WMware Workstation 6.5.2 corrupting boot.ini and causing LSH Export errors?

xfile

Limp Gawd
If anyone can help, please do. I posted this over at VMWare's site too.

Hello all,

I am a novice VM user and soon-to-be ex-user if I can't find a solution. I recently started using Workstation 6.5.2. After a day or so of use, my PC indicates the boot.ini file is invalid and I my initial launch of the WinXP desktop sometimes generates an LSA Export error, as well as an error code related to the Sasser worm. (I also occasionally received a message that Data Execution Prevention had kicked in).

As several online scans and my local AV indicated no infection, I was highly doubtful of a worm infection. The laptop was problem free until the initial installation and subsequent use of Workstation 6.5.2. As part of my troubleshooting, I reformatted the laptop, reinstalled Win XP (32 bit), Office 2007, and Workstation 6.5.2. Within a day, the same errors appeared. I reformatted and reinstalled everything again, except for Workstation 6.5.2 - no problems for several days.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

My specs:
HP laptop 6710b
Windows XP (32 bit) SP2, fully patched
2 Gig ram
Office 2007 w/SP2
McAfee AV

Last edited:
never heard of it and never seen it, and I run that version on 2 different XP 32 systems all the time.

Workstation was obtained from VMWare's website. All other software is legit too. (this is my work laptop)

I am problem-free for about a week now...the only variable now is VMWare....I haven't installed it yet.

-corrected typo, the error was actually LSA (not LSH)

-add'l info - there was a message relating to lsass.exe prior to the 60 automatic shutdown
- also, System Restore would no longer allow a successful restore and I wasn't able to perform a normal OS shutdown because I didn't have sufficient rights apparently

I would say vmware shouldnt be touching your bootini files at all for your main OS...