Windows 7 59Hz issue

Discussion in 'Displays' started by evilsofa, Nov 4, 2009.

  1. evilsofa

    evilsofa [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,078
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    While installing Windows 7 64-bit, I ran into the 59Hz issue, where the refresh rate for the monitor can only be set to 59Hz; whenever I set it to 60Hz (which was available) it would revert to 59Hz. After some googling, I found two interesting threads:

    http://forums.guru3d.com/showthread.php?t=301860
    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=100814&page=2

    The guru3d post explains it's not really a bug; it's about a long-standing issue of 59.94Hz vs 60Hz and whether Windows rounds up or down; in Win7, 59Hz is actually 59.94Hz (read the whole original post, too long to quote here). However, some improperly coded games are affected by the issue. Those games include, and I quote the guru3d post, BF2 (and any sequel, or game based off the BF2 engine), WiC (works at 59hz according to pSXAuthor) and CoH.

    In the techpowerup thread, post #20 further explains the issue, and suggests the problem extends to all DX10 games (but I have no way of knowing if it actually does).

    Other comments in the threads showed that whether or not the 59Hz issue causes problems is highly variable: some displays have problems with this issue and some don't; some displays can have a problem with an HDMI connection but have no problem with a DVI or VGA connection; some dual display setups can have problems with this issue and some don't.

    Post #33 of the techreport thread described a fix for nVidia cards, which I have modified slightly to reflect what I had to do:

    - Go to Nvidia Control Panel
    - Go to Add resolution
    - Create Custom Resolution
    - Click on Timing
    - Click on Manual
    - Set refresh rate to 60.001 Hz
    - Press Test
    - Restart Windows

    This worked for my nVidia card running the 191.07 Win7 64bit driver, but I did need to restart Windows for the change to take effect; after applying this fix but before I restarted, my NEC 20WMGX2's OSD reported 59.7Hz; after the restart, it reported 60Hz. My other NEC 20WMGX2 on my Mac Mini reports 59.7Hz, even though it is set to 60Hz in the Displays System Preference.

    Post #2 of the techpowerup thread quotes another techpowerup thread with a fix for ATi cards:

    I don't have an ATi card so I can't comment further on the ATi fix.
     
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2009
  2. brumwald

    brumwald Gawd

    Messages:
    598
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2006
    Great post!

    Though this doesn't make sense to me. This is purely a software issue, right?
    Okay that the 59 Hz-in-windows might depend on the input etc. but once windows *decides* to show 59 Hz it shouldn't matter what monitor you have connected. If it does then the 59 Hz part of the issue only seems to be half the truth.
     
  3. evilsofa

    evilsofa [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,078
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    I don't feel like I understand the issue well enough to say who's to blame.
     
  4. Koslov

    Koslov [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,889
    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2003
    hmm I can't press test after putting 60.001 -- impossible to 'set' only 60.000
    any idea?
    9600GSO, win7 x64
     
  5. evilsofa

    evilsofa [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,078
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    I'm just guessing, but you may be running into the issue that's discussed in the Addendum to the ATi solution - the monitor may not be able to show more than 59.94Hz. This may or may not actually cause problems for you.
     
  6. EquaLiZr

    EquaLiZr [H]ardness Supreme

    Messages:
    5,828
    Joined:
    May 8, 2000
    I can set mine to 60 from 59 no probs:confused:
     
  7. Shane_c82

    Shane_c82 Gawd

    Messages:
    812
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Then I guess you don't have the 59 refresh rate problem. So why did you post that? :confused:

    I had this problem with one of the beta builds...I just installed my Win 7 Pro upgrade from the digitalriver deal and no longer have any problems with any games.
     
  8. evilsofa

    evilsofa [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,078
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    New info I haven't seen before: this is Microsoft's official word on the 59Hz issue:

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/2006076

    According to them, 59Hz is exactly the same as 60Hz and everything should be fine, but of course it is not (see the original post).
     
  9. deadman_uk

    deadman_uk [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,945
    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2003
    I am still having this problem (ATI user) there is no "Reduce DVI Frequency on High Resolutions Displays" option in CCC for me.
     
  10. evilsofa

    evilsofa [H]ardForum Junkie

    Messages:
    10,078
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Bumping this post to note that an issue with Two Worlds 2 and dual monitors was apparently resolved with this tweak, in this thread.
     
  11. Ultra Wide

    Ultra Wide [H]ard|Gawd

    Messages:
    1,398
    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    I don't think it's the display. I had a 9800GT and it would insist on using 59Hz, then I got a GTX460, still the same monitor, now it reports 60Hz.
    It's annoying but not a big concern.