Windows 7 - End Process

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by pothb, Jul 16, 2010.

  1. pothb

    pothb [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,997
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Has anyone else had this problem?

    Where a program goes into "Not Responding" and you try to end process it, but it just hangs. It's been happening a lot to me recently on my Desktop computer. Also occurs sometimes when I open up 2 programs nearly simultaneously. It just hangs and shows up in task manager but nothing opens up and ending the process does nothing. If I try to open another of the programs that are already doing it, it'll just tell me it's working for about 4 seconds and then goes back to doing nothing.

    I've tried searching for it, and I've seen lots of stuff on using PSKill, taskkill /f, tune up utilities, etc, all with either no replies, or replies that it's still not working.

    I also tried taskkill, and tune up utilities to end process but it still hangs. End process tree does nothing as well. It's happened to firefox, explorer, games, and even pidgin chat program.

    Also, when shutting down, after said problem happens, it hangs on shutting down computer, as well. The odd thing is that I don't believe I have had any problems with it on my laptop. Anyone have a possible solution?
     
  2. Snowknight26

    Snowknight26 [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,158
    Joined:
    May 8, 2005
    Sounds like the processes are stuck in an IO operation. I'd look into a dying HDD.
     
  3. heatlesssun

    heatlesssun [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    44,157
    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    +1. Also pickup Process Explorer, its the beat task manager out there and its free. And check your event logs.
     
  4. pothb

    pothb [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,997
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    Hmm... well that sucks. tsk. I guess I'll use this 1 tera I bought for my OS drive soon...

    Thanks for helping though.
     
  5. msny

    msny 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,190
    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2001
    Before buying that new drive first check it for errors.

    I had a similar problem, and this took care of it.

    Right mouse click on drive, select properties then the tool
    tab and "check now"
     
  6. pothb

    pothb [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    4,997
    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2007
    I already bought the drive, but I was going to use it for storage rather than prime time OS hd.

    But if memory serves me correctly, I have done that and it stalls... after a certain amount of blocks read. I could have remembered wrong though, maybe it was one of the other old drives that did that. Still, no hard done, I'm going to use it as a small lil back up of odd information. But just in case I'll try that again and see if it stalls this time.
     
  7. Proxy

    Proxy Pumpkin Ghost

    Messages:
    4,304
    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2005
    Download HDD Regen. It's a good tool, and if there is something wrong with the drive it will find it. You will need to make it into a bootable CS first though.