Wireless router for gaming, need help choosing!

Rob36

Limp Gawd
Hey there, I love computers, and the games with it (CS:S, and crysis and quake wars when they come out, BF2 every now and then as well)

I'm a college student and last year was great, I go to purdue and had the super fast connection everyone loves at a college campus. Next year however, I will be living in the fraternity house. This is going to be tons of fun obviously, but the problem is that they dont have as fast of internet. They have two cable modems for the entire 'house', and that means that its split between around 40 guys, making gaming impossible unless i'm gaming at 4am (not likely). Right across the street from me however, is the union, library and undergraduate library. I believe with a strong wireless router, i could pick up the signal no problem, but my question is which router to select? I dont know that much about networking, my friend told me to look at the N routers (as opposed to the 'G'). I looked on newegg and saw these two routers, one being N and one being G. Whats the difference, but my bigger question is, which router would you guys reccommend (DOES NOT HAVE TO BE ONE OF THOSE TWO). Any tips, links and prices, pros and / or cons would be great. Thank you so much again!

-Rob

router 1, looked like it had good reviews
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833127158

router 2, not sure, its 'N' though?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833124084

once again, the router you recommend doesnt have to be one of these two routers, those are just two i looked at and they seemed 'decent'

what would you say the range on that is? im not sure exactly how far away, a year a 2 (maybe 4) lane road and another yard (the school). I've heard of wokfi'ing, or of using hacked firmware, would either of that be necessary?

also just want to confirm that with a wireless router you can pick up signals, not just send them, correct?