Wireless router install and questions

BoredTiger

Limp Gawd
Hello everyone.

I've been using a very old Linksys router for the past 5-6 years (BE????? - something or another).

I've just purchased a LINKSYS WRT54G.

I haven't opened the box yet, but I wanted to know, what types of things I should be aware of concerning security of the wireless network and installing this new router.

I'm not the most patient person, when it comes to diagnosing and troubleshooting network issues. I'd like to know if this will be a relatively "pain-free" swap of my old Linksys router to this new one with wireless functionality.

I've recently purchased a laptop that I would rather not wire to the router and sit next to my desktop (defeats the purpose). So, I purchased a wireless router. I purchased the Linksys, mainly because my prevous router was a Linksys, and I surmised that using the same OEM would possibly limit any configuration or complicated installation issues.

I am currently using VERIZON DSL, and none of their software on my machine.

I mainly websurf, online game (FPS) and also have my game console connected (having tried online-console gaming).

So here are my main questions:

Are there any particular things I should pay special attention to when I begin exchanging the old router with the new one?

Do I have to install the included software in order for the new router to work?

How concerned should I be about securing my wireless network (I've never had a wireless network)? I've heard that you can make your network "invisible" and only available to a given wireless laptop if needs be.

Will I gain any advantage in bandwidth by upgrading to the newer WRT54G router? My desktops and console will be connected by network cable (cat5). Will the throughput for wired connections be any better?

With this in mind, should I even consider buying one of those NIC cards designed for gaming (e.g. Killer NIC)?