why use Nero/Roxio?

Gomar

Limp Gawd
I have been using Roxio and Nero for many years. Recently, I downloaded a few free DVD burning software, such as BurnAware, etc. They are small downloads, 5-25mb, compared to Nero and Roxio which are 150mb-350mb, and cost mucho $.
The free software seem to work fine, and load faster.
Besides a few minor features, I just dont see any real difference between using the free software vs. Nero or Roxio.

I'll be honest, I only install Nero Burning Rom and Nero Express, but use it because the interface is nice and shiny/ matches stock Vista nicely. Plus I guess the factor of I trust the name Nero in regards to simply burning. That said I'm not a fan of the rest of the bloat they try to get me to install. In terms of having used it and in terms of sheer amount.

I have no idea why anyone would. I use BurnAware personally.

Nero Lite ftw!!! Useful for some DVD stuff the other apps can't/won't/don't handle exactly the same way, and I'm used to using Nero for some processes. I use ImgBurn for quick backups/erasing/etc, but Nero Lite for most everything else. Never had issues...

Nero's never really done me wrong. I'm used to the interface and it's tough to teach an old dog I guess like Joe said. I use ImgBurn also, and I got rid of Alcohol 120% and picked up 52%. All I use it for is drive emulation anyway.

imgburn now has bluray support no need to use anything else tbh

Reason i don't use Nero anymore is they started moving stuff in the new versions and i can never find what i need quickly.

I'm using Infra recorder now, its light quick, dependable, and i can find what features i need quickly

Originally switched from Roxio to Nero because Nero was the better software at the time. Now I've switched from Nero to ImgBurn as Nero (not the lite version) is the textbook example of bloatware.

Roxio 9 is a slick program, haven't had an issue. I guess some people like things a little more polished than freeware progs. I could see either side...