for that kick in the head :)

I know I am using un-neccesacey memory buy making my lines unbelievable large and redundant, but im not to sure of myself in this field just yet. I like to try to play cautious.