Wired vs Wireless

Discussion in 'Networking & Security' started by Durvelle27, Dec 7, 2017 at 2:40 PM.

  1. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,913
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Alright guys I have a rather short question. What would you guys recommend ? A wired network or wireless network. I’m going to be moving soon into a new house that is about 1800sqft and need to get a decent network going. I currently have a 200MBs plan currently and mostly use the Internet for 4K streaming and online gaming (PC & Xbox One) ?

    If wireless what router would you recommend under $120

    Thanks in advance for any advice
     
  2. beyonddc

    beyonddc Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    327
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2002
    A wired network is always better
     
    Sulphademus and Dan_D like this.
  3. jardows

    jardows Gawd

    Messages:
    794
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    Wired. Always wired. Only use wireless if you must. Ethernet > MoCA > Powerline > Wi-Fi.
     
  4. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,913
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    So better to run CAT through out the house
     
  5. jardows

    jardows Gawd

    Messages:
    794
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    If that is an option, absolutely. That way, if you do need Wi-fi for phones, tablets, etc., and a part of the house has poor Wi-Fi reception, it is a simple task to add an access point to the Ethernet connection to provide good Wi-Fi in that area.

    My opinion, based on having a job troubleshooting wi-fi connections for the past 7+ years, is if it can connect by Ethernet and it doesn't normally move, connect it by Ethernet. Even if you have to get a USB to Ethernet adapter, it is going to be faster and more reliable than Wi-Fi.
     
  6. Cmustang87

    Cmustang87 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    4,069
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Always wired if possible.

    Wireless if there's no other choice.
     
  7. beyonddc

    beyonddc Limp Gawd

    Messages:
    327
    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2002
    I don't know about MoCA but I don't have much luck with powerline ethernet. Perhaps my powerline ethernet adapter is just bad or I am living in an old house with bad wire.
     
  8. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,913
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Only problem I’m seeing is

    The home doesn’t have an attic or basement so I wouldn’t know where to start with running Cat
     
  9. Saturn_V

    Saturn_V [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,311
    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    That's what I do too. If it has an Ethernet port, use it.
     
  10. jardows

    jardows Gawd

    Messages:
    794
    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    MoCA is great, if you have the coaxial cable already ran. For powerline, I've been working with G.hn adapters for a while. Not necessarily the fastest, but once setup, work pretty reliably. Can't speak for the AV2 adapters.

    That would be a challenge. If you plan on being there long-term, you may want to contact a local installer to take a look.
     
  11. Cmustang87

    Cmustang87 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    4,069
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    If you can't do the wiring, then definitely get some good wireless access points, and then rely on powerline ethernet if you have spotty areas where you need network connectivity.
     
  12. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,913
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Yea this will be our house for atleast the next 10 years

    I can’t comment on how the Wireless connection is throughout as we haven’t moved it yet or have had any internet setup yet but the home is single story shotgun style house if you know what that is.
     
  13. Cmustang87

    Cmustang87 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    4,069
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    If this is going to be a 7-10 year home, then I recommend paying someone to come in and do professional wiring. You will be glad that you did, and it will be an enticing feature to future buyers as well. With a shotgun style floorplan, wireless coverage could end up being very tricky, especially if there's tons of 2.4Ghz wireless noise with neighbors.
     
  14. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,913
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    There’s no neighbors that close

    My house is on 4 acres of land with a mile long driveway

    And I’ve ran cat6 before as I’ve worked for Comcast for awhile. It’s just how the house is made it will be sorta difficult but I’ll definitely get someone to take a look to see if there’s another way.
     
  15. Dead Parrot

    Dead Parrot [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,122
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Flat roof? Condo? Full length vaulted ceiling? Kinda curious how you don't have either a basement or attic.

    How are the heat/air vents ran? If you used plenum rated wire, maybe the air ducts could serve as conduit.

    Wired is better if you can do it. Especially for high bandwidth or uses that need low ping.
     
    Cmustang87 likes this.
  16. grasshoppa

    grasshoppa n00bie

    Messages:
    26
    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2017
    I used to be solidly wire-biased. Lately, however, I've been converted by unifi's stuff. 1 or 2 ap-lites [amazon] would probably do the trick, although it would depend on location of all your devices and house structure.
     
  17. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,913
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Vaulted ceiling the runs full lentgh across home which is a modular home so it has no attic or basement
     
  18. Cmustang87

    Cmustang87 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    4,069
    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2007
    Well, where the hell is all the electrical, plumbing, and HVAC running? Surely there must be a crawl space or something?
     
  19. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,913
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    There’s a crawl space but definitely no basement

    Crawl space about 2-3ft high. With pipping there’s hardly any space to move throughout and it doesn’t go under the full length of the home.
     
  20. Dead Parrot

    Dead Parrot [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,122
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Pretend you are a cable TV installer and run the wires on the outside of the house and drill holes into the inside at the desired places. Or hire a small skinny kid to explore under your house while pulling your cables.
     
  21. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27 [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,913
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    I actually was a Cable installer :D and I hated people who did that. It’s so tacky and has draw backs.

    POEs seem like the only option besides WiFi without turning the home upside down