Windows Server 2012 R2 now available on MSDN

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by heatlesssun, Jun 24, 2013.

  1. heatlesssun

    heatlesssun [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    44,157
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    http://www.neowin.net/news/windows-81-start-button-revealed-in-windows-server-2012-r2

    Might be on TechNet now as well, downloading it now and putting on a spare hard drive. It really looks like Microsoft has addressed every major point on contention with desktop operation even if they didn't put back the Start Menu. I always wondered why Shutdown wasn't in the Power Menu to begin with since this was configurable with in the registry in 8.
     
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2013
  2. ND40oz

    ND40oz [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    11,234
    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Just to note, this is the preview and not the RTM.
     
  3. Ur_Mom

    Ur_Mom I'm Not Serious

    Messages:
    19,598
    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Cool. Have to fire up a new VM and play with this. :)

    As a server OS, I like minimal (without going to server core, no gui), so the Metro UI (Modern UI) is fairly wasted, IMO. I don't do a whole lot on the server GUI anyway, but when I do I want it to be simple and sweet. But, a step in the right direction, I suppose. I don't mind the UI on Win8. But, Server... yea, I do mind.

    Shut down will help a lot. Using Remote Desktop was difficult at times to get the right charm to work (especially from a touch screen tablet running RDP).
     
  4. heatlesssun

    heatlesssun [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    44,157
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Thanks, I corrected the title.
     
  5. heatlesssun

    heatlesssun [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    44,157
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    If you run the desktop version of Windows RDP in full screen the swipes are remote.
     
  6. DPI

    DPI Nitpick Police

    Messages:
    10,955
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2013
    having to resort to desktop application on a tablet, great solution from MS as always. so how well does that work on surface RT?
     
  7. heatlesssun

    heatlesssun [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    44,157
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    LOL! If one is using the Metro Remote Desktop app just swipe from the top or bottom and there are remote commands for Start, switching apps and the Charms Bar. And what does it matter if the app is a desktop app, there are desktop apps that work perfectly fine on a tablet using touch, like the Remote Desktop Client.