Windows XP Machines not receiving Group Policies

wtburnette

2[H]4U
We have several machines in our company that for some reason are no longer receiving certain applications delivered via group policy. These are machine policies, not user policies. Other, like computers get the application pieces via policy just fine, but certain machines don't and I'm unable to determine why. I'm a desktop support tech, not a network tech, so I really don't know much about policies, AD and such. My boss in his infinite wisdom decided it would be a good "learning experience" for me though... :rolleyes:

Any help would be appreciated.

are they set locally or via Active Directory?

Are the system connecting to the server ok? check your DHCP etc to see if there are any problems

Try removing them from the domain, reboot, delet the computer object in AD, add them back to the domain, reboot, move the new computer object to the correct OU, run "gpupdate /force", then reboot again.

Try removing them from the domain, reboot, delet the computer object in AD, add them back to the domain, reboot, move the new computer object to the correct OU, run "gpupdate /force", then reboot again.

good advice.

Well, it would seem like those machine are not part of the AD computer tree. That is the first thing that comes to mind.

Thanks for the replies thus far. Yes, I've done all that. I apologize for not saying as much earlier. We have:

• Moved from the OU that gets the policies and put into an OU that gets none
  • Removed from the domain and AD entirely and added back
  • Reimaged via ghost
  • Rebuilt from scratch