windows 10 PIN problem...?

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by Ashton, Nov 27, 2019.

  1. Ashton

    Ashton 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,482
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    I'm not sure what happened, but I can't seem to find a solution...

    I have a laptop (Lenovo yogapad 900) that I used to have a sign-in pin setup on...

    after a while though (starting around a month or so ago), its suddenly prompting me every time I sign in (boot up, inactivity, closing the lid, hibernation, etc) saying I need to set a pin (with no option to cancel) ... but as soon as I click next it asks me to enter my current pin... and as soon as I do it says "an error has occurred - we cannot setup your pin at this time" and then lets me "skip this for now". I checked in the settings - it claims I have no pin setup (and trying to set one gives the same error as it does at the unlock screen) and because of this, I can't disable it...

    If this was only happening occasionally, it wouldn't bother me, but having to go through the failed pin creation every time I open my laptop is annoying (and no, I can't turn off the lock screen, I have too much sensitive data on the laptop) and no I dont care if I have a pin or not... its nice since I have a touchscreen, but not required.

    Any suggestions? perhaps a registry entry needs changing?
     
  2. Absalom

    Absalom Gawd

    Messages:
    699
    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2007
    Your pin is tied to your MS account. Even if you never set it up, you should be able to set/change it through MS's website. Setting it might solve your issue or at least let you opt-out of asking for the pin.

    If you are 100% absolutely sure your login is not tied to an MS account, then you may have problems. I don't think local accounts can have PINs (could be wrong, but I've never seen one setup that way).

    Edit: Nevermind, the PIN is local. So forget changing it via website. Not sure why you can't just go through the PIN reset process once logged in under the user account. Sounds like a glitch.
     
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2019
  3. Mazzspeed

    Mazzspeed 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,052
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    Bear in mind that the latest issue with Microsoft accounts being forced during the OOBE portion of the Windows installation process often requires the user to enter a PIN. I actually haven't checked, but I assume that PIN is associated with the Microsoft account.

    Ashton, are you running a local account or a Microsoft Account?
     
  4. Ashton

    Ashton 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,482
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Microsoft account. I use it across all 3 PCs I use and my XBL account.

    I did look through the website and found a pin area setting on the MS account website but it also gave me an error... but the wierd thing is on one of my Desktops the pin function is working fine, it's only on my laptop (and the website) that its having a problem --- that's why I assumed it was a problem with the laptops registry
     
  5. Mazzspeed

    Mazzspeed 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,052
    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    It's unlikely it's a registry problem if you're having problems with the PIN from within your Microsoft Account when accessing it via a web browser? Are you trying to change the PIN and getting an error?
     
  6. Ashton

    Ashton 2[H]4U

    Messages:
    2,482
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    upon revisiting the site, it looks like its just a hook back into my PC, the exact wording is "Setup Windows Hello on this device" --- I don't see anything that seems to be actually related to the server-side of the account...

    I did finally figure out how to turn off the 'set up a pin now!' every time I signed in finally, though its frustrating since on a touch screen convertible, signing in with a pin is very convenient...
     
  7. AltTabbins

    AltTabbins [H]ard as it Gets

    Messages:
    19,371
    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2005
    Just an FYI for people reading this thread. Your pin is local to your computer. It's not tied to your Microsoft account in any way. I'm glad you found a solution either way.